We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible views and staff with a great attitude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Incredible views and staff with a great attitude”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A big thank you to Rob Brierley and his welcoming and very helpful staff at Nkuringo gorilla camp. We had a fantastic stay.
We ate very well at Nkuringo: a four course dinner both nights. I love the freshly baked bread and rolls. Vegetarian options can be catered for but should ideally be booked in advance.
Wine is purchased by the bottle, not by the glass as is available some places. Good quality wine is available for approx 60-80,000 shillings /bottle. The camp does allow you to bring your own, if you prefer. Drinks are reasonably priced e.g. a tot / measure of Uganda Waragi is just 1500 shillings.
It can be cold up in the mountains, particularly at night. There’s a fantastic campfire area too. While you are eating dinner, hot water bottles are put in guest’s beds.
Currently there are two self-contained en suite cottages, each with incredible views across to the eight volcanic peaks. Two more of these s/c cottages are being built. The six Virunga Terrace rooms each has a verandah. Bathroom facilities are shared. The new showers and flushing toilets are almost ready for use. Everywhere is very clean.
Lazy camping is at the highest point of the camp. Each tent has two single beds. Accommodation rates are flexible e.g. room only, bed-and-breakfast, half-board or full board.
A little electricity is provided through solar. A generator is available for charging phones.
The Nkuringo gorilla camp is the ideal starting point for: gorilla tracking, hiking volcanoes, hikes across Bwindi Impenetrable Forest to Buhoma on the northern side of the Forest, hikes to Lake Mutanda and across the Lake towards Kisoro, amongst others. All of this can be arranged through the camp or through Nkuringo walking safaris, for very reasonable rates. Everything can be customised to your taste, physical fitness and interests.
We did a day trek, led by our excellent guide Adolf. The total tracking time was around six hours, in which we covered 17.5 km (most of which seem to be uphill!) He paced our walk just right though. Along the way, our guide pointed out lots of flora and fauna, particularly birds, mushrooms, and giant ferns several metres tall.
It’s a shame we were pressed for time, I can’t wait to go back and do the trek down to Lake Mutanda, the canoe trip along its length, and the short walk on to Kisoro.

Room Tip: The self-contained cottages have the best views. Your verandah looks onto the volcanoes. There are f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieBeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    50
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
44
147
74
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have to mention the customer service and friendliness of the staff first. From the team at the booking office in Entebbe to the staff at the campsite, each of them was exceedingly helpful, cheery and friendly. I must make special mention of Lydia whose advice on the best ways to get to the camp an onward were invaluable and Ema for his careful driving and escorting us all the way across the border for our onward journey to Rwanda.

The camp works like clockwork, with the staff ensuring that we got to where we needed to be on time; allowing us to relax and enjoy our stay. The food was among some of the best meals that I have had in east-Africa. The tents in which we stayed were very warm and comfortable, and the showers always hot.

This place probably falls in the middle of the budget range and I would not recommend anywhere else if you are tracking the Nkuringo family and looking in this price range.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austria
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

getting there with your own car is hell. it took us 12 hours from kampala and the last 40 kms are the worst we had in the whole of uganda. it´s probably not even correct to call it a road, it is a path...which caused a flat tire 4 kms away from the camp...
other than that the camp is fantastic!! great food, great people, the gorillas are of course amazing, and we even enjoyed the dancing they did for us...
and, most important, they organized the gorilla tracking for us and everything worked out perfectly!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wueibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

After exhausting day, when we travelled 12 hours across the mountains from Ishasha to Kisoro, we didn't expect, that we will experinece another two hours of "car mountaineering" to this camp. It is quite far from Kisoro and the road is bad, so expect delays. But the location has its pros, because it is just a few steps from UWA post, where You will start Your gorilla tracking.
Camp itself is very nice. I would reccomend mainly the lazy camping, which is almost like cottage - huge massive tents with beds. Situated on the top of the hill with breathtaking view on the mountains is a real experience. Restaurant provides excellent meals and we really enjoyed common dinners with other guests. The place itself is very clean, staff is helpful and friendly and there is really nothing, I can complain at. Only the prices are quite high, but I think, that You will get what You pay for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ondrejfabian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Booked my trip with Robert (the owner) via email and skype and it worked out perfectly. Everything went smoothly as soon as I landed in Uganda, drivers, guides, accommodation, all of it! The guides are great - especially Asigario (not sure on the spelling here) and Agatha, very enthusiastic, helpful, great English and never complained with all the hiking they do each week, and boy do they do alot! It was lovely to walk through the villages and not drive, where you can miss sooo much, especially the chameleons Agatha spotted on route.

Book with Nkuringo Walking Safaris and you will not regret it, Uganda is a must to put on the "bucket list".

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyd516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in Nkuringo Gorilla Camp in the beginning of August 2013, as a family of three. Our long journey to the camp site began from Entebbe. It took about 14 hours, and my 11 years old son was sick all the way! However, Nkuringo's warm and proffessional driver-guide Patrick made the road easy and tolerable; his interest in my son's situation and efforts to make him comfortable gained our appreciation. Thanks once more dear Patric. We arrived at the campsite around 22:00 o'clock when it was completly dark. Everything was ready for us and it was surprising to see everybody was waiting for our arrival. They already knew about my son's sickness and prepared and excellent ginger tea for him. General atmosphere of the place is warm and quiet, bathrooms and toilets always clean, hot shower is hot:) and the meals are realy delicious; but the most important factor it differentiates Nkuringo Gorilla Camp is the dedicated people who works there and really interested in you. Tanks to Agatha, our walking safari guide, Ema, who drove us to Rwanda, and to the site manager (very sorry for not remembering your name) and all the staff who work in the kitchen and other parts of the camp. One more thing :) My son was a little exhausted after walking nearly 20 km. in two days and behaved bitterly while we were leaving; it seems a little bit disappointing, but later on he regretted very much for not leaving such wonderful place and people in a better mood. We plan to visit Uganda in the future when my son turns 15 and will have a permission to the Gorilla track.

Best wishes to all who plan to visit Bwindi

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Arkanozbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahale Mountains National Park, Tanzania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I only had to email an enquiry to Robert via the website, to receive some of the most personal service from any organisation I have come across. Booking very short notice, Robert provided fantastic, quick, comprehensive responses via email and Skype!

Nkuringo gives you the opportunity to tailor make your trip to your needs, meet the locals through a local guide's eyes and travel independently of any other groups, it was just me and the guide!

The 3 day hike from Kisoro to Buhoma through Bwindi Forest with Everest the guide and trainee lady, Agatha was so insightful and fun made so by their obvious passion and enthusiasm.

At the Gorilla Camp Dora and her team looked after my needs impeccably, the cottage was a welcome retreat after the wet jungle with lovely en-suite hot bucket showers and large comfy bed waiting with hot water bottles. Three course meals delicious and filling.

The people of Uganda were extremely welcoming and the scenery just breathtaking, I would never have been able to visit some of the places I did without the local knowledge of NWS and would highly recommend a trip with them, they are a hidden gem in the jungle!

Room Tip: Two "honeymoon" cottages in own gardens, en-suite, terraces beautiful views overlooking mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate_Malone505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
6.1 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
84 reviews
7.0 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
102 reviews
6.8 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#4 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
154 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rushaga Gorilla Camp
Rushaga Gorilla Camp
#3 of 12 in Kisoro
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge

Property: Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Address: Plot 2 Uringi Crescent Road - Entebbe | Nteko Ridge, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park 000256, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge is situated on the South of Bwindi National Park with stunning views over Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, the magnificent Virunga Volcanoes and the Great Albertine Rift Valley. There are 12 individually hand-crafted cottages, each offering the tranquillity of the rainforest, the atmosphere of a mountain chalet and the warm hospitality Ugandans are known for. Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge prides itself on its green credentials and through its various initiatives including solar energy and rainwater harvesting proudly operates as a carbon neutral lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nkuringo Gorilla Camp Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing