We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A dream of a place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Burkleigh House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Burkleigh House
Ranked #3 of 52 Randburg B&B and Inns
Watersfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A dream of a place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

People have said to us try the quest houses when you stay in South Africa. So we booked in faith at Burkleigh house. We were blown away by the welcome, our lovely room and our every need catered for, giving us the rest and relaxation we needed. Breakfast was so appetising with a good range of choice. Washing was whisked away and ready ironed by the end of the day. The gardens providing peace and tranquility.Patricia and David give attention to detail as seen in the exquisit furnishing but more than this they know how to make people feel special and are sensitive to their individual needs.
Guest houses certainly have a good name but this one is the very best!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent but we chose one with a bigger bed at the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurkleighHouse, Owner at Burkleigh House, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Ernest & Delia
Thank you so much for your generous review of Burkleigh House. We are so fortunate to have had so many people arriving as strangers from all over the world and when they leave I feel we have gained new friends. You are definitely amongst those. I do hope you will be back soon and we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
10
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Fantastic hospitality, the rooms are comfortable, well appointed and there is a fast wifi connection. The breakfasts are superb.

When I need to be in Johannesburg Burkleigh is always preferred choice.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfburrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurkleighHouse, Owner at Burkleigh House, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you John for taking the time off your busy schedule to review Burkleigh House. We are always very happy and encouraged by such positive comment and especially thrilled when you keep coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

It is really very beautiful, you can see how much people love their job and love this place. Patricia is very helpful and kind. So many interesting antique details in the rooms and lounge. Breakfast is fresh and tasty. Can't tell much about location, becuase we were looking for some place not far from our friens house. Anyway, it is the most beautiful guesthouse i have ever been to. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurkleighHouse, Owner at Burkleigh House, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Alex and Irina
Thank you ever so much for your kind and generous review of Burkleigh House. I wish I spoke Russian so that we could have gleaned more information about your own country. We are so privileged to meet so many interesting and wonderful people. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will be back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

The Guesthouse, the proprietor and the area are amaxing. supremely welcoming guesthouse with amazing food and incredible atmosphere. friendly, helpful and superb setting make this a guesthouse i am comfortable recommending to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyt5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, AR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Patricia Taylor, the owner of the Burkleigh House has done an excellent job in creating an exquisite home away from home for both business and pleasure travelers. The accommodations are stylish and comfortable and the host and her staff's friendliness and warmth made our stay with them an absolute pleasure. I certainly plan on returning and would recommend the Burkleigh House to friends and colleagues alike.

Patricia tells me she is planning the addition of a conference center with meeting venues, which will make this an excellent venue for business travelers or companies looking for a location for off-site meetings.

Thanks again Patricia and looking forward to seeing you again next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VernonSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chimanimani
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

The Sheraton Makaha Resort - Hawaii
The Ventana Inn and Spa - The Big Sur, California
The Doral Park Hotel - New York
Grosvenor House - London
Hotel Meurice - Paris
The Excelsior - Florence
The Krasnapolsky - Amsterdam

All have special attributes. None of the above have the quality of service, care, comfort and personal response to clients needs that you will find at Burkleigh House. If you are in Johannesburg for business or pleasure you really have to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roshni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Wonderful hostess and host! Couldn't have asked for more. Would recommend this fantastic B&B to anyone visiting Johannesburg. The pictures do justice to the experience but, cannot convey how warm and genuine the hosts are. As foreigners in a strange land we felt welcomed, safe and extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NormBmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burkleighhouse_10, Owner at Burkleigh House, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Wow, what a wonderful compliment. Thank you so much. We at Burkleigh House have enjoyed all the amazing people we have met from all over the world and feel most blessed to have met such special and warm people from Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Randburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Apollo Conferencing Hotel
0.8 mi away
Road Lodge Randburg
Road Lodge Randburg
#5 of 7 in Randburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg
0.6 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg
0.6 mi away
Sierra on Main
Sierra on Main
#7 of 7 in Randburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burkleigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burkleigh House

Property: Burkleigh House
Address: 327 Pine Avenue | Ferndale, Randburg 2194, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Randburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Randburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Burkleigh House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burkleigh House is a boutique guest house elegantly furnished with Victorian antiques and surrounded by an acre of gardens. Centrally situated for easy access to all Gauteng has to offer. Burkleigh House views service and personal attention as our best form of advertising. Enjoy alfresco breakfasts on the veranda or indulge with tea and cream scones or home made lemonade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Burkleigh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burkleigh House Randburg, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing