We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Thabametsi Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magaliesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thabametsi Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were just surprised that our beds were not made when we were out and that this was not included in our stay. It might be good to let customers know this when they check in. The stay was very nice..

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 78 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

I and my family recently had a great weekend at the farm. The accommodation was very comfortable and clean. The wood fire heaters in the lounge / kitchen kept us cosy in the evenings. The farm is highly suitable for children with the space, 2 playgrounds and a children's labyrinth. The owners went to a lot of trouble for the kids by providing free horse rides, donkey car and tractor hauled trailer rides and feeding of the farm animals.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The rooms were tidy and the bathrooms clean and modern. Lovely cozy, warm beds and an awesome and romantic atmosphere by the fireplaces. Very nice braai area. Relaxing "farm feeling". Felt close to nature and God. Excellent weekend break. Will definatley go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lynette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The accommodation is fully equipped and very comfortable, the farm is very peaceful with a lot to do for young and old. So much to do for the kids. The owners are very friendly and considerate will make sure your stay is a pleasant one, all the staff are very friendly, makes for a wonderful place to be.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank LucindaJGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Very sweet, rustic bungalow. The rooms are a bit disjointed but a lot of care has been put into the finishing touches. Lovely for children with animals to see and a tractor ride. Owners very friendly and go out of their way to assist.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Hosts Judy and Keith make you feel like a family member coming for a weekend visit. Staff are VERY helpful and cater to your every need. Great spot for kiddies with jungle gyms,fairy garden, farm animals, tractor rides, horse riding and donkey cart rides. A different activity every morning at no extra charge. Accom very adequate. Fire places and electric blankets in winter. Very worthwhile visiting.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mellylevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Excellent hosts and an amazing experience that I would gladly recommend to anyone. This was four days of relaxation and peace and quiet. I will visit Thabametsi Farm anytime again as there is time to relax!


  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Corne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magaliesburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
0.0 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thaba Manzi Ranch
Thaba Manzi Ranch
#15 of 29 in Magaliesburg
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Roan Country Lodge
Blue Roan Country Lodge
#1 of 29 in Magaliesburg
293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Intaba Thulile
Intaba Thulile
#4 of 29 in Magaliesburg
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thabametsi Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thabametsi Farm

Address: Farm RV08, Vlakfontein Road | Rustenburg, North West, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Magaliesburg
Price Range: $31 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thabametsi Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
May Thabametsi weave its magic on your soul so that your footsteps automatically lead you back. Tranquil self-catering getaway in the heart of scenic Magaliesburg nestled between two koppies overlooking the valley to the Witwatersrand Mountains. TGCSA 3 star. Beautiful sunsets & great hospitality. The diverse ecosystem encourages a wide range of bird life. Smaller animals like bush buck, scrub hares, mongoose & squirrels have made Thabametsi their home. IN-ROOM: Comfortably furnished in a rustic theme.Indoor fireplaces and heaters cater for cosy winter nights whilst summer evenings are braai-time in the lovely bomas under the stars .Fans, heaters, hot water bottles or electric blankets. SABC TV & DSTV in selected units.Fully equipped kitchens. ACTIVITIES: Join us for tractor and donkey cart rides. Solar heated swimming pool,DSTV,games room,bicycle track,obstacle course,play areas & trampoline. BRING WITH: own swimming towels,drinking water & kiddies bicycles. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing