We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Paradise!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2011

My family spent three days in July 2011 at Nkuringo Gorilla Camp as part of a special ten-day excursion set up by Nkuringo Walking Safaris.

This safari, starting in Kibale Forest National Park, proceeded southwestward, taking in Queen Elizabeth National Park, Buhoma, Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, Lake Mutanda, Mgahinga, and finishing in Rwanda. This one-way adventure along the westernmost part of Uganda was seamlessly put together by proprietor Robert Brierley; the result was a masterpiece tailored to our specific needs. It included chimpanzee/gorilla/golden monkey tracking, lots of hiking through some of the most beautiful scenery you can imagine, canoeing, sightseeing by 4WD, and several safaris. We were most impressed by the staff who helped us along our way - this is a thoroughly professional outfit. I highly recommend Nkuringo for anybody looking for a unique adventure in a stunningly beautiful place.

We stayed in the luxurious cottages at the Gorilla Camp and were treated to stunning 360 degree views from the deck that included Bwindi, DRC rift valley, and Virunga volcanoes. You need to see this yourself to believe it. The food was probably the best we had during our entire holiday, and the high level of personal service was much appreciated. We hope to return some day! This is a special place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob_and_Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 416 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2011

We spent two days in the gorilla campsite in october 2011. The camp stands on top of a small hill surrounded by the most incredible landscapes I had the chance to see in my whole trip to Uganda (and amongst the best I could see in my short life so far). A hundred meters down the road from the camp, you will have the chance to see an amazing view of the Virunga mountains. If you are lucky with the weather (as we were), early in the morning you will have a clear red sky and will see all the Virunga and smaller hills emerge from the fog ... unforgettable!
By the way, Robert (the owner, who also happens to be a very talented photographer) gave me tons of precious photography advices for my gorilla tracking. Following his tips, I managed to take several great pictures of our cousins. He also organized a hike for us (with guide, porters, canoe pilots ... all of them being very enthusiastic and friendly guys) from the camp to Kisoro (through lake Mutanda), where I had the chance to take tons of landscape pictures.
If like me you travel with your heavy camera footage and want to get some "return on effort investment", this place is a have-to-go! We were planning to stay for one night (before gorilla tracking) but eventually stayed one additional night. You can easily stay for a week or so, there are tons of things to do in the region (just ask the staff, they will plan everything for you) and the least to say is that the accomodation is cheap according to the quality of the service (friendly staff, excellent food, comfortable rooms, free activities in the communities around, etc.). And for those who still need to be convinced, you may be interested to know that the toilets are now equiped with beautiful gorilla crafts on the back of the seats ... these details matter to me :-)
Lastly, the camp is truly "carbone neutral" and a lot of help is given to the local communities (providing jobs, building schools, etc.). So appart from being a peaceful and beautiful place, it is ethically fair and responsible.

Room Tip: Afaik, there are 6 cheap twin rooms (very comfortable) with shared toilets and 1 or 2 self-contained...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We LOVED this place, and are set on going back again as soon as humanly possible. Asgario and Robert have the most beautiful campsite. The location is spectacular with views of the valleys and surrounding volcanoes. The staff are warm, open and loving people who made us feel so welcome and at home. The service was impeccable. The food is incredible - the best meals we ate in Uganda to be honest. They make their own dried pineapple and honey. Their sister company the Nkuringo Walking Tours are fantastic too - and we did a hike from Buhoma to the campsite. And then you have the mountain gorillas in the valley - it's like a slice of heaven, and I am gushing but I don't care. We've been travelling around Africa these past few months, and the Nkuringo Campsite and Walking Tours rank #1 in my book.

Room Tip: Splurge on the ensuite cottages. They are beautiful and the views are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpmaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

An absolutely incredible experience. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and by the time you leave they will feel more like friends. We stayed for 3 nights in February 2011. We took the post office bus from Kampala and Aaron, a staff member, picked us up in Kabale and drove us the rest of the way to the camp. Aside from the gorilla trekking, which was obviously amazing, we also went on an 8 hour hike through Bwindi which, aside from being rather strenuous, was well worth it. While on the hike we ran out of water and our guide, Robert, called back to camp and another staff member ran water out to us in the middle of the park. Just an example of how the stuff is dedicated to making you comfortable. The rooms are spartan but comfortable, really you don't need much. There are two one-stall community showers and, as long as you notify the staff, you'll have hot water! The views are unparalleled. My wife & I stayed in one of the basic rooms but my dad stayed in one the new cabins (with private shower/toilet!), the view from the private balcony was spectacular and the cabin itself was pretty posh for being so secluded. Robert, the owner, runs a well-oiled machine. Also, don't pass up a tour of the town if offered by Asagario the manager!

Room Tip: The private cabins are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelDr6182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Spent 3 nights here to do Gorilla Tracking in Bwindi. We opted for the highest level of accomodation- the ensuite cottage which is great. Amazing views over the volcanoes.This place isnt all about luxury bells and whistles and sometimes it's good to stay at somewhere special like Nkuringo to to remind you whats important. Robert is a great host and was really helpful in the pre-arrival planning stages too- a real enthusiast about his camp, the local area and the wildlife. The food is all home cooked and is hearty basic fare- we even treated ourselves to reasonably priced bottle of wine with dinner and beers are always available too. All the staff were great and we left feeling really privileged. The gorillas are awsome though- we did 2 days tracking seeing the Nshongi and Mishaya groups. Trekking is pretty tough - the altitude really hit us - but overall well worth the exertion and the hefty cost of the park fees- real once in a lifetime stuff.

Room Tip: Ensuite cottage well worth the money if a bit of comfort important to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marty99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon in Uganda. Robert suggested skyping him before we left but I didnt because I thought he would have broken English which would make the conversation difficult or that the internet connection would be poor. I was sorry that I didn't as he has perfect English (being from UK originally) and is over and back to Switzerland so we could have skyped very easily. I was sorry that I didn't take advantage of this before I left so that I could tease out more info on the local area and Uganda. This chap is an absolute walking encyclopedia of AFrica (having spent most his life there) and Uganda, especially Nkuringo. He is a top class chap who took time each evening to sit, have a beer and talk to us, and his staff. There is really a family vibe at the camp.
What I really loved more than anything was the sheer passion for the gorillas, the local nature, the communities, photography and the visitors that was clearly evident in abundance. There is a real respect for nature and maintaining the ecosystem. Robert really supports the local communities, has built a library in the village, encourages and drives the local football teams for matches (a days drive away!). Its actually amazing how much has been achieved here.
The food was delicious!! with homemade organic honey-yum! Staff are conscience and well motivated, and very friendly.
we were upgraded to the cottage (for our honeymoon) which was really lovely! stunning views, beautiful room, an ensuite bathroom, with a warm shower, and flushing toilet!! even tea and coffee making facilities in the bedroom. Of course its at over 2000m so make sure you have warm pajamas!!
we were very ill-prepared. i had no hiking boots, or trousers...no problem for robert and his crew who swiftly went beyond the call out duty and let us borrow all the gear we needed. Robert has all the staff in top quality alpine clothing, really finishing the professional look of the whole camp.
we stayed in an very upmarket lodge in ishasha wilderness the following night, and paid 5 times the price of nkuringo gorilla camp. nkuringo won hands down- better views, better vibe, friendlier staff.
In summary, YOU CANT GO WRONG WITH THIS PLACE!!!DO IT!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annette_odonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Robert, who runs the camp and organises the walking safaris, was incredibly helpful from the first. He provided detailed advice on what we as a family- with two boys 11 and 8 - would be most likely to enjoy, by e-mail and phone. The guides he organised for us were very professional, knowledgable and friendly. We really enjoyed the walks - with the highlight being the beautiful 5 hour trek through the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest - challenging for me and the children but definitely within our capabilities. The canoe trip across Lake Mutanda is also wonderful - lovely views and no other tourists around; it was so relaxing I almost fell asleep at one point! The camp itself on Nteko ridge is so much more than a camp. There are individual cottages, older budget rooms, new budget rooms (they weren't quite finished when we stayed but it was obvious they were being constructed with great attention to detail, with quality materials) and delicious food served both nights (the fresh bread, beef and fish were particularly memorable), We had booked the older budget rooms but were offered on arrival - and glady accepted - a luxury camping option - up a hill on our own - with tea and coffee delivered to a table right outside the tents in the morning. The views at the camp are really breathtaking. It is nice to feel part of the surrounding community too - we were welcomed at the local school and library, our eldest played football with local youth at the Top of the World and we enjoyed a song and dance show by local children (ranging in age from 3 to 18) and their display of beautiful crafts they make themselves (no undue pressure to buy but we couldn't resist). Would definitely recommend - Robert really cares about his clients having the best possible experience - and don't forget to ask to see his photos - they are incredible!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nfromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
6.1 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
101 reviews
7.0 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#5 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#7 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
233 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Engagi Lodge
The Engagi Lodge
#13 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
78 reviews
14.9 mi away
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
#15 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge

Address: Plot 2 Uringi Crescent Road - Entebbe | Nteko Ridge, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park 000256, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range: $179 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge is situated on the South of Bwindi National Park with stunning views over Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, the magnificent Virunga Volcanoes and the Great Albertine Rift Valley. There are 12 individually hand-crafted cottages, each offering the tranquillity of the rainforest, the atmosphere of a mountain chalet and the warm hospitality Ugandans are known for. Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge prides itself on its green credentials and through its various initiatives including solar energy and rainwater harvesting proudly operates as a carbon neutral lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nkuringo Gorilla Camp Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing