We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And unforgettable experience 😃”
Review of Fusionista

Fusionista
Ranked #11 of 177 Restaurants in Randburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $185
Description: If you are looking for something very different but still very special Fusionista is for you! Our menu is a combination of Eastern Cuisine from various countries including Cambodia, Vietnam, Laos, Japan, China, Malaysia, Thailand, Singapore and the Philippines. Savour the flavours of the East served with a slight fusion twist whilst you chill out in an exotic ambiance. Perfectly blended flavours and natural ingredients combine subtly, creating dishes with unique taste sensations that linger on the palette. From delectable sushi to mouth-watering Asian steaks to our Vegetarian menu to our amazing array of starters, soups and salads we truly spoil you for choice. Try our 9-course Taste Bud Tour of the East for an unforgettable culinary experience. Round off your meal with one of our decadent desserts including unique offerings such as our 12 flavoured soccer ball sorbet: - And cap it all off with one of our awesome cocktails including the one of a kind Fusionista Flaming Ferrari.
Restaurant details
Description: If you are looking for something very different but still very special Fusionista is for you! Our menu is a combination of Eastern Cuisine from various countries including Cambodia, Vietnam, Laos, Japan, China, Malaysia, Thailand, Singapore and the Philippines. Savour the flavours of the East served with a slight fusion twist whilst you chill out in an exotic ambiance. Perfectly blended flavours and natural ingredients combine subtly, creating dishes with unique taste sensations that linger on the palette. From delectable sushi to mouth-watering Asian steaks to our Vegetarian menu to our amazing array of starters, soups and salads we truly spoil you for choice. Try our 9-course Taste Bud Tour of the East for an unforgettable culinary experience. Round off your meal with one of our decadent desserts including unique offerings such as our 12 flavoured soccer ball sorbet: - And cap it all off with one of our awesome cocktails including the one of a kind Fusionista Flaming Ferrari.
Reviewed August 12, 2016

We first had a couples massage. I had the authentic Thai massage and my partner had the Thai dumpling massage. Both were amazing. We then went to the restaurant, which is part of the premises. The restaurant has many unique and interesting sushi dishes , so I tried the sushi which surpassed my expectations. My partner tried one of the Filipino dishes which was great. We shared the soccerball sorbet for dessert with its 12 home-made flavours. What an incredible desert. This place is a must.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank carmensI2356QT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2016

We are so glad you were able to enjoy both our Spa/Beauty Salon and Restaurant treating yourself to a true Fusionista experience. We have worked hard to offer a great variety of interesting and unique dishes and we are pleased that you tried some of them. We hope to see you soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 46 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

We had a delicious meal there last night. They have a very wide ranging menu-from Japanese to Cambodian and lots in between. The salmon was grilled to perfection and we loved the Filipino and Thai curries. The Vietnamese spring rolls with peanut sauce were excellent. The service was very attentive. We'll be back.

Thank irvinsmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

Thank you Irvin. We are pleased that you and your dining companions enjoyed the meal. Looking forward to seeing you soon as we have many other interesting, unique and creative dishes to treat your taste buds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

The restaurant could well be the location of a David Lynch movie set, but nothing is twisted about that place. The menu covers a couple of countries in south east Asia and the chef cooks very well the dishes.
The staff is careful and the bill not too hefty.
I think you should go!

1  Thank Chnafou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2016

Thank you Chnafou. We aim to provide an Eastern Dining experience that doesn't break the bank. We have also given extra special attention to the decor to create a Asian themed chilled ambiance to enhance the overall experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

I was amazed by the huge variety of choice. Such interesting and unique dishes that I have not seen at any other restaurant in Johannesburg. I settled for the Tilapia with coconut sauce and it surpassed my expectations. My other dining companions had the caviar creations sushi platter and the eastern fusion stake which they were both highly impressed with. Great setting and value for money. This one is a must!

2  Thank HeatherLaing123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2016

Thank you so much Heather for for that review. We have many more interesting dishes to tantalize your taste buds for your next visit to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2016

Fusionista offers a diverse menu with something for everyone. Prawn soup is really tasty and Salmon Teriyaka is superb. The portions are generous. The manager, Mike is a tremendous host and adds to the dining experience. There are so many extra touches available - neck massages at the table, a liquid chef who makes incredible cocktails, dessert menu to die for and the best coffee in Joburg. I can definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2016

We appreciate your comments Kim. We try to create an all round dining experience with variety and uniqueness being 2 of our central themes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fusionista also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Fusionista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing