We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Randburg
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I visited my brother and parents in south Africa for Xmas and new year from Michigan USA .my brother lives in rand burg Johannesburg in a one bedroom apartment and he booked a room for me and my family in mercure hotel for a week.it was an excellent stay.every day they cleaned our room and the rooms were pretty big and spacious .they had excellent room service and bathrooms were awesome .it was so far the best hotel I ever stayed in.you wouldn't get a hotel like this in USA for this cheap price of 500 rand a night.i highly recommend it and the location near the waterfront is a great plus point to shop for souvenirs.aww..I miss south Africa.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DOCTORSUMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Johannesburg Randburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 158 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

My last stay at this hotel was disappointing. I am very pleased to say that my stay here last week was the opposite. All staff from reception to housekeeping were friendly, greeted me, and made me feel at home. My takeaway food was also heated up when I purchased dinner. The room I stayed in this time was perfect,clean,in excellent condition and welcoming. Breakfast was fantastic and again very very friendly staff. Well done mercure. Now that I have confidence in this hotel, I will defintely stay here again this year. Keep it up.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank es786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My wife and kids stayed there in October. It was a good choice being in close proximity to a shopping area plus the fact that they provide washing machines. My family had a long trip from Asia and have been moving into different hotels in Johannesburg for two weeks. The room size was ample size and clean. The kids appreciated the comfy beds.

Room Tip: If you're looking to do some shopping and also need to do some clothes washing, this would be a...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuanCastilloFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

a last minute development required an urgent meeting room to be arranged for a very sensitive meeting. the staff of the Mercure Hotel Randburg we exceptionally corteous and thoroughly efficient in assisting. On this occasion they willing made our problem THEIR problem and took the pain out of our situation.

many thanks to Bonita, Lesedi and team.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here on 13 october 2012 for 1 night. Bathroom door had a hole in it.bathroom looks old. Drawer broken.spot lights on headboard not working on both sides. There was a public toilet right next to my room. Check in staff on saturday need to learn how to smile. Conference chairs and tables placed in the passage outside my room. Made lots of noise and was irritating. Channels on tv mixed up.stain on sofa. Cracked tiles in bathroom. Would not return here.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank es786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We booked a room with a double bed, but when we got here it turned out that all doubles on the non-smoking floors were taken so we had to take a twin as we find smoking rooms quite disgusting. Even on the non-smoking floor, the corridor actually did smell of smoke. We found both issues quite disappointing.

However, the rooms themselves are fine. The room was clean, the shower is very good, there is a fridge (though not a particularly powerful one) and there is a kettle with tea/coffee. There is also a European power socket and 20 MB of free wireless internet per day per device, with the option of buying more.

The location near the large Brightwater Commons mall is very convenient as it allows one to safely walk around a bit.

The hotel has a free secured parking lot, which is a neccesity in Johannesburg.

We did not try the breakfast as we thought it is unreasonably expensive. There are plenty of alternatives in the mall, so there isn't really any reason to eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dotman8117
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randburg
0.3 mi away
Road Lodge Randburg
Road Lodge Randburg
#4 of 7 in Randburg
39 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apollo Conferencing Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sierra on Main
Sierra on Main
#7 of 7 in Randburg
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
#35 of 66 in Johannesburg
107 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
4.1 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#23 of 66 in Johannesburg
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Johannesburg Randburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Johannesburg Randburg

Address: Cnr Republic Rd & Brightwater Commons Road, Randburg 2125, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Randburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Randburg
Price Range: $48 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Johannesburg Randburg 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loyal guests keep returning to the 3-star Mercure Hotel Randburg because they experience consistency of service and affordable luxury comfort. Attentive, friendly staff greet guests upon arrival, and are the cornerstone of the service a guest can expect to receive at the Randburg Mercure. The decor is a combination of chic retro styling with a subtle African musical theme in the common areas, and the guest area furniture is comfortable and stylish. Full English breakfasts, and light lunches and dinners can be taken in the elegant restaurant that is discreetly screened off from the main reception area. Guests usually enjoy sundowners and cocktails on the patio, in the garden, or in the bar that is open daily. For those who wish to eat out, the Hotel is within walking distance of a variety of restaurants. The 104 air-conditioned rooms are spacious and offer either a queen bed or two ¾ beds with luxury white linen, and a modern bathroom with a shower. The comfortable rooms offer a desk and chair with complimentary stationery, and an easy chair in which to relax and watch satellite TV. Tea and coffee facilities and digital safes are provided. All suites have flat-screen television sets, a fridge, and tea and coffee supplies and facilities are provided. There is one wheelchair designated suite, and there is a lift to access the upper floors. The Mercure Hotel Randburg is conveniently located to the business districts of Randburg and Sandton, where many national and international corporate head-offices are situated. The hotel is adjacent to the Brightwater Commons where guests have access to shops, restaurants, and gym facilities. The Olivedale Clinic is nearby. The OR Tambo International Airport is within easy access on the nearby motorway or the Gautrain bus, which links up to the Gautrain that takes guests directly to the airport. The hotel has 24-hour security and there is ample secure parking is onsite. SMEs can book full conference facilities in two venues, with a capacity of up to 20 people respectively. 500mb of free Wi-Fi is available to all guests on a daily basis. The hotel adheres to the Planet 21 principles of responsible business practice. The Mercure Hotel Randburg is the affordable luxury alternative for someone who wants to stay close to the heart of the Sandton business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Johannesburg Randburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg Hotel Randburg
Accor Johannesburg Randburg
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing