We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best mussels in Johannesburg!”
Review of Carvers Restaurant

Carvers Restaurant
Ranked #75 of 129 Restaurants in Randburg
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The best mussels in Johannesburg!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you are looking for large sized tasty mussels, this (originally) Belgian oriented restaurant is by far the best in Jozi! They are prepared in typical Belgian manner with a wide choice of different ingredients depending on what you like (wine, beer, cream, cheese etc....). Don't forget the Belgian beers which go exceptionally well with the mussels. The "frites", AKA chips or French fries, (which by the way are actually Belgian fries!) with home-made mayonnaise is heavenly!

The price is also very reasonable....

Bon appétit!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank RobertPaltiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    18
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Randburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT VALUE RESTAURANT”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Carvers Restaurant has Lovely and charming atmosphere. There is ample parking and staff are well trained and very friendly. The food is Excellent value for money - especially carvery on weekends! Make sure you book in advance because you won't just walk in and get a place - especially on weekends. Can highly recommend.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vida N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday lunch”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Had a ladies lunch for my friends. They set up a drinks table in the garden so all the ladies could meet and greet before lunch. Excellent value for money.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Adi Edith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wow what grub”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

THis experience is mind boggling. The food is excellent and comes fast and furiously. Well presented and you feel like a king or quees.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A good place to meat”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

They have been around for years, in an old farmhouse, but this has been my first visit. I did not know it was a buffet style restaurant, but that's okay, they also serve a la carte. We went for the buffet. They were very quiet that night so we had first dibs on all the cuts of meat. Beef, pork, lamb, chicken and fish, also a great spread of soups, salads and starter stuff. I did go back for a 2nd plate of the lamb, but I'm not in my teens anymore so I couldn't finish.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seanvaderwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carvers Restaurant also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Randburg, Greater Johannesburg
Randburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Randburg, Greater Johannesburg
Randburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Carvers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing