We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful base for our Gorilla Trekking Honeymoon!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gorilla Resort Camp
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful base for our Gorilla Trekking Honeymoon!”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed here for two nights during our honeymoon and this is by far the best place we stayed in during our 3 weeks in Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania! Our tent was comfortable with great views and the staff were brilliant. They even made a cake for us as we were on our honeymoon!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raymilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
513 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We specifically requested, booked and paid long in advance for (hundreds of USD) a large double bed accommodation, but we got a single tent with 1.5 size bed. The poor, cramped sleeping after a heavy gorila trek spoiled a bit this experience and the beautiful view there was from the balcony.
Moreover, the path down to the tents or cabins was crumbling and the slate stones slippary in the rain.
The lounge-dinner area was recently extended, but had insufficient furniture to sit all the tourists, unless you collected an uncomfortable dining room chair yourself.
The big bathtub was nice, but no shower, no champoo or bubbles as could be expected from a 5 start priced accommodation. The plastic window was almost non-transparent, so no mountain-forest view .
For paying the consumptions, the bar keeper did not have change and created a self appointed tip.
All the hotels in Buhoma are one next to each other, so the view is the same.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank huys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gorillares, Manager at Gorilla Resort Camp, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at our camp in Bwindi.

It may be possible that your reservation and confirmation at this lodge by your booking agent was never received at the time of your booking which is why the allocated room was not a double room but rather a single room according to the pictures on this forum.

You will also note that there were ongoing renovations at the time of your visit and some of the accommodations were not being used at the time.

Please do feel free to get in touch directly with the management of the Lodge to enable them investigate this and respond to you.

Otherwise, we wish to thank you for your feedback and look forward to hearing from you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

This resort is just outside the gates to Bwindi Impenetrable National Park. It is rustic in appearance but has all the amenities we were looking for. The reception desk doubles as the bar in a large covered eating / lounging area that is open on one side. The food choices were limited but the food was very good. Drinks were available when we wanted them. Our accommodation was a large tent with our own private bath (and hot shower). When we returned at night, our bed was heated by two hot water bottles. Sleeping was very comfortable. One day when we left our dirty clothes bag in the bathroom tub (as opposed to our suticase) when we returned our laundry was washed and folded. The resort is walking distance to the park entrance and there are little shops located all along the walk.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SolsticeCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Lovely views of the rain forest from the tent & dining room area, super attentive staff, especially Fred. Some of the very best food we had in Uganda, only slight downside for us was the dining area being enlarged & so some what of a building site. However overall a very good experience & very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
246 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We spent two nights at the Gorilla Resort - as a base for a birdwatching tour. We arrived after dark, but the next morning were greeted with wonderful views over Bwindi Impenetrable Forest and a wide range of birds in the trees and bushes outside our tent. The tent was very comfortable, with a splendid bathroom, even if the solar lighting was rather dim. Food was satisfying , if unexciting and the service was excellent. There is some building work attached to the restaurant, but this did not impinge upon us. The Gorilla Resort was a one minute walk from Buhoma village and a leisurely ten to the National Park, where trails were easily accessible. A good choice for visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diomedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2010

Great place, only a few minutes walk to the national park HQ for gorilla trekking. Our tent was very spacious, had solar powered lighting, comfy beds and brilliant views. The bathroom was gorgeous, with flushing toilets and a bath. It was the perfect place to relax with a drink after trekking the gorillas. Food was good and the staff were friendly and i also liked the tip box so if you wanted to leave a tip for good service you didn't have to keep getting your money out.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lou053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
235 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2009

This is a new venture in Buhoma (the gorilla trakking centre of Uganda) and we were keen to try it when priced out of the nearby Gorilla Forest Camp. There are now ten Lodges in this small village and we do wonder on the sustainability of so many beds when only 32 people can trek Gorillas each day. Of course there is fantastic birding as well which was the purpose of our visit.
The Lodge is by the side of the 'main' road through Buhoma and you must descend some steep steps every day and then come back up them. This is usual in Buhoma due to the nature of the topography. Less able people should be aware of this but it is good training for the actual trekking.
There are around 8 self-contained "Tents/chalets" spread around the site so all are quite private from each other. They contain the usual beds and washroom facilities 'out back' through an insect proof screen. There is even a claw foot bath for your post trek indulgence as well as Washbasin, Vanitory unit and WC. This area is not 'inside' and you can admire the view whilst lounging in your bath. Plumbing works but our particular taps were loose and you had to concentrate when washing. Lighting is by Solar Panel and hot water supplied from the log fired "Kampala" Boiler at the rear. If anything the Tents could do with some hanging space for clothes etc., and maybe a better table to place your Cameras and Binos on, but this is being a bit picky. There are no nets as it is too cold for Mossies. So much so that when they turn down your bed during dinner they place Hot Water Bottles in the bed but it is not really THAT cold.
There is a platform/verandah for each tent (they are built on stilts due to the slope of the ground) and the flowers and shrubs bustle with birds. Everything from Turacos to Sunbirds. You can bird from your balcony or just kick back & admire the excellent view of the Forest Canopy over the valley. Gorillas and Chimps do actually pass close by from time to time depending on where the food supply is ripe. The main lapa/restaurant is comfortably furnished and there is also a bar which may or may not have the brand of beer/softee/ or spirit of your first choice. Food is excellent, prepared to order, but Dinner choice is restricted. Pre and post prandial drinks can be taken on a platform outside around the ubiquitous log fire. More birding.
Service by the Manager, Milton, and his staff was beyond reproach and you got the feeling that nothing was too much trouble for them. If it was there, it was served.
I had left my muddy Boots outside the tent solely for hygiene purposes. When I came back from a meeting in the village they had been cleaned and were spotless. Not seen this kind of service in years.
All in all an excellent place and worthy of the name "Resort".
Reasonably priced and excellent value for money. Competition for bed nights will hot up and prices may even come down due to the overcapacity.

  • Liked — The friendly service and overall ambience.
  • Disliked — Having to leave.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mfuwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
11.6 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
#11 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trackers Safari Lodge
Trackers Safari Lodge
#17 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ecomarvels Gorilla Resort Bwindi
Ecomarvels Gorilla Resort Bwindi
#29 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorilla Resort Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorilla Resort Camp

Property: Gorilla Resort Camp
Address: Buhoma | Kanungu District, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Intimate, exclusive safari camp, with a breath-taking view of the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest is located at Buhoma - Bwindi Impenetrable Gorilla National Park on a Mountain side. The camp has been constructed and built to the highest standards whilst retaining sympathy with the local surroundings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gorilla Resort Camp Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Gorilla Resort Camp Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing