We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spa stay but skip the Rambling Vine Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Drove out of Johannesburg for a spa weekend getaway and spent one night at Mount Grace in Dec 2010. This was my third trip to their spa and over the years it has stayed a wonderful, relaxing environment barely 1 hr out of town. You can easily just have a few treatments and spend the rest of the day in the hydro garden, great spa bistro or just relaxing on the loungers and drive back to Joburg in the afternoon. The spa offers a good choice of treatments, wonderful therapists and a great selection of beauty products available for purchase. The only two areas requiring improvement in my opinion are: one of the bath robe’s lining was quite badly torn and prior client confirmation that they are comfortable with a male therapist.

The hotel has beautiful gardens and our room was a short walk away from reception. The room was a bit on the small size but otherwise great: very comfortable bed, your own coffee machine, large LCD TV, fantastic water pressure. The main hotel area is great to relax in with a cappuccino and pass the afternoon paging through some of the books scattered around the hotel’s sitting areas. The afternoon snacks we ordered on the veranda were also impeccably cooked.

The part that let the overall stay down was the included dinner at their fine dining restaurant. The overall vibe was pretentious and a bit on the creepy side. The service was very laid back and the actual food was really disappointing except for one of the desserts. Even overlooking the limited menu selection, the tiny portion sizes or the pricing, the food served was simply not designed or cooked up to standard. In retrospect, I think we would have been happier with dinner at their Twist restaurant which has much more of a friendly, welcoming and relaxing feel.

Overall a wonderful spa stay but skip the Rambling Vine Restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CristinaGabriela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 691 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2010

We did a two weeks trip to Southern part of Africa with the whole family. First a couple of days in JoBurg to show the children (15 and 18) the Apartheid Museum and visit some friends and then 10 days in Namibia. The stay at the Mount Grace was just magnificent. I have been in the hotel a few times, but never with the family. It now proved to be as excellent for this purpose as for business. Great staff, excellent food and outstanding relaxation facilities. The whole family was just a very happy one. Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PKMSteinhausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2010

Dear Guest,

Greetings from all of us at the Mount Grace Country House and Spa!

Thank you for your kind feedback! We are thrilled to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay, while visiting us during your trip through Southern Africa.

We hope you have enjoyed your vacation and will soon return to the Mount Grace, either for business or leisure.

Yours sincerely,


Leon Meyer - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

To describe this debacle of an overnight stay, I would be generous to call it shocking. From check-in to check-out, the service was appalling. The attitude of the staff was shocking, I felt like I needed a holiday when I departed.

As a group of 14, we all had a terrible experience. From the showers in the rooms not draining, to faulty shower heads, to broken coffee machines, the list goes on. The so-called "recently renovated rooms" were disappointingly dreary and tattered. When I called reception to ask them to send someone with a mop because the in-bath shower attachment was broken and caused water to spray into the bathroom, I was met with belligerence. When the girls went to the spa, 8 out of the 10 treatments were not what they were supposed to be, including broken hot-stone heaters, people being left lying on massage beds for 15 minutes without explanation, a R280 pedicure that was over in 20 minutes without even a foot massage and unfriendly staff.

The buffet dinner at the Twist restaurant was mediocre at best, consisting of limp stir-fry, sad looking watery dishes and waiters so eager to clear the table they removed half-filled glasses and half-full plates. After diner we went to the bar where a shot of Amarula which cost R56 was served in a chipped glass,

There are no staff around the pool area so getting a drink was a marathon back and forth, and when there were staff, they were irritated and rude.

The only pleasant face was that of the golf cart driver that took us from the hotel to the spa. The only pleasant part of the trip was knowing we only had to endure one night at this over-priced, pathetic excuse for a luxury getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FussyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2010

Dear Guest,

I refer to your review on TripAdvisor of November 6, 2010.

Thank you for taking the time and effort to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at the Mount Grace Country House and Spa. I was most concerned to learn of the events during your recent stay at our hotel.

Guest feedback forms a vital part of our business and the input we receive from our guests is imperative for us to ensure that your expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know whether you leave our establishment completely satisfied, but more importantly, leave disappointed and dissatisfied!

May I take this opportunity to assure you that the circumstances of your complaint will be most carefully investigated and we will hopefully be able to contact you to inform you of actions taken to avoid these embarrasing service lapses in future.

Thank you for taking the time to contact us, and for bringing this matter to our attention.

Yours sincerely,



Leon Meyer - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We have stayed at Mount Grace during the FIFA World Cup in South Africa. We had more than 1.500 of our top customers visiting the Hotel over the World Cup period and everyone was delighted of the 5* service and facilities of the Hotel. Food is superb. The rooms are spacious with a modern touch. The view that you have every morning waking up is splendid. It is so peaceful, that just by arriving everybody slows already down and gets relaxed.
Whenever you look for a top treatment for yourself, customers or your team I can only highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGliemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

This is the first review I've written for a hotel, and I'm doing so because I think people should be very cautious before spending R3000 per night here.

My partner and I decided to go to the Mount Grace for our anniversary. Although the hotel is in an OK location, it's not in the wilderness, you can hear the highway, and the view from the dining room looks out onto the informal settlement just across the valley.

The main hotel buildings are beautiful, and the rooms are large, and nicely decorated. However, that's where the positives end ... because there is clearly no concept of service here at all, despite the army of staff, most of whom seem to be wandering around aimlessly.

Drinks at the pool took more than half an hour from ordering, then another HOUR to bring the bill - left sitting in the dark waiting for our waiter, being eaten by the mosquitoes.

We got back to the room, to find it being redone unnecessarily by housekeeping, who hung around for ages (7-730) when you would not expect to have someone in your room.

We'd booked for dinner at the Rambling Vine restaurant when making the reservation, as we were only there for one night. When we went to the restaurant they'd lost our booking, and were unapologetic ... putting us in the bar for an hour while they got a table together, and then just not delivering the drinks that we'd ordered while waiting (they never arrived)

The wine list was way out of whack price-wise, and two of the wines we ordered were out of stock. The food was pretty ordinary, particularly for the price, and someone kept turning on the spotlights in the dining room, so you'd go from darkness to blazing light and back again (this happened at least three times, and made us feel like we'd got to the end of a school disco)

Next morning someone turned up to clatter through the minbar in advance of our checkout, but at about 8AM... not ideal on your anniversary! I also don't see why this is necessary; surely they can just put any extras on your card, rather than disturbing you at this time on a Saturday morning.

We went to the spa, which was nicely laid out. Again, they'd got the reservation name wrong but sorted it out finally. We had a double body massage, my masseuse kept leaving the room, which I didn't understand until the end ... I got off the bed to find the floor was covered in blood with bits of bloody cotton wool lying next to my shoes - obviously she had an open injury - this is not appropriate for a tactile treatment.

Anyway - very overpriced (R5000 for 1 night, dinner and massage) , rubbish service, and even the decent features, food and rooms, were ordinary. NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TJT_LN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Nice and friendly staff.

Beautiful and clean facility

Very good service

High quality in the restaurant and spa area.

Thanks for the great time

Frank Busch

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FBU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2010

Dear Guest,

Just a short note of thanks for your kind words!

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience with us at the Mount Grace Country House and Spa.

I will ensure your comments will be shared with the rest of the team and we look forward welcoming you back in Magaliesburg soon!

At your service,


Leon Meyer - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

My husband and i sent 3 wonderful night at the mount grace. First of all the staff are absolutely brilliant and couldn't be more accomodating. They went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible.The rooms are very large, clean and very well equipped. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShruPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2010

Dear [Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at the Mount Grace Country House and Spa. It’s very much appreciated!

Guest’s perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying at our hotel is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I can therefore assure you that your kind comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our guest service standards and facilities offered.

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Yours sincerely,

Leon Meyer - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
1.3 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
326 reviews
2.1 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
61 reviews
2.0 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
277 reviews
7.0 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
197 reviews
14.4 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Address: Old Rustenburg Road | Private bag 5004, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Price Range: $123 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one hour's drive from Johannesburg or Pretoria, the exclusive famed African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa is a timeless gem where luxury and peace are in abundance. Oozing old world charm but boasting modern opulence, our hotel in Magaliesburg, South Africa is the perfect retreat for team building, conferences and relaxed weekend getaways away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The picturesque country house started life as a private residence and farmhouse and has hosted a number of dignitaries and A-list visitors over the years. Located on a hillside with unspoilt views of the valley and boasting some ten acres of manicured gardens as well as pristine bushveld, the sprawling property is a balm for the city weary soul. Take a leisurely drive along country roads or land in a helicopter. While at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, indulge in good food, fine wines and relaxing spa treatments in the award winning Mount Grace Spa. Our TEAM prides itself on creating a home away from home for all our GUESTS, where time stands still, allowing you to enjoy that rare opportunity of complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Grace Country House Hotel Magaliesburg
Mount Grace Country House And Spa
Mount Grace Country Hotel
Mount Grace Country Magaliesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing