We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really intimidating.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Randburg
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I was booked in here for 3 nights but when I came to check in there were people everywhere, and this was true even whe I went up to me room with people loitering in the corridor watching me. After seeing the "quality" of the room I decided that I could me stay here. I have travelled extensively and stayed in motels Tanzania and Ethiopia but never felt quite so intimidated.
I might have got it opn a bad day, and I am no means a slave to 5 star hotels, but this place didn't feel right that night.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
Thank paulcurtley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 163 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2011

Good place to stay away from the crowd, no restaurants for lunch and dinner, however close to a shopping mall where varieties of restaurants / coffe shops are available, internet is not free, hotel arranges taxi, commuting to other parts of the city is expensive, good and helpful staff

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Selvakumar1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel was close to a very nice mall. The rooms were large and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindaAnnDavidRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The location next to a shopping complex was absolutely wonderful, especially as we has a little child. The Shopping complex had activities for children it was wonderful. The closeness to everywhere and the hotel staff were friendly. Good management, asked to be picked up from the airport and the driver was waiting for us. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OKobia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Knysna
1
Reviewed December 6, 2010

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

This is a fine hotel - not great, not bad. The price looks great until you factor in the cost of getting around. Could probably do better by staying at a slightly more expensive place that is more central so you can avoid high taxi fares - that is what I would do next time. The Randburg Waterfront area is great for eats and drinks and is located very close, (walking the 7mins is safe even at night), which was nice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurieloo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

Stayed for one night and was relatively comfortable with the experience. The check in was uneventful but lacking any warmth from the receptionist. Location is great due to proximity to the shopping mall (lots of dining choice and safe). Room was smallish but clean, although their definition of non-smoking was weird. Breakfast buffet was reasonable but they did have a chef cooking fresh eggs, which was very tasty. All in all a safe choice but dont expect to be wowed at any stage.....I think Sandton area is better, however the value for money in this hotel was without doubt the big sell.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randburg
1.1 mi away
Road Lodge Randburg
Road Lodge Randburg
#5 of 8 in Randburg
39 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apollo Conferencing Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sierra on Main
Sierra on Main
#6 of 8 in Randburg
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Janana Guesthouse
The Janana Guesthouse
#3 of 3 in Bryanston
9 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shumba Valley Lodge
Shumba Valley Lodge
#52 of 67 in Johannesburg
54 reviews
2 mi away
Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Johannesburg Randburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Johannesburg Randburg

Address: Cnr Republic Rd & Brightwater Commons Road, Randburg 2125, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Randburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Randburg
Price Range: $50 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Johannesburg Randburg 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loyal guests keep returning to the 3-star Mercure Hotel Randburg because they experience consistency of service and affordable luxury comfort. Attentive, friendly staff greet guests upon arrival, and are the cornerstone of the service a guest can expect to receive at the Randburg Mercure. The decor is a combination of chic retro styling with a subtle African musical theme in the common areas, and the guest area furniture is comfortable and stylish. Full English breakfasts, and light lunches and dinners can be taken in the elegant restaurant that is discreetly screened off from the main reception area. Guests usually enjoy sundowners and cocktails on the patio, in the garden, or in the bar that is open daily. For those who wish to eat out, the Hotel is within walking distance of a variety of restaurants. The 104 air-conditioned rooms are spacious and offer either a queen bed or two ¾ beds with luxury white linen, and a modern bathroom with a shower. The comfortable rooms offer a desk and chair with complimentary stationery, and an easy chair in which to relax and watch satellite TV. Tea and coffee facilities and digital safes are provided. All suites have flat-screen television sets, a fridge, and tea and coffee supplies and facilities are provided. There is one wheelchair designated suite, and there is a lift to access the upper floors. The Mercure Hotel Randburg is conveniently located to the business districts of Randburg and Sandton, where many national and international corporate head-offices are situated. The hotel is adjacent to the Brightwater Commons where guests have access to shops, restaurants, and gym facilities. The Olivedale Clinic is nearby. The OR Tambo International Airport is within easy access on the nearby motorway or the Gautrain bus, which links up to the Gautrain that takes guests directly to the airport. The hotel has 24-hour security and there is ample secure parking is onsite. SMEs can book full conference facilities in two venues, with a capacity of up to 20 people respectively. 500mb of free Wi-Fi is available to all guests on a daily basis. The hotel adheres to the Planet 21 principles of responsible business practice. The Mercure Hotel Randburg is the affordable luxury alternative for someone who wants to stay close to the heart of the Sandton business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Johannesburg Randburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg Hotel Randburg
Accor Johannesburg Randburg
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing