We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country garden”
Review of Melon Rouge

Melon Rouge
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Magaliesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Description: Country style eatery - light meals. Breakfast, light lunches ( Quiche, salad, pies, toasties, etc ) Good coffee! Antiques, Vintage clothing, Books and Art. Beautiful garden setting. Private and romantic nooks. Quiet and relaxing. We cater for small functions and weddings from 10 - 60 people. Popular for family reunions, hen parties and baby showers. We also have interesting options for children's parties.
Magaliesberg
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Country garden”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Visit over the week-end as they never have all menu items in the week. A very nice pretty venue with lots of character. The service needs some work.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SBWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    25
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

interesting place to see but the service whilst friendly was not very good, If you are looking for a quirky place to visit then this is it, but for quality food this is not the place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keren321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Bit Dissapointed”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Had great expectations but not a friendly face in the place. Everyone here is doing you a favour serving you a mediocre breakfast. Oops dont think I will be back. Sorry. Great idea but a bad delivery, drive past!!

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannelie H, Owner at Melon Rouge, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Hi Kevin
I am sorry about your experience @ MelonRouge in February. Our restaurant side of the business was rented out, unfortunately with great distress to our regular customers. Shortly after your visit we took it back - you are welcome to try us again - we serve light meals and good coffees with friendly service. We are open 7 days a week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Fairy Place”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have being to this place twice and it is perfect arty place surrounded like book story fairy-tail. I suggest it to families and kids !

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EA_Oussov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“something different”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was a breath of fresh air (literally). The eatery is outside among the trees and there are comfy stone benches with cushions to lounge on whilst munching on the tasty yummy food. The service was fabulous and the surroundings are magnificent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babybumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melon Rouge also viewed

Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Melon Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing