We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for a First time visitor.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Randburg
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
“Good value for a First time visitor.”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The location next to a shopping complex was absolutely wonderful, especially as we has a little child. The Shopping complex had activities for children it was wonderful. The closeness to everywhere and the hotel staff were friendly. Good management, asked to be picked up from the airport and the driver was waiting for us. Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OKobia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    69
    49
    6
    13
See reviews for
20
38
18
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

This is a fine hotel - not great, not bad. The price looks great until you factor in the cost of getting around. Could probably do better by staying at a slightly more expensive place that is more central so you can avoid high taxi fares - that is what I would do next time. The Randburg Waterfront area is great for eats and drinks and is located very close, (walking the 7mins is safe even at night), which was nice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurieloo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

Stayed for one night and was relatively comfortable with the experience. The check in was uneventful but lacking any warmth from the receptionist. Location is great due to proximity to the shopping mall (lots of dining choice and safe). Room was smallish but clean, although their definition of non-smoking was weird. Breakfast buffet was reasonable but they did have a chef cooking fresh eggs, which was very tasty. All in all a safe choice but dont expect to be wowed at any stage.....I think Sandton area is better, however the value for money in this hotel was without doubt the big sell.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Good B&B. Right next to Randburg waterfront. Excellent location.

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — No restaurant inside the hotel
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sumitggarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2008

The hotel Mercure Randburg was everything I wanted it to be. Clean, modern, helpful and good location.
We arrived there at 7am and were thankfully allowed into our room. What bliss after 24 hours since leaving our home in Paris!
The staff were very helpful, helped to arrange a city tour with a local guide (well worth it if you have an afternoon to kill) and we could leave the bulk of our luggage secure in a locked room for the four days that we left to go on safari.
I particularly liked the location. Just next to a very safe shopping and restaurant complex, there was plenty of variety in the evening and when it came to getting picked up to go to the Kruger, the safari company willingly picked us up from our hotel. South African friends of ours wondered why we didn't just stay in Sandton( about 15mins away). Well, the cost was the main reason ( 50% cheaper than comparable hotels). Talking to other guests at Sandton hotels who, like us were staying there for a day before going on safari tour and then returning for a final day, they seemed to have been no better off than us and didn't have the convenience of such nearby facilities.
My only grumble is a lack of free internet access - there was no computer available to guests and a rather uninspiring but pricey breakfast.
I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — No internet access
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BillParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2007

We booked the hotel through last minute website for our 3 day stay in JHB.
The hotel didnt have any reservations for us, as there seemed to have been some sort of mixup on the website side (the site we booked through hadnt notified the mercure inn of our stay, but the manager called the UK and rectified the booking.

The hotel is nice and central to all things we needed access to, and a walk away from the brightwater commons (shopping/entertainment center)

The rooms were nice and clean, well maintained and pretty upmarket. Slightly on the small side but comfortable never the less. The food in the dining area was delicious and well cooked (we had the breakfast buffet included in our stay). Nice friendly staff and very happy to assist you with whatever you need.

nice place, well worth the money

  • Liked — Being central to everthing we needed to do
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Anton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randburg
0.3 mi away
Road Lodge Randburg
Road Lodge Randburg
#5 of 7 in Randburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apollo Conferencing Hotel
12.2 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
#43 of 68 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sierra on Main
Sierra on Main
#7 of 7 in Randburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
2.0 mi away
Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg
1.9 mi away
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Johannesburg Randburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Johannesburg Randburg

Property: Mercure Johannesburg Randburg
Address: Cnr Republic Rd & Brightwater Commons Road | PO Box 2438, Randburg 2125, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Randburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Randburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Johannesburg Randburg 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the outskirts, facing the new shopping center Brightwater Commons, previously known as the Randburg Waterfront shopping & entertainment centre. 30 min from Jo'burg international airport, 104 air conditioned rooms, breakfast restaurant, bar, 2 conference rooms, secure parking and 24h security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Johannesburg Randburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg Hotel Randburg
Accor Johannesburg Randburg
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing