We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superlative” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burkleigh House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burkleigh House
Ranked #3 of 52 Randburg B&B and Inns
Chimanimani
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superlative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

The Sheraton Makaha Resort - Hawaii
The Ventana Inn and Spa - The Big Sur, California
The Doral Park Hotel - New York
Grosvenor House - London
Hotel Meurice - Paris
The Excelsior - Florence
The Krasnapolsky - Amsterdam

All have special attributes. None of the above have the quality of service, care, comfort and personal response to clients needs that you will find at Burkleigh House. If you are in Johannesburg for business or pleasure you really have to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roshni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
10
4
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Wonderful hostess and host! Couldn't have asked for more. Would recommend this fantastic B&B to anyone visiting Johannesburg. The pictures do justice to the experience but, cannot convey how warm and genuine the hosts are. As foreigners in a strange land we felt welcomed, safe and extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NormBmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burkleighhouse_10, Owner at Burkleigh House, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Wow, what a wonderful compliment. Thank you so much. We at Burkleigh House have enjoyed all the amazing people we have met from all over the world and feel most blessed to have met such special and warm people from Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

A luxurious and posh hotel. Rooms are huge; beddings are of high quality. Service is excellent (e.g. cleaning, breakfast, lanudry services). The large garden was charming and well-maintained. The owner sometimes organises cosy barbecues.

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in my fifteen years of travelling . A stay there is an experience on its own...

(No in-room telephones though. So if you've a business conference call, you'll need to use your mobile phone.)

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank H_Lee_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burkleighhouse_10, Owner at Burkleigh House, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We so enjoyed having you stay and it was always a joy to hear your ringing laughter in the mornings. We have had such special guests staying which makes our job such a pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

I stayed at Burkleigh House for 8 nights when visiting friends in Johannesburg. When I arrived, the first thing that amazed me was just how beautiful the gardens were. Really stunning, even though I am not a gardener myself. You can see that a lot of time and effort has gone into making the gardens spectacular.
My room was beautiful, the antique furniture is really something special. Good size bed, lovely bathroom with a great shower. The security is excellent, and I certainly felt safe during my stay.
The little things that make a big difference are what makes Burkleigh House special. Like having really good quality sheets and towels. And, for example, when I asked for more little milk pots in my room (as I am British and rely on my cup of tea in the morning!) a whole carton was provided for me. The kitchenette was very handy as you have a sink and fridge to use. Room 1 had a small balcony that overlooked a beautiful fountain in the middle of the drive and also the swimming pool. I could then step out straight into the gardens and through to the main building.
Breakfast was served at my convenience every morning and the food was very good. I could ask for pretty much anything I wanted and I'm sure it would have been provided.

All of the staff were very helpful and went out of their way to assist me. However, Patricia and David, the owners of Burkleigh House, were particularly brilliant. They were so friendly and treated me like a friend in their house as opposed to the feeling you would get in a huge hotel chain. Any questions I had, or suggestions on what to visit during my stay, they were always close by to help me out. Genuinely lovely people who care about their beautiful house and gardens, and are determined to make you feel welcome during your stay.
I will certainly be returning to Burkleigh House, I just hope I can stay for longer next time!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happy_hollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burkleighhouse_10, Owner at Burkleigh House, responded to this review, December 4, 2010
It is certainly heart warming to read such a lovely review. This makes all the months of really hard work and worry seem insignificant. The most special part of owing a guest house is meeting all the really warm and wonderful people that come from all over the world and who all love this country in which we are so very fortunate to live. Thank you so much for this generous review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekurhuleni
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

Very convenient to all Johannesburg amanities, highways and the airport. Exceptionally stylish, well-appointed and comfortable. Grounds and gardens beautiful and very relaxing. Hosts were most accomodating and helpful offering good advice and recommended worthwhile tourist destinations. Excellent breakfast, really tasteful and filling. Room we stayed in was beautifully furnished, very comfortable bed, spacious bathroom and international television service. Highly recommended, we will stay here again when next in Johannesburg. Great value for money!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CliveM061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

My husband and I thouroughly enjoyed our short stay at Burkleigh House. The rooms are well furnised with elegant antiques yet very comfortable. The food is great and the hosts are warm and friendly too.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PenelT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

I loved it! Just what you want from a luxury guesthouse. Friendly service, great people running the show, very tasty home cooked fresh food. Beautiful cape dutch furniture, I really enjoyed spending time in the lounge next to the fire place, warm and cozy, playing many games of chess with an antique chess set. Coffee was great to! Rooms are spacious, very comfortable beds, extremely clean, Free Wi-Fi internet. All my colleagues have booked again for our next business trip. I recommend you do the same when visiting Joburg on business or pleasure, you won't be disappointed. Well done to your team, we were all impressed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Randburg hotels
2.4 mi away
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.6 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg
0.7 mi away
Apollo Conferencing Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg
0.8 mi away
Road Lodge Randburg
Road Lodge Randburg
#5 of 7 in Randburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra on Main
Sierra on Main
#7 of 7 in Randburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burkleigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burkleigh House

Property: Burkleigh House
Address: 327 Pine Avenue | Ferndale, Randburg 2194, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Randburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Randburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Burkleigh House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burkleigh House is a boutique guest house elegantly furnished with Victorian antiques and surrounded by an acre of gardens. Centrally situated for easy access to all Gauteng has to offer. Burkleigh House views service and personal attention as our best form of advertising. Enjoy alfresco breakfasts on the veranda or indulge with tea and cream scones or home made lemonade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Burkleigh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burkleigh House Randburg, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing