We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was absolutely shocking”
Review of Schwabinger Stuben

Schwabinger Stuben
Ranked #15 of 126 Restaurants in Randburg
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Pub, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tel +27 11 787-2550
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service was absolutely shocking”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Here's the problem. As we waited an HOUR and FORTY minutes for our food, you would kind of expect to be taken care of, drink wise, in that lengthy bit of time. As a german, I know we think an empty glass is an absolute sin. As we sat there, starving, thirsty, and deprived of any attention from our waitress, it was really just a miserable experience. I sat there and actually shouted at our waitress for attention when she was 5 feet away. She pretended as if not to hear me and walked away.

When our food finally arrived it was nasty. Out of 8 of us, no one enjoyed their meal and we all agreed we should have eaten at wimpy. At least at wimpy we would have had service with a smile.

Bottom line is, we are german by decent. It would be a disgrace to call this place a german restaurant.

Looking forward to never returning here.

Helpful?
Thank Abby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    55
    18
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic schnitzels”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

They have amazing value-for-money schnitzels and a great range of German Beers. The service isn't fantastic, but it's a great place to just go relax with a beer and a good plate of food. An old favourite!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ClaireSmuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Go for the vibe”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Food and service I'd so-so, but they have a nice vibe if you are a no-frills type of person. One of only a handful German restaurants in Randburg area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Spot on if you like German food”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Great food, great atmosphere and many different types of beers to choose from. What more could you want for a relaxed dinner with friends in a German beer garden type environment. I can recommend the eisbein if you're some good pork products!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
215 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not only is it realy German , but it is also everything”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

It was our 25th wedding anniversary and we wanted to try something that is not too formal but still make you feel comfortable with good service, and this was exactly what we found. The restaurant is divided into three separate areas, so you can choose were you feel at home. The quality of the food and the service is outstanding. We had a fantastic table outside and really enjoyed the food and the great variety of beers as well. Do not miss out on this one!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RiaanSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schwabinger Stuben also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Muldersdrift, Greater Johannesburg
 
Randburg, Greater Johannesburg
Roodepoort, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Schwabinger Stuben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing