We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is the perfect place to stay for gorilla trekking. The road in is horrible, but if you want to gorilla trek you're going to have to survive it. But once you get to camp, the Nkuringo trekking is literally 300m away. The camp itself is perfectly atmospheric with views south to Sabinyo and friends volcanos as well as into Bwindi. We stayed in a room with shared showers which was wonderful. Inside the shower is all wood and makes it smell like you're showering in a warm summer rain! There's even a bonfire in the evening to meet other travellers before dinner time. Meals at the camp were included with our stay and were the best we'd had in Uganda, including a massive packed lunch for when we went trekking.

In short, this place was perfect. I can't wait to go back to hike Sabinyo!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mblsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 416 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

We did a four-day walking safari which included a hike up Mount Sabinyo, the point at which the borders of the DRC, Rwanda and Uganda all meet. Our guide, Adolf, was fantastic! Very gentle, knowledgeable and a great sense of humour. Walking through the communities, canoeing across the lake and walking out through Bwindi after seeing the gorillas was an unforgettable experience. There is no better way to really see the place than on foot (and canoe) and these guys were the best. The camp is also amazing - right on top of a hill that looks down into a valley of primary rain forest that is Bwindi. The toilets (for camping) are long-drops but smelled better than most flush toilets!

Room Tip: Lazy camping on top of the hill has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoshCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had amazing time @ the camp for 3 nights in June. We decided to take lazy camping option and slept in tent in very nice beds. When we slept in tent at the top of Ngorongoro crater in Tansania, we were sure that it is the best looking place where you can have tent... we were wrong.

Bwindi forest down at valley is just like watching national geographic photosite live..
The hole camp is just perfect, and not least because of personel. Dora keeps everything
running. Our walking guide Agatha was so great that I will be jealous to anybody who ever gets to be guided by her. Food is nothing but perfect. Robert will set your trip together giving advice and also truly listening your own wishes.

We walked to camp from Kisoro, and when Agatha realized that uphill at the end is
going to be too much for me (135kg of pure computer nerd), she had organized a car to pick us up after just nice few hour walk and canoeing. On 4th day with Agatha, I was able to walk from camp to Buhoma trough Bwindi forest, that was really worth of doing it.

Nkuringo group of gorillas that we went to see were amazing also.

After seeing few countries and destinations in Africa, this is the first one that I really don't have any ideas how to improve. Camp is allready CO2 neutral, they propably do something extra when electricity will reach the area really soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkkoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I loved this place! The road to get there was bumpy, narrow, and winding, but it was worth it. The camp was beautiful! I stayed in one of the terrace rooms for two nights. All of our meals were provided (even lunch for our drive home the day we left), and they were delicious! I'm a vegetarian, and they were able to accommodate that easily. I enjoyed sitting around the campfire in the evening. I tracked the Nkuringo Group of gorillas. The place where we started trekking was very close to the camp. If you go, bring some warm clothes. It can be chilly, especially in the morning and the evening. If you plan on going gorilla trekking, make sure that you pack good shoes, long pants, and long socks so that you can tuck your pants into your socks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our 3 night stay at Nkuringo Gorilla Camp was the highlight of our Uganda adventure. We hiked to the camp from Buhoma, which took about 8 hours, but was an incredible day trip. Upon arrival to the camp we were completely exhausted, but soon regained our energy when we saw the place. Dora and all of the staff that work at the camp are beautiful, friendly and make you feel like a friend immediately. The place is impeccably clean and comfortable. We stayed in one of the rooms in the Virunga Terrace, which also had great views of the distant volcanoes. We had a very comfortable king size bed. Every night, while we ate dinner, staff would place two hot water bottles between the sheets, which was like a piece of heaven for sore and aching muscles.
Choice of accommodation at the camp include 2 separate ensuite cottages, which are absolutely beautiful inside and had private porches great for relaxing on; the Virunga Terrace is 6 individual rooms, beautifully decorated, each with a separate sitting area outside each room (I believe that two of the virunga rooms have king size beds and four have twin beds); and tents (with actual beds) which are located on a hill and had magnificent views. There are two shower rooms (with sinks), 2 eco-toilets and an outdoor sink. They are located a short walk from the tents and Virunga Terrace rooms. Hot water for the showers was available upon request. Water pressure was good. There is a charging station when the generator is on, which was usually in the evening. There are solar panels that charge batteries all day which supply a light source for the rooms when it gets dark. Lanterns are placed throughout the walkways for ease of walking in the dark to the bathrooms and getting to the rooms. Laundry service was offered, which was great after trekking.
The camp is very close to the ranger station where the briefing is held prior to heading out to trek the gorillas. We trekked the Nkuringo Gorilla group which was without a doubt the most surreal experience we have ever had. Four silverbacks were in the group, and at least 8 other members, including young gorillas! It only took us about 1.5 hours to locate the gorillas and the walk was mostly downhill. Coming back took a little longer as it was uphill and we also stopped to have a lunchbreak. We were pretty tired as the day before we had done the 8 hour hike from Buhoma to Nkuringo, but never felt rushed and the group just moved at a nice easy pace.
The Nkuringo Village touched our hearts. We visited the library and dropped off some books and colouring supplies, which were gratefully accepted. The children read us a story and walked with us as we toured the village area. We watched as the men worked on the new primary school and got the story of the plans they have for expanding the school. We gave the community some new soccor balls (they call them footballs) and then walked to the Top of the World Football field and watched the local team having a scrimmage game. Everyone we met was so friendly and welcoming.
A group of children came to the camp to sing and dance for the guests. What a treat that was! They were so talented and invited us to dance with them - that was great fun! We purchased beautiful baskets, woven by the local ladies, in the craft shops. We practiced walking with the baskets on our heads, after our walking guide Asgario showed us some tricks of the trade. Even with practice we were not good at that!
Robert and Lydia, from Nkuringo Walking Safaris, who also helped create our Uganda itinerary, have created an atmosphere of harmony at the camp. The staff were so nice and it was so evident that they enjoy working there. Food was good and there was always coffee, tea and dessert out in the dining area. The beer was cold (always important!). A campfire every night, put together by Nester, was something to look forward to, where we would sit around and chat with the staff, other tourists and our fabulous driver, Frances, who took such good care of us for 17 days.
One night we had dinner with 2 sisters travelling from the USA. One of the girls was celebrating her birthday and after dinner all of the staff came into the dining room, each holding a candle and with a fresh baked cake, and sang Happy Birthday to her. Of course we all joined in and had so much fun! It was very special.
We were sorry to leave the camp and wished that we had planned a longer stay.
We highly recommend the Nkuringo Gorilla Camp. Any of the accommodation choices would be good. We hope one day to return, but it will definitely be for a longer visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waterlogged23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My stay at Nkuringo Gorilla Camp was sensational. From the initial contact via emails to the final farewell, the service was exceptional. The staff were so incredibly friendly and helpful. The camp is gorgeous, with the most stunning views over the valley. Rob's help and advice was wonderful. It is rare to find someone in Africa who is so unconditionally giving of so much valuable information. This is all before I even mention the amazing gorillas and hiking through Bwindi. Just an incredible experience. Thank you so much to the team for making it so memorable.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Returnt0sender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

OMG!! Words fail me when i try to describe my stay at Nkuringo gorilla camp.
it was a long drive up and down the hills; not on the best of roads and the heavy down pour wasn't helping much, however, all this was forgotten once i got to the camp.
The moment the car pulled up in the drive way, there were staff waiting to welcome us with umbrellas, to lead us into the dining room for cups of coffee/tea on the house (this is always there and on the house-really helps with the cold). this was the start of formidable hospitality.
the staff are the most polite, friendly and yet professional that i have come across. Everast and his stories around the camp fire or charcoal stove, Agatha, Sharon, Rosemary forever so helpful
ROB oh! Rob!!!!!!! his attention to detail is unmatched. given that i don't usually travel much, i was ill prepared for the holiday but whatever i needed and didn't have, Rob provided. he let me borrow, walking shoes, rack sack, rain jacket, sweater.... i cant say thank you enough.
the nyiragongo cottage where i was sleeping is comfortable, spacious and beautifully put together in African decor. the photos of the gorillas on the walls cant go unmentioned. am forever grateful for the hot water bottles in the bed at night-these really came in handy-the temperatures in kisoro are a bit low
the camp is located in a remote area with no water and electricity but the innovation is top notch. solar batteries are provided for lighting in the rooms, a generator is run for charging gadgets and lanterns are dotted on the walk ways to provide light in the night.
and the time came to go gorilla tracking. everyone needs to do this. you have not lived if you haven't tracked mountain gorillas. the walk into the forest is tiresome but totally worth it. the gorillas are amazing, the way the silver-back protects his family (like any responsible father would) they're so like human beings.
i really enjoyed my stay at the camp and would recommend it to anyone travelling to see mountain gorillas, for forest walks or just taking time off to relax.
Rob and Lydia, thanks for a job well done. the sky is the limit.

Room Tip: if you can afford it, i would recommend the cottages.. the campers however have a good view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
6.1 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
101 reviews
7.0 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#5 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#7 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
233 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Engagi Lodge
The Engagi Lodge
#13 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
78 reviews
14.9 mi away
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
#15 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge

Address: Plot 2 Uringi Crescent Road - Entebbe | Nteko Ridge, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park 000256, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range: $179 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge is situated on the South of Bwindi National Park with stunning views over Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, the magnificent Virunga Volcanoes and the Great Albertine Rift Valley. There are 12 individually hand-crafted cottages, each offering the tranquillity of the rainforest, the atmosphere of a mountain chalet and the warm hospitality Ugandans are known for. Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge prides itself on its green credentials and through its various initiatives including solar energy and rainwater harvesting proudly operates as a carbon neutral lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nkuringo Gorilla Camp Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing