We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 star rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“2 star rooms”
Reviewed September 3, 2007

This hotel used to have a great reputation, BUT... the room did not have heating that was adequate, the plumbing did not work (basin would not drain). Ants were crawling all over the bed, and the remote control didn't work. After reporting everything at reception in the morning, and enjoying a WONDERFUL relaxing day at the spa, we got back to the room and nothing had been fixed. Oh yes, the water in the basin had been drained. The staff at reception weren't very helpful and merely said that as the hotel was fully booked and a number of "do not move" guests were still to arrive, they were not able to move us.

An hour later, after being exposed to one of the managers swearing at the staff, and being made to feel totally inadequate, we were moved to a slightly better repaired room, only to be woken up at 2am by a bunch of drunkards right outside the room shouting at each other. As the roof is made of thatch, it felt as if they were in the room.

We cut our stay short, and left the next morning.

It's a pity that a place with such a great spa, great grounds, and a potentially peaceful atmosphere is spoilt by the many corporate noisy groups who do not care about anything other than blowing the company's booze budget.

  • Liked — Spa and grounds
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Sssib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    173
    87
    52
    46
See reviews for
88
378
10
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joburg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

We have just returned from one night away at Mount Grace. We chose Mount Grace because of previous past experience -- good food and good hospitality. But sadly we were disappointed this time around.
Lunchtime at the Stoep restaurant: They didn't seem to have a table for us even though I had booked for lunch a fortnight ago, and we had to wonder around the restaurant after the waiter. He eventually removed someone's name that was on one of the tables and seated as there -- I presume that person then lost their table. Food average and expensive, AND they got the bill wrong twice.
Dinner at Copperfield: Again expensive for what it was, also some dishes were cold (eg soup and Malva pudding). Desserts were completely underwheming.
When it came to checking out at 11, we had to wait and wait and wait, because of the 6 couples, three of us had further bill queries. Not a good sign of a supposedly upmarket hotel.

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randburgmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2007

This is a wonderful place to go to relax. The grounds are beautiful, the pools are sparkling, and the weather when we were there was perfect for sitting outdoors.

The staff is very friendly, but as with most places in South Africa, don't expect the same level of service as for example the USA. But for me the slowness just adds to the relaxing experience.

The food is mostly buffet style and mostly very good, but not five-star.

The spa is beautiful although the massages were not great.

Our room was very clean and beautifully decorated, but there were some problems, for example the shower door didn't close properly.

Mount Grace is on the expensive side for South Africa, but for us it is reasonable for what you get, being from the USA.

  • Liked — The grounds
  • Disliked — Slow service
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AfricanMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2006

Nice hotel with comfortable rooms. Tea and coffee is provided all day at the hotel, beautiful gardens to sit and relax in. Nice staff.

We were annoyed at being woken up at 10pm by room service coming to turn down the beds when we were already in them!

Nice food, we had specifially booked the a la carte restaurant for the Saturday night and were then told on arrival that we had to go Friday night. In the end we ate both nights in the main restaurant where the food was good but not outstanding. The hotel is well known for its Sunday lunch which is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Home27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire/south Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2004

When you consider the range and quality of accomodation in South Africa, The Mount Grace is simply not good value for money.Staff who do not understand the basics of customer care, restaurants where the food is average in a country that prides itself in its culinary quality and diversity.This hotel relies on the well deserved reputation of its sister hotels, the Rosebank especially, maybe it should invest it's over inflated tariff into training and development of its own brand.

My advice, look elsewhere

  • Stayed September 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dooseydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2004

Imagine the scenario - family of five (including three teenagers) arrive from London following the overnight flight to Jo'Burg. Really, really tired!! And then we are greeted by a driver from the Mount Grace who takes us on the hour long drive up to the Magaliesburg and the gem that is this hotel.

Where to start? The rooms are ace, the restaurant is superb but the buffet is (in the opinion of our growing 16 year old lad) better! They actually have a guided tour of the buffet for every new starter!! Free tea and cakes in the afternoon, the heated outdoor jacuzzi, the drawing room and study with the huge log fires, iced tea by the pool, friendly helpful courteous staff, meatballs on the bar, and - last but not least - toasted sandwiches served from under silver domes by no less than five waiters at once!!

Strongly recommend this as a 'wind-down' spot before going on to the rest of the country. If you feel a bit richer go to the Grace in Rosebank too - stunning~!!

Helpful?
3 Thank The_Pentagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
2.1 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.3 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.6 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
19.2 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
7.0 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Property: African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Address: Old Rustenburg Rd | Private bag 5004, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one hour's drive from Johannesburg or Pretoria, the exclusive famed African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa is a timeless gem where luxury and peace are in abundance. Oozing old world charm but boasting modern opulence, Mount Grace Country House & Spa is the perfect retreat for team building, conferences and relaxed weekend getaways away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The picturesque country house started life as a private residence and farmhouse and has hosted a number of dignitaries and A-list visitors over the years. Located on a hillside with unspoilt views of the valley and boasting some ten acres of manicured gardens as well as pristine bushveld, the sprawling property is a balm for the city weary soul. Take a leisurely drive along country roads or land in a helicopter. While at the Mount Grace indulge in good food, fine wines and relaxing spa treatments in the award winning Mount Grace Spa. The African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa TEAM prides itself on creating a home away from home for all our GUESTS, where time stands still, allowing you to enjoy that rare opportunity of complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Grace Country House Hotel Magaliesburg
Mount Grace Country House And Spa
Mount Grace Country Hotel
Mount Grace Country Magaliesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing