We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money!”
Review of Scrooges

Scrooges
Ranked #50 of 130 Restaurants in Randburg
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great value for money!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Not 5-star if that's what you are looking for, but certainly a damn fine meal at a great price. Good selection as well. Thoroughly enjoyed!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    19
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
randburg
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“scrooges”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

this is normal place but to little space to move. we was there one time for christmas lunch. may be over christmas to crowding but otherwise it can go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tripadRandburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great place to hang out with friends for drink”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The ambiance is great and the cost of the drinks are affordable. The food is good too. A nice place to hang out with friends/colleagues for a drink

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PrabhuSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Generous portions & good quality.”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had dinner here - staying in the Mercure Hotel close by.
We (3 pax) ordered starters (calamares) and for main course the Fillet Steak, Lamb Shank and Eisbein, salads on the side.
The calamares were fresh, tasteful and nicely cooked. All 3 meat dishes were superdelux and came in generous portions. Don't take a starter if you're not really hungry or if you're a small eater.
Good and swift service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dreadful food”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Don't order eisbein. I have never had one as uneatable in my whole life. They must have sprinkle a packet of salt on it, the taste was dreadful and it was so dry my knife would not go through it. The owner is a really nice guy and I didn't like complaining. Don't ask me about the rest of the menu as I never went back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank soniabw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scrooges also viewed

Randburg, Greater Johannesburg
Randburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Randburg, Greater Johannesburg
Randburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Scrooges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing