We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Randburg
Certificate of Excellence
Secunda, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed in a Suite at The Fairway with our 2 year old daughter. We really had a lovely stay. The service was very good. All the staff were friendly. The suite was so spacious, we absolutely loved it. The patio is lovely with a nice view of the fairway. We quite enjoyed the fact that our daughter could run around outside after a day of shopping and burn some energy. Most hotels in the city do not offer space outside, but being on a Golf course, there's plenty of space for being outdoors. The coctails at the bar were really good and very well priced. And do not miss out on a dinner at the restaurant - the food is really exceptional. The hotel is a bit pricy, but we went on a 50% off special, and would look out for this in future, as we really enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: The rooms close to the bar can get a bit noisy over weekends, as there is live entertainment. Ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koala1629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    168
    34
    8
    9
See reviews for
103
206
30
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I happened to visit Johannesburg on a business trip and found the Fairway Hotel close to my office. The staff at reception was very helpful and arranged cab for office and airport drop in no time. The breakfast served is scrumptious. The live counter served me great Indian egg burji! This was a welcome change.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aankur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Back for my second stay at The Fairway hotel & golf resort and what an incredible stay again. You’ll find the friendliest and most helpful staff in SA at The Fairway. Although the hotel was quite fully booked, I was still treated like a VIP and all my request was attended to lightning fast…and with a smile. The food was great, the room amazing like last time and the location fantastic. I walked out of my door and onto the golf course. To making my stay and experience even more special was, on my 1st day of golf, I played golf in the snow…yes in the snow. It was crazy, it a awesome way.

Thanks Fairway hotel, I’ll be back.

See you soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJMan1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Excellent service, food and environment. High standards maintained.
Nice for a weekend away, very relaxing and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savannah_Rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The staff make you feel as if you are the most important person, the service is top-class. The environment is designed for both relaxation and business.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night before flying back to London, we were going to explore Johannesburg but the hotel and grounds were so nice we were happy to just relax here.

The reception, bar and restaurant staff we exceptionally helpful and friendly.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven_pm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

For me, this was a one-night business stay so the fact that the hotel was situated directly on a golf course in the middle of a suburban area with no-where to walk to (shops/entertainment/restaurants) was irrelevant. What was relevant was the exceptional standards of accommodation, service and food at this property. My room was a delight. Spacious, modern and plush...it was a winner and much better than many other five star rooms I have had all over the world. Lovely public areas, a super outdoor snack bar and luxury restaurant left me even more impressed. Friendly and efficient service seemed effortless (as it should be) but the rather average breakfast - which needed some nice fresh bread selections - was a little pedestrian given the other high standards at play. This is a terrific property if you intend to play golf or have a car. Just don't expect to feel as though you are in the centre of commercial activity which a suburb like Sandton or Rosebank offers the leisure traveler. There is no-where to go in close proximity except for the large Cresta shopping mall a few kilometers drive away. That said, what a lovely room to lay my head....wish I had all the facilities at home!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polanalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randburg
5.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
6.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
741 reviews
13.0 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
943 reviews
4.4 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
2.6 mi away
Apollo Conferencing Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Property: The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Address: Setperk Street | Randpark Golf Course, Randburg 2194, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Randburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Randburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort is situated on the Randpark Golf Course, 15 minutes from Sandton City centre and 2km from Cresta Shopping Centre in Johannesburg. This modern business hotel provides the ultimate destination for conferences, functions, corporate golf days, weddings and leisure guests in a safe residential area with tree-lined streets. The luxury development overlooks the famous Randpark Golf Course and is situated just north east of the clubhouse, on the 1st hole. The Fairway has 62 hotel rooms and 14 double storey Golf Villas, each with 4 en-suite rooms. The hotel rooms include 35 luxury rooms, 16 premier rooms, 1 paraplegic room, 2 Suites and 8 family rooms. Gym, tennis courts and spa facilities further add to the enjoyment and comfort of guests during their stay. The 8, 200m² hotel comprises a multi-volume foyer and private internal pool courtyard, a conference centre, boardrooms, breakaway rooms, lounge and deck with stunning views. Brides can look forward to a magnificent chapel and the Windsor Ballroom for hosting their function. Being the meeting venue in Johannesburg, Bar Verve is renowned for after work cocktails which may well extend into unparalleled late night Fine Dining in Balata Restaurant. The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort is a member of the Guvon Hotels and was awarded with 'Best New Hotel Africa and Indian Ocean' at the World Travel Awards 2010. The Balata Restaurant is accredited with the American Express Platinum Fine Dining Award 2013, 2014 and 2015. In case of an Eskom electricity outage The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort is 100% powered by our own 630KVA "Silent Pack" generator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairway Hotel And Golf Resort
The Fairway Hotel & Golf Randburg
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort Randburg, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing