We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

My stay in Nkuringo was one of the most memorable of my life, been an expat for over 14 yrs, lived across several continents and travelled a great deal, but Nkuringo truly stood out as an amazing experience from start to finish. The camp is extremely peaceful, a great escape from the city life to reconnect with nature - and wow - what beautiful nature indeed, like heaven painted its soul onto canvas and the result was Nkuringo. The staff was warm and friendly and before I left I knew all of them so well that parting was more like leaving family behind! The campsite is impeccably maintained, extremely clean, the dining area at long tables is a great place to meet other couples, groups, or solo travelers. The gorilla tracking was incredible - our group was incredibly lucky and we saw them outside of the forest in the clearing, so it made for great photography, it was a truly special and amazing experience I will never forget. There is so much more on offer than the gorillas however, I would recommend if you have the time to spend several days at this campsite, if you are looking for a "retreat" whether for writing or for peaceful reflection, or great hiking, then stay even longer... There are great nature walks, down into the forests to find hidden gorgeous waterfalls, volcanoes... Even the walk to camp itself was amazing, we came in by rowboat and then I decided to hike the rest of the way. As a solo female traveller the place was wonderful and I would go back in an instant, and hope someday soon I will be able to. Thanks so much to all of the staff at Nkuringo for this wonderful stay and your immensely kind hospitality, much love to all of you.

Room Tip: Note: i ranked fitness center as high - the fitness center here is nature's bounty - there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanaMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    50
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
45
147
74
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

A great camp with amazing views. The staff are fantastic and so friendly, nothing is too much to ask. The cold nights are helped by blankets with dinner and a hot water bottle waiting between the sheets. Loved the constant supply of tea and coffee which was perfect in a rainstorm. We drove ourselves which was challenging at times but definitely doable. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeciE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here for two nights when visiting Nkuringo gorilla family. The camp is great - friendly and helpful staff, fantastic views over the rainforest and volcanoes, great location for the Nkuringo gorilla family, tea and coffee on continuous supply, fire pit and great atmosphere for mixing with other guests. Showers were great - very warm. We stayed in the fixed tents, full board - I'd say the price is high for a tent. No problems with the tent - it rained a lot when we visited but no leaks (we stayed in the tent under the shelter). Food wasn't special but it was substantial - the packed lunch was good. We self drove in a Rav4 - it wasn't too bad: the camp is about 2 hours from the surfaced road. The road is rough and steep in places so you would need a 4x4. It was a nice drive though - very scenic.

Room Tip: Tents are elevated above rest of camp with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_RossEv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We spent three nights, using the Camp as starting point for our gorillas tracking. The location is great, the accomodation too, the staff very friendly. It is not a luxury resort, it's eco-friendly without been extreme in that sense and guests enjoy all possible care and little details, which definitely make of it a special experience. Different target price accomodations are available; we stayed in the indipendent cottage.

Room Tip: Choose indipendent cottages, if available
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank roberto n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed at Nkuringo Gorilla camp for two nights while I was walking from Buhoma to Kisoro with the addition of tracking the Nkuringo Gorilla family.The camp sits on the Nteko ridge in the village of Ntungamo at about 2160m in altitude.I arrived on foot and my first thought was wow what a majic spot as the camp has an ambience of.tranquility and peace with the buildings asthetically blending into the surrounding environment. I stayed in one of the self- contained cottages named after one of the Congo volcanoes that can be viewed from the balcony.The room was tastefully decorated in African style with some beautiful framed pictures that I believe are Robert's photography,twin beds were very comfy and the bathroom spacious and clean. There is no mains electricity to the camp so the rooms generate electricity from batteries which is just fine.Hot water for showers are on request where very hot water is brought in a canvas bag and hung outside, plenty of water for showering and hair washing.In the morning a large flask of hot water is brought for your wash.The cottage has a lovely veranda which gets the sun and there seemed to always be a flask of hot water, tea and coffee for you to sit relax and have a hot drink. I saw inside the Virunga rooms which were spacious and artfully decorated as well,the amenties block was nearby with closer facilities underway.There is also a raised area where tents are erected for lazy camping.Battery and phone charging appears to be by solar power.
The staff make your visit very special cant do enough for you,on arrival I was greeted by manager Jennifer, Perry, and Herbert, chef.Hot tea or coffee and banana cake is always on standby and was so welcome after the climb up onto the ridge.Meals were served in the dining room, family style ,around long rectangle tables with light from lanterns, If you travel alone this is lovely as you are able to chat and get to know your fellow travellers.Food was plentiful ,very tasty, 4 courses ,healthy and fresh sourced from Herberts garden or from the village.The fresh bread baked by Herbert was so good.Waiting staff are employed from the village ,the girls were so dedicated and friendly.
Because it is so cold on the mountain at night the grey blanket and sitting around a bucket of hot coals while chatting with staff and fellow travellers was very appreciative.Finding 3 hot water bottles placed in your bed that stay hot up until morning was a wonderful touch.,also finding your shoes cleaned after your gorilla experience.
I could not find fault with anything about this camp and wish I had more time to spend here.If you are looking for somewhere in the mid budget range that offers beautiful scenery, friendly staff who go the xtra mile, home comforts, then this camp will make you happy.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra stay in a self contained cottage facing the Virungas as the view is stun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We found this place underwhelming. For what is offered, it's overpriced. The views were lovely but as there's little competition in this area, I think they're resting on their laurels.

Our tent leaked: The flaps over the windows were not waterproof so rain poured in during the night. I tried to move my bed away from the window but the mattress still got soaked. I don't believe this to be a new thing as the covers for the windows don't fit the openings properly and the seams leaked. Also, the tent zips are worn and pull apart when done up. (more leaks!) We noticed this happened on a neighbours tent as well, during pouring rain.

Also, we had paid for full board but the food was disappointing. I'd checked via email that vegetarians are catered for. They have a beautiful kitchen but the choice is very limited and very boring. There are many fresh vegetable crops growing in the immediate area. However, a sauce made of carrot, capsicum and salt was the vegetarian menu for the 3 nights we stayed,: three lunches and three dinners: same sauce on either rice, pasta or potato.
At breakfast the "real" coffee (hard to find in Africa), was good.
I asked if I could have extra fruit as I don't eat eggs and was given half a banana. This happened every day. There was a sense of frugality which was incongruous with the price. Guys at our table had to negotiate for extra bread at dinner and it wasn't easily forthcoming.
The staff were not particularly friendly until the last morning.

Walking: If you're thinking of walking from here to Lake Mutanda, just organise for a porter rather than a guide, as the porters know the way and are very friendly. That way you can tip them well instead of using the guides who I found quite self interested.
The Nkuringo canoe ride across Lake Mutanda is magic though and worth doing if you're walking to Kisoro.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank novalane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bimini
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at the Nkuringo Gorilla Camp for two nights. It was a beautiful lodge. The rooms were really nice. The showers and bathrooms clean. The staff was delightful and the food was delicious. We were so happy that we included this lodge in our itinerary. I really have nothing bad to say about them. They definitely went above and beyond when I accidentally left something in the room. I contacted them and they promptly put it in the mail and sent it from Uganda to the USA. They did not even charge me the shipping fees. Now that is service. If I am ever lucky enough to go to Bwindi Impenetrable Forest again, I will definitely be staying with them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiegru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
6.1 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
86 reviews
7.0 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
103 reviews
6.8 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#4 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
157 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
224 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Engagi Lodge
The Engagi Lodge
#15 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge

Property: Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Address: Plot 2 Uringi Crescent Road - Entebbe | Nteko Ridge, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park 000256, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge is situated on the South of Bwindi National Park with stunning views over Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, the magnificent Virunga Volcanoes and the Great Albertine Rift Valley. There are 12 individually hand-crafted cottages, each offering the tranquillity of the rainforest, the atmosphere of a mountain chalet and the warm hospitality Ugandans are known for. Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge prides itself on its green credentials and through its various initiatives including solar energy and rainwater harvesting proudly operates as a carbon neutral lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Jovago.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nkuringo Gorilla Camp Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing