We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buhoma Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$113
$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Explorers Hub(Kampala)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairway Hotel(Kampala)
$123
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$222
$217
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Gorilla Safari Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Silverback Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Savannah Resort Hotel(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
185
29
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
29
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild frontierscomplimentary massagegorilla treka hot water bottlestarting pointtree housengamba islanddietary restrictionsstunning foodwalk in showerwelcome sightminutes walk awayshoe cleaningcoffee deliveredinside the national parkcomplimentary bottle of winebubble bath
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 216 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012

*8 traditionally built wooden cottages built into the hillside over looking the rain forests where the gorillas live. The food was superb,(set menu) the restaurant has open sides and at dinner they put pots of smouldering charcoal round your table so you don't get cold. A chimnea full of charcoal and a hot water bottle when you get back to your room. It is in the mountains and get chilly after dark. We had a free massage which was great.
The staff made it a magical place to stay. Wonderful

Room Tip: They were all good
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Almost over 90% of materials used in setting up this Property is local and this makes it unique and environmentally friendly. The staff are very warm, dedicated and perform their duties with confidence and passion, a sign that they really enjoy and love what they are doing. I love the manager's zeal to always go an extra mile to give help whenever you require extra information even outside his area of operation; I can't forget his very helpful effort to give me a print out direction for an alternative route at the time which proved very helpful. In order not to litter our forest and possibly expose the animals and the environment to unwanted materials, residents are provided with reusable water bottles filled with clean water, sticks for use during the trekking which you are required to return at the end of your gorilla tracking activity. The location is a walkable distance from both the gorilla tracking briefing/starting points at UWA H/Qs for two groups and The Batwa Experience for those addicted to cultural tourism.

Room Tip: All the rooms are strategically located overlooking the beautiful forest of Bwindi Impenetrable Rain Forest. However, those with walking difficulty are advised to request for a special arrangemnt on the ground level or the room slightly on the left side of the reception/ dining area.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We came here to see the gorillas, which meant this lodge was in the perfect location. You can literally walk to the starting point from the lodge (note: when getting gorilla permits, ask for the Rushegura Group as that is the family that is closest to Buhoma and will save you A LOT of time in finding the gorillas).

They offer free massages, but only until 6pm or so -- be sure to order in advance as there is usually only one masseuse.

The rooms are good, though not spectacular, and the bathrooms facilities are what you would expect from a unique four-star level resort. The food was also very good and the service at dinner and breakfast was excellent.

Compared to the other places in Buhoma, this is the upper end of the ladder. The cabins aren't as private as they look in the pics (the property is actually very small), but it is a decent place that will take good care of you.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are up a considerable staircase. I would ask for a room close to the lodge.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Food-Nature-Culture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Loved Buhoma Lodge!!! Great cabins in the forest and all tastefully decorated. Hot water 24/7 and comfy beds. They do laundry and clean boots. Titus and Ken make everyone feel very welcome. They greeted us by first name every time they saw us. The food was delicious and service outstanding. There is a central area in the corner of the living room by the bar and dining area that is for charging electronics. All lights in the rooms are powered by solar energy. Misty mornings and a short 2 minute walk to the ranger station for our briefing to track gorillas! If you have time, walk into the village where there are several craft shops. Cash only accepted here for insight purchases.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OTBPGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed at Buhoma Lodge for 2 nights whilst we went gorilla trekking as part of our tour of Uganda. It was a lovely lodge in a beautiful location and Ken runs it brilliantly. Looking out onto Bwindi Impenetrable Forest from our verandah was so relaxing. The location is a 5 minute walk from the trekking meeting place so really well sited. We were really looking forward to the free massages after our trekking but as we had such a long trek to find them we couldn't take advantage of this facility as we got back so late. Luckily I could soak my sore feet in the plunge pool style bath. The wood fired heated shower was so refreshing after a hot day. The food was great and the service was exemplary. And the hot water bottles put in the bed at night were a lovely surprise. We couldn't fault Buhoma Lodge. Thanks World Primate Safaris - you couldn't have found a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews