We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mirror is Near Powerpoint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Randburg
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Mirror is Near Powerpoint”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

What I loved about this hotel is that a mirror in the room has lighting above it and is near a power point. There is a hair dryer in a drawer beneath the mirror. Ideal for ladies whose partner fogs the bathroom and takes his time. Not many hotel rooms have this. Rooms are spacious and have a balcony. Do not leave cheap or expensive jewellery lying
around. As it is a golf resort walking around the grounds is almost impossible. All meals are well priced. Staff are very accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    168
    34
    8
    9
See reviews for
103
206
30
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bluche
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

In a business trip with my son, we were advised by the director of White River Golf Club, of this new
world class hotel in Randburg . It is not easy to find...but once there what a stunning surprise.
Beautiful courses and a luxury hotel with all facilities.
The staff is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

what a surprise when you find this luxury hotel and golf resort in the middle of the busy city!
The villa's is a great option if you travel in a group or have a 4ball! the views from the rooms is beautiful on the golf course, breakfast is an event!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel offers world class facilities and a relaxing environment for travellers and business travelers alike. The overall service is excellent and the restaurant is highly recommended offering a diversity of menu items at value for money rates. Beautiful views from all rooms over the golf course and the conference facilities are well designed to offer a variety of venue sizes to cater for small meetings to larger conferences or special events. In addition to this, the exclusive Chapel and wedding venue on site makes it a perfect wedding destination. The Fairway Hotel & Golf Resort certainly is a hidden gem in the middle of Randburg and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in one of the villas overlooking the golf course. This is a wonderful hotel, well appointed rooms that are clean, spacious and comfortable. The bathroom has a shower and bath tub, they also provide bath salts and bubble bath as part of their amenities package, which was superb! You'd think more hotels with bath tubs would this, but no. The bed was large and we just sunk in it...when we turned on our satellite TV, there was a personalised welcome message which was a nice touch, as was the dark chocolate truffles on our bed pillows after turndown service.

The only slightly strange thing was that the villas have four bedrooms with common kitchen and lounging space but I guess that's just the layout. The hotel has two pools, a wonderful spa which we used to pamper ourselves, friendly staff, spacious lounging areas around the reception and main restaurant with fire places to keep you toasty. The breakfast spread was good but not spectacular, though they did layout some nice cheese, fruit and yogurts which I loved. We ate lunch and dinner at the hotel's main restaurant and again the food was good though nothing to rave about.

The location of this hotel, which is just off of the Randpark Golf Course, is in a leafy, quiet, residential-type area which is secure but at the same time away from the tourist and commercial hub of Sandton. We hired a private car to take us around Jo'burg city one day that turned out to be more expensive than we were initially led to believe. So the day we were leaving for the airport, we asked the hotel to arrange a transfer. Although the transfer was a bit pricer than what we could have negotiated outside but it was well worth it as we were driven to Oliver Tambo Airport in a smooth, new Mercedes E Class!

Room Tip: Views over the golf course from the villas are simply beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krupa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Conderence facilities are excellent and buffet menu is also great. The desserts are fantastic and the service effort is amazing. The view is phenomenal - hard to believe you're in the middle of a city :) Lovely experience, overall.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polokwane, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two days with my husband and baby. We arrived very early for check-in, and our room was not ready. We anticipated this, and just wanted to drop our bags off in the meantime. However, the staff decided to upgrade our room without us even asking! We went from a premier room to a luxury room with an early check-in to boot. This unexpected treat made our stay even more enjoyable, as we spent most of our time in the room.

Breakfast had many options, and the dining room was beautiful. The staff were efficient and very child friendly.

We did not have a chance to partake in the spa facilities as they were fully booked on the day we wanted to make use of it. We did take a tour of the place, and it looked luxurious.

The only negative is that there was a problem with the TV in our room, it kept loosing signal, so the picture would blank on and off at regular five minute intervals. This made it difficult to watch a movie in the evening. When we contacted reception, they sent someone immediately up, but he was unable to fix the problem as he was not part of maintainence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Sadien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randburg
5.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
6.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
741 reviews
13.0 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
942 reviews
4.4 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
2.6 mi away
Apollo Conferencing Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Property: The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Address: Setperk Street | Randpark Golf Course, Randburg 2194, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Randburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Randburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort is situated on the Randpark Golf Course, 15 minutes from Sandton City centre and 2km from Cresta Shopping Centre in Johannesburg. This modern business hotel provides the ultimate destination for conferences, functions, corporate golf days, weddings and leisure guests in a safe residential area with tree-lined streets. The luxury development overlooks the famous Randpark Golf Course and is situated just north east of the clubhouse, on the 1st hole. The Fairway has 62 hotel rooms and 14 double storey Golf Villas, each with 4 en-suite rooms. The hotel rooms include 35 luxury rooms, 16 premier rooms, 1 paraplegic room, 2 Suites and 8 family rooms. Gym, tennis courts and spa facilities further add to the enjoyment and comfort of guests during their stay. The 8, 200m² hotel comprises a multi-volume foyer and private internal pool courtyard, a conference centre, boardrooms, breakaway rooms, lounge and deck with stunning views. Brides can look forward to a magnificent chapel and the Windsor Ballroom for hosting their function. Being the meeting venue in Johannesburg, Bar Verve is renowned for after work cocktails which may well extend into unparalleled late night Fine Dining in Balata Restaurant. The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort is a member of the Guvon Hotels and was awarded with 'Best New Hotel Africa and Indian Ocean' at the World Travel Awards 2010. The Balata Restaurant is accredited with the American Express Platinum Fine Dining Award 2013, 2014 and 2015. In case of an Eskom electricity outage The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort is 100% powered by our own 630KVA "Silent Pack" generator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairway Hotel And Golf Resort
The Fairway Hotel & Golf Randburg
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort Randburg, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing