We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr & Mrs Dhludhlu”
Review of Hornbill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hornbill Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Magaliesburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Hornbill is a fabulous gem deep in the heart of the Drakensburg mountains, nestled in a valley on the end of the R563 and the R24 turnoff. The hospitality, food, ambiance and well maintained rooms attest to the lodge's 4* rating.
We will surely be back for more.
A big thank you to Caroline and Cobie jnr for service excellence.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobie_els, Owner at Hornbill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

We are Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hornbill Lodge
We hope to see you again this summer when everything is Greener and at its most Beautiful

Regards Cobie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 116 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a awesome 3 days at hornbill lodge. The staff was warm and friendly, the weather was perfect. The premises are stunning, we were so lucky to share the opening of their new water feature. It is a moment we will always remember. We loved the warm restaurant, food and fireplace. Stella the donkey has an awesome personality, and gave us some laughs. We will definitely come back and visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chantal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My experience over the weekend at this venue was average. I agree that it is currently not in the 4* category. The rooms are dated but could quickly be updated by simply hanging lighter curtains instead of the ones that are hanging now which brings the rooms down and making it look dark and dingy. On the plus side, I noticed that they are revamping the swimming pool which will look picture perfect upon completion. The service we received was excellent and they did everything in their power to make our stay comfortable and relaxing - the big fireplace in the lounge is a great asset and we enjoyed a nice bottle of wine in front of it. I think with a little bit of love and attention this could really be a stunning venue. I will wait until summer time when everything is green and lush and the renovations done before I visit this venue again - I think they deserve a second chance.

Room Tip: This is a place for animal lovers (specifically dogs) and I will most certainly not recommend it if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MariaW007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This lodge is rated as a 4 star establishment but is definitely not up at that level now. I would classify as closer to a 2 star. Rooms very dated with dusty artificial flowers and old fashioned home made furnishings. Food in restaurant OK although with very limited menu. Cannot really enjoy lounge and bar facilities due to any dogs occupying their places on lounge suite. Friendly welcoming staff
This could be a really nice venue but definitely needs some money and TLC first

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The rooms are big but they were kitted out in the 1980's. We had a CitySlicker voucher but ended up leaving and going to a hotel in the town. 4 star NOT! This was a very disappointing venu and people need to be warned. There is also a 3 legged dog running around that is creepy.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WarrenTeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

i bought a groupon voucher and surprised my husband with a weekend away for his birthday. Cobie was very accommodating with the birthday surprise plans - champagne breakfast in bed, they even sang "Happy Birthday!" when they walked into the room. They made my husband's favourite dessert and had a small cake for him. the room was very spacious. there was a dirty towel and the lady of the lodge took a bit of getting used to, her answers to seemingly innocent questions were a bit defensive. The lodge offers a picnic in secluded areas near the river. We were wathced from above as I think the spot we had was a viewing point for the public. Not quite as private as we had hoped. The picnic food was not very nice. I'm not sure of the 4-star rating, but a nice enough weekend away.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nev b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My family and I recently spent a weekend at Hornbill. We came away with mixed feelings regarding our stay. The positives were friendly staff, beautiful surroundings, good breakfast, large room. Major negative was cleanliness of linen and towels. The bed and pillows had a body odour smell and the towels were not clean and smelled of smoke. The lodge also has dogs that often run into the restaurant/bar area and jump onto couches and cushions - not very hygienic. Furnishing are old and scruffy. Bar is poorly stocked. The place is definitely not 4 stars.....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelvin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magaliesburg hotels
3.1 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
62 reviews
1.2 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
0.2 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
553 reviews
9.7 mi away
Thaba Manzi Ranch
Thaba Manzi Ranch
#16 of 31 in Magaliesburg
41 reviews
233.8 mi away
Ibis River Retreat
Ibis River Retreat
#13 of 31 in Magaliesburg
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hornbill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hornbill Lodge

Address: Cnr R24 And R563, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Magaliesburg
Price Range: $72 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hornbill Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hornbill lodge and Legends Restaurant is an owner / manager / chef concept which gaurantees you every requirement of the highest standard pertaining to a Four - Star Establishment . Good Food and Spacious Luxurious accommodation will make you feel at home whether you are having a Family Vacation , Business trip , Small Conference , Teambuilding event or just visiting our Spacious riverine and Mountain property for the day.All Rooms have full Temperature Control ; our Lodge and Restaurant both have cozy Fireplaces to make your stay a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hornbill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing