We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gorilla Resort Camp
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Amazing stay!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at the Gorilla Resort for 3 nights in September, 2012. From the moment we arrived, it was perfection. The staff is so lovely and helpful. Our room was nice, clean and very comfortable. We booked through Travelust and were lucky to have Hakim as our guide. Our drives to the gorilla starting point were very fun and safe......the roads are quite bad, but with the right attitude you can make it fun. The driver are excellent and we never worried. I was so pleased with the food! I eat gluten free, and they made me fantastic food for every meal, including the packed lunch. I do not have any negative comments, the Gorilla Resort was fantastic.
Thank you!! We would love to return. Susannah van Heerden

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusannahvH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

great location, the tents kept very clean and with nice details, loved the bathroom with the solar heated bath tube in Elizabethan style :), and the view from the lobby/restaurant

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinfromMUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the gorilla resort in March 2012 as part of a 9 day trip through Uganda. It was the worst of the 5 places we stayed while travelling. The views were lovely and it was close to where the trekking starts, but the room lacked charm and the bathroom was very rudimentary (we had no footed bathtub like some photos show) and the staff was not particularly helpful or friendly. The beds were particularly uncomfortable with cheap mattresses. The food was ok, but nothing special. I had "cocktail" the first night we were there and it was the most expensive drink we had on our trip and the worst drink I have ever had. For $500 per night, I cannot recommend this place. We met people staying at Gorilla Forest Camp and Buhoma lodge and both were very happy with those so I would recommend looking at either of those if you are going to Bwindi.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceporreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Recently returned from two nights at the Gorilla Camp as part of a 9 day trip through Uganda. We enjoyed the Gorilla Camp although it was not nearly as nice as some of the other places we stayed. Our tent was lovely for what it was a quite large as we had two double beds in there. The views from our tent, and in fact the entire property, were spectacular. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and yes cleaned our boots to perfection. They do offer a free laundry service although don't count on using it as it rained almost non stop throughout our stay and hence there would be no chance to dry any laundry!! We slept warm and cosy and the hot water bottles were a nice touch.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and made our stay enjoyable.
I'm surprised at how slippery the path from the restaurant to the tents is when wet, considering the amount of rain they receive, hence I wouldn't recommend this place for older or less able guests, a fall on the path would not be nice!
We heard that other lodges had walkie talkies in the tents to allow communication with reception, this would be a big plus to avoid walking up and down the slippery path.
We were disappointed with the food which was average at best and definitely not as good as other places we stayed, the food definitely needs improving as does the wine selection. Apart from that though it was a nice place to stay and we enjoyed our time there

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CockyBarK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Had a great time here at Gorilla Resort. Service was great and just a short minute drive from Bwindi Impenetrable NP for gorilla tracking.
I shared a room with a friend and we each had our own big beds. The bathroom was quite unique as well.
They offer complimentary laundry service to guests as a part of the price inclusions. The view from our room and dining area was really nice too.
The is also a stretch of little shops for tourists to purchase souvenirs about less than 5 minutes walk up the road (heading to Bwindi NP).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed here for two nights during our honeymoon and this is by far the best place we stayed in during our 3 weeks in Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania! Our tent was comfortable with great views and the staff were brilliant. They even made a cake for us as we were on our honeymoon!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raymilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We specifically requested, booked and paid long in advance for (hundreds of USD) a large double bed accommodation, but we got a single tent with 1.5 size bed. The poor, cramped sleeping after a heavy gorila trek spoiled a bit this experience and the beautiful view there was from the balcony.
Moreover, the path down to the tents or cabins was crumbling and the slate stones slippary in the rain.
The lounge-dinner area was recently extended, but had insufficient furniture to sit all the tourists, unless you collected an uncomfortable dining room chair yourself.
The big bathtub was nice, but no shower, no champoo or bubbles as could be expected from a 5 start priced accommodation. The plastic window was almost non-transparent, so no mountain-forest view .
For paying the consumptions, the bar keeper did not have change and created a self appointed tip.
All the hotels in Buhoma are one next to each other, so the view is the same.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank huys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gorillares, Manager at Gorilla Resort Camp, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at our camp in Bwindi.

It may be possible that your reservation and confirmation at this lodge by your booking agent was never received at the time of your booking which is why the allocated room was not a double room but rather a single room according to the pictures on this forum.

You will also note that there were ongoing renovations at the time of your visit and some of the accommodations were not being used at the time.

Please do feel free to get in touch directly with the management of the Lodge to enable them investigate this and respond to you.

Otherwise, we wish to thank you for your feedback and look forward to hearing from you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
106 reviews
11.6 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
#12 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Engagi Lodge
The Engagi Lodge
#14 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
72 reviews
7.2 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorilla Resort Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorilla Resort Camp

Property: Gorilla Resort Camp
Address: Buhoma | Kanungu District, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Intimate, exclusive safari camp, with a breath-taking view of the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest is located at Buhoma - Bwindi Impenetrable Gorilla National Park on a Mountain side. The camp has been constructed and built to the highest standards whilst retaining sympathy with the local surroundings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gorilla Resort Camp Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Gorilla Resort Camp Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing