We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, nice atmosphere”
Review of Kai Thai

Kai Thai
Ranked #61 of 130 Restaurants in Randburg
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Food and service was very good, you can ask for your meal to be adapted to your own taste, if you like it hotter or milder then it is no problem, if you like your crspy duck extra crispy the again no problem.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Iain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    1
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good food , but poor service”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

.We like eastern food and try every restaurant in the area. The problem is that some receptionist cannot speak English and this makes ordering some times very difficult. This is one of those places. We waited 45 min for our food and the one dish was not what we ordered. The price was good and the quality was standard, but the service did not make it an enjoyable evening

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RiaanSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Thai!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is good thai food in Johannesburg that I have also ordered takout from! Still go back often as it is good value.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Divesh_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Thai Food to die for”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I love this restaurant, the food is always fresh and very quick by your table. The food is so much you can actually shear one plate for 2 people i can never finish everything. They have unique tastes. I always take the chicken and veggie stir fry with noodles wow this is my favorite. I cannot find a place like this anywhere else that's this good with Thai food

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjon v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Bye Bye Kai Thai!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went on Monday night with a family member visiting from Europe. Service was slooooow. Starters were fine, main meals very average and then we were presented with 1 desert menu for a table for 4. As soon as we were ready to order desert, at exactly 9.05 pm, we were told the kitchen is closed! Go figure our disappointment and embarassment with our International Guest! No-no Kai Thai! Bye-bye!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainbowsend1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kai Thai also viewed

Randburg, Greater Johannesburg
Randburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Randburg, Greater Johannesburg
Randburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Kai Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing