We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Lunch Par Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Randburg
Certificate of Excellence
Lanseria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Easter Lunch Par Excellence”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was our second year running, Easter Sunday Lunch, at the Ballata restaurant in the Fairway Hotel. This hotel and restaurant prides itself on modern metallic finishes and an architectural design of the highest standards! Pre-drink aperitifs can be enjoyed in the lounge or either their indoor or outdoor covered bar areas overlooking the manicured golf course fairways and practise putting green.

The tables are opulent, some, with wingback chairs and were charmingly decorated with an Easter gift box of scented pink sweeties and mini pink and white Easter eggs. Delightful live violin background music set a great mood.

Down to the food. Nothing puts me off a buffet more than when you get there last and it’s merely the remnants of a waste disposal site, needless to say, I was apprehensive that this year I may be disappointed!

It’s clear that Ballata, from the extensive selection of cold, hot and desserts on each buffet, is being run by qualified chefs. All the food is exquisite in preparation and replenished meticulously to the point that it never looked touched. I enjoyed large oysters, gravlax and duck liver and orange salad. My wife had Caesar salad freshly prepared to taste which was tempting. Quite simply there was such a wide selection words do it no justice so see the pictures (below) for a better idea. Once again the buffet selection was Easter lunch par excellence! The food selection was stupendous and the service was smooth and unhurried!

The Easter bunny even hopped in and made my sons’ day.

5 stars to the chefs, waitrons and management!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    167
    33
    8
    9
See reviews for
100
204
30
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Finally a 4 star that lives up to high expectations. Friendly service and overall ambience was fantastic!First time visit and won't be the last. It's great to find a peaceful, elegant and spacious hotel with a decent size bedroom, will highly recommend to everyone that we know.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarosPilates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

What a wonderful hotel! From the hotel direct onto the golf course; great experience.
Very friendly staff; great breakfast, good restaurant with excellent choices of South African wine.
Big bathroom with the biggest walk-in shower I've ever seen in hotels. Rooms are clean and big.
Great price-quality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruud J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook Beach
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The venue is not too far away from Lanseria airport. Conference facilities are outstanding. The staff are very competent and friendly. The accommodation in the villas is spotless and well-serviced with everything you would expect of a 5 * facility. The setting is tranquil - overlooking the golf course with beautiful gardens and birds. All meals were tasty with a large variety to choose from.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher level in the villas have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed the night at the hotel after attending a wedding at the venue. Living about 10km away we never knew what existed behind the trees and what a wonderful experience it was! Took us by surprise, the rooms, the service and quality of food was fantastic. Would definitely recommend this hotel ... we were left wondering though which one of the SWC2010 Brazilian players had our room ...

Room Tip: Luxury room, upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant_I_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The staff was very friendly & helpful. The facilities (room, swimming pool, Restaurant and Spa) was excellent. We enjoyed dinner in the Restaurant and the food was delicious.

The room was very clean and spacious and fully equipped - small fridge, coffee machine, hairdryer, soft white towels etc.

Room Tip: Premier double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsabebloem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at Fairway due to its close proximity to Sandton City, yet still having a peaceful environment to relax in.

We really enjoyed our stay, though we found the restaurant a little lacking when it came to evening dinners so rather dine out. Service was good though room service was a little confused and not too "willing" nonetheless our overall experience was very positive, for the price we thought it was amazing value for money.

Will recommend for any visitor to Johannesburg.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oppisand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randburg
5.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
6.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
727 reviews
13.0 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
5.6 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
933 reviews
1.6 mi away
Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Property: The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Address: Setperk Street | Randpark Golf Course, Randburg 2194, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Randburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Randburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort is situated on the Randpark Golf Course, 15 minutes from Sandton City centre and 2km from Cresta Shopping Centre in Johannesburg. This modern business hotel provides the ultimate destination for conferences, functions, corporate golf days, weddings and leisure guests in a safe residential area with tree-lined streets. The luxury development overlooks the famous Randpark Golf Course and is situated just north east of the clubhouse, on the 1st hole. The Fairway has 62 hotel rooms and 14 double storey Golf Villas, each with 4 en-suite rooms. The hotel rooms include 35 luxury rooms, 16 premier rooms, 1 paraplegic room, 2 Suites and 8 family rooms. Gym, tennis courts and spa facilities further add to the enjoyment and comfort of guests during their stay. The 8, 200m² hotel comprises a multi-volume foyer and private internal pool courtyard, a conference centre, boardrooms, breakaway rooms, lounge and deck with stunning views. Brides can look forward to a magnificent chapel and the Windsor Ballroom for hosting their function. Being the meeting venue in Johannesburg, Bar Verve is renowned for after work cocktails which may well extend into unparalleled late night Fine Dining in Balata Restaurant. The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort is a member of the Guvon Hotels and was awarded with 'Best New Hotel Africa and Indian Ocean' at the World Travel Awards 2010. The Balata Restaurant is accredited with the American Express Platinum Fine Dining Award 2013, 2014 and 2015. In case of an Eskom electricity outage The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort is 100% powered by our own 630KVA "Silent Pack" generator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairway Hotel And Golf Resort
The Fairway Hotel & Golf Randburg
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort Randburg, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing