We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PATHETIC SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apollo Conferencing Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Randburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2014

worst service ever!!!! I reserved a room for 1 of our delegates going to JHB on a conference. submitted the request twice, called the reservation desk and booking was confirmed. when the invoice was not sent thru a day before the delegates trip I called only to be told that there is no reservation for the delegate and the MANAGER told me that she cannot build a room in an instant. not only was she rude and acted not professional at all she further went on to say that they do not need to contact us to tell us there was no room available! I mean come on What type of people do they have working there. they have no sense of customer service. I would NEVER recommend this hotel again. they should consider sending their managers for training on customer care!!!!

Room Tip: choose another place to stay!!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 123gina2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhur2014, Owner at Apollo Conferencing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2014

I did try to contact you previously but had no response to my email to you
I would like to get to the bottom of your poor experience and so would appreciate you contacting me
Thanks in anticipation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Apollo Conferencing Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 136 of 136 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2012

Echoing DougF111 this hotel is strictly for business and even more so aimed towards the conference crowd. My experience was for local business (non-conference) in the area over 4 nights accommodation in the same room (Executive Suite).

Pro's:
- Spacious areas and informal lounges with TV's which is great for informal catch-ups, ideal for conferences.
- Clean and tidy, room was made up perfectly each day.
- Spacious room with two queen beds.
- Pay TV with two large flat-screens included.
- Set out breakfast each day, menu was basic however we did have to order a few standard things that we made up for us on the spot such as bacon and eggs, etc.

Con's
- Internet connection only by WiFi which was dreadful in the rooms, I had partial intermittent connection in my room, my college had a connection only in a small area of his room away from everything.
- No fridge, room service or snacks, besides breakfast don't expect to eat anything here, although the standard tea and coffee services were provided in the room.
- Hard to get back into late - one night we arrived back at 10pm with the guards being reluctant to let us in, they did eventually although we had to wait for the internal doors to be opened after a little knocking on the window (good for security in J'Burg I guess).
- No visitor policy - the booklet made it clear that we were not to have visitors, we didn't need it this time but often business meetings are required away from the office (the informal catch-up areas would have been good for this).
- Not family orientated, strictly for business only, I would not consider this hotel if I was on holiday especially with a family.
- No dedicated desk for work, there was a desk with a chair that wouldn't really fit underneath it, also the power points were located 2-3 metres away from it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank f0cus78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Great location, fantastic for business and very well priced. If you want to stay central and cheap, this is the place. Rooms are ok. But very well kept.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samwisegamjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

The Hotel Apollo caters more to the business and conference crowd than to tourists or families. Rooms have few outlets and the night tables were attached to the walls, making it impossible to adjust or shift beds. Staff were courteous and pleasant. The restaurant provided excellent meals, but no room service, in fact, hotel management sent a letter to every room stating they were "shocked" to find guests were eating in the rooms, and that would no longer be allowed. There is one wi-fi spot, located next to reception, and it was free.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DougF111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled on business
Thank Winklsteiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Merckens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randburg
1.1 mi away
Road Lodge Randburg
Road Lodge Randburg
#5 of 7 in Randburg
39 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg
2.6 mi away
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sierra on Main
Sierra on Main
#7 of 7 in Randburg
57 reviews
2.3 mi away
Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg
4.2 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#23 of 66 in Johannesburg
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Conferencing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Conferencing Hotel

Address: 158 Bram Fischer Drive | Ferndale, Randburg 2194, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Randburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Randburg
Price Range: $51 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Conferencing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apollo Hotel in Randburg is easily your first choice when seeking "good value for money"accomodation on Sandton's doorstep. The Apollo effortlessly combines a state-of-the-art conferencing venue with luxury accommodation of timeless Greek design. It creates an experience that is both stylishly intimate and large enough to meet and surpass any guest requirements. We also offer free hi speed wifi as well as a free shuttle service to nearby Sandton and Hyde Park shopping centres (between 07.00 and 17.00) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apollo Conferencing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Conferencing Hotel Randburg, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing