We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Gorilla Safari Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
$325
$287
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Engagi Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
$392
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
$261
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)(Great Value!)
$17
$16
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Gorilla Valley Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Silverback Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
$381
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Buhoma Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Buhoma Community Rest Camp(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveler rating
385
66
4
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
66
4
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgorilla lodgegorilla groupgolden monkeynkuringo familyhot water bottleseast africarift valleygreat companyremote areagorilla permitsuganda tripan amazing experiencelocal groupstunning viewstour operatoronce in a lifetimesoups
Filter
Updating list...
317 - 322 of 459 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2011

My husband and I spent a week touring Western Uganda. We loved the gorillas, the chimps, and pretty much everything. But the highlight of our trip was the two days we spent hiking with Nkuringu Walking Safaris, including a night at the lovely Nkuringo Gorilla Camp. We stayed in the ensuite room (fabulous view) and spent two days hiking from Bwindi/Buhom to Kisoro. Our guide was Asgario, who was extraordinarily knowledgeabl and gracious. We hiked across gorgeous landscape (approximatley 6 hours hiking each of 2 days); paddled across Lake Mutanda in wood canoes; learned lots about birds and wildlife as well as Uganda culture . Spectacular views, lovely people along the way, including terrific tour of Nkurungo village by Asgario (the nursery school impromptu dance and song were a highlight). We saw virtually no other tourists - our gain, their loss!

Room Tip: ensuite room is nicest
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SadiehNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

My husband and I recently returned from a month long trip in Eastern Africa, the highlight of which was the last leg in Uganda. It was beautifully organized and executed by Robert, Asagio, Lydia, and their friendly team. Robert spent a great deal of time working with us before our trip to come up with a customized itinerary that reflected our particular interests and desires. While we went especially to see the Mountain Gorillas, the other adventures we experienced ranging from listening to our guides singing beautiful traditional songs while paddling across a serene lake, watching golden monkeys cavorting, to learning how the local villagers are organizing to improve their lives, made the trip very rich and rewarding. Robert really went way beyond all expectations to make our experience worthwhile. When he learned from us at dinner that our day of gorilla tracking fell short of what is usually experienced, Robert offered to see if he could find a way for us to go again the next day (the family we were tracking just had a confrontation with another gorilla family that morning, they were dispersed and we only got a glimpse of the group’s silverback). Robert got up at 6:30 am and started calling around for any last minute cancelations on gorilla permits. When it appeared that 2 might be available, his team raced us over to take care of expediting the paperwork and to meet up with the tracking group. Our second day of viewing the gorillas was a wonderfully profound and moving experience which we would not have had if Robert and his team did not care so much about their clients having the best experience they can provide. My only regret is that we did not have more time to spend exploring all there is to see in Uganda.
The accommodations at Nkuringo Gorilla camp are very comfortable and clean. We were made to feel at home and special right from the start with nice touches like hot water bottles to warm our bed at night and tea/coffee waiting for us on our porch in the morning. The food was excellent as was the convivial atmosphere at meal times. We are very grateful to have been hosted by Nkuringo Gorilla Camp/Walking Safaris and are happy to unequivocally recommend them to anyone thinking about travelling to Uganda.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dm900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Great value, great location, great food and great fun. There is a real opportunity to get involved at Nkoringo, none of the usual barriers between staff and guests are solid here. Food, cooked in the open kitchen is delicious and I even joined in as sous chef when we stayed, go and sit with a (perhaps) cold Club by the campfire and chill and chat with the Team. The cultural evening is massively emotional, to see the smiles and enthusiasm and pride of people who have little is tear jerking and feels much more intimate than the "show" at Mweya, do not miss it, it is very very special indeed, as are the views. We walked there from Buhoma and I was pretty tired by the end, massages are available and well worth the few dollars. Special place, special memories and unbelievably handy for the UWA Office. Go there, you deserve it!

Room Tip: The chalets are lovely and not expensive
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jondi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Nkuringo Gorilla Camp strikes a great balance between authentic experience and comfort. The staff are very nice and accommodating (special thanks to Nora and Richard), the food was delicious and the views from the camp are superb.

We stayed in a cottage, which was quite luxurious (certainly the nicest room we had during our time in Uganda) but also quite pricey at US$210 for one night. As I've said in other reviews though, prices of accomodation around Bwindi forest are very inflated compared to the rest of the country and so this is actually quite reasonable compared to some other places. There's also the more basic rooms as well if you want to save a few bucks.

Overall, the excellent reviews of the camp aren't misleading and I would happily recommend this to a wide variety of travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonalkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

On the basis of previous reviews on Tripadvisor I booked 5 nights at the camp and over a 12 month period of emails back and forth Robert arranged all our needs, transfers, hotels in Entebbe and Kisoro and the Gorilla permits, everything went to schedule. I’m sure Robert works 24/7 to make everyone’s stay perfect he even came up with suggestions of different itinerary’s we could do while in Uganda. Robert also went out of his way to arrange the return transfer for us to meet our Gap Tour at a different place other than the starting hotel which was timed to perfection. This man is so knowledgeable and passionately enthusiastic about Uganda, its people and the Gorillas it was contagious.
After an overnight stay at the Boma in Entebbe and a long drive to Kisoro we stayed overnight at the Travellers Rest the next morning we met Everest our guide and hiked for a couple of hours across a large hill to Lake Mutanda with a pit stop at the local pub for a taste of the banana beer & gin (not bad) after shouting the locals a jug we walked on to the lake then canoed in a dugout across the lake to be met by Robert with his trusty old Land Cruiser and taken to the camp.
The next two days we tracked the Nshongi and the Nkuringo Gorilla Groups it was tough, my husband and I are in our early 60’s and not as fit as we use to be but the experience was worth it and now the aches and pains have gone all that’s left are fantastic memories and another one off the bucket list.
The remaining two days we spent relaxing our aching thigh muscles and stretching them out exploring the village within walking distance of the camp. There’s a newly built a library so if your planning a trip be sure to bring some books for the kids. There is also a couple of initiatives like mushroom growing and a tourist gift shop to explore on your walk. We met a young women walking home from the hospital 12klms away down the mountain she had just giving birth to a beautiful baby her mother was with her holding an umbrella to shade them both from the sun, she had another 6kms to go they breed them tough in Uganda.
On another day Robert brought back from a trip to town the “Pigmy Band” they stayed and played for the guests that night around the camp fire and everyone was up dancing and singing Ugandan songs. It was what I would imagine the blues bands in the 20’s in the US would have been like this was a night I will never forget.
We stayed in one of the ensuite rooms it was really comfortable and clean with hot showers on call all the staff are really friendly and nothing was a problem for them, if you get asked “do you want a hot water bottle to warm your feet in bed” take it, it can get a bit chilly at night. The food was great and plenty of it also bottomless cups of coffee and tea (the best tea I’ve tasted). We were both amazed how Richard and Perri the chefs could prepare such great meals in a camp oven.
Absolutely recommend this camp for anyone going Gorilla tracking or hiking through the beautiful country side or even if you just want a taste of Ugandan life in the mountains.
This place made us feel ALIVE!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cookie010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews