We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant country get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Elegant country get-away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had a great weekend here recently: set at the foot of a beautiful part of the Magaliesburg, it has scenic gardens, beautiful interiors and very good service. Rooms are well-equipped (incl. Nespresso machines) with great linen (but towels are getting a little threadbare). The spa is back on form, it's a brilliant escape space (although the massage I had was a little mediocre (try go earlier in the day when the therapists are less exhausted, they are extremely busy on weekends)). The buffet at 'Twist' is good, as are the breakfasts, but the fine dining at 'Rambling Vine' is mediocre. Some of the rooms are a little old and small (though still elegant), so try and get an upgrade if you can. Although it's an African Pride property, they are not keen on honouring some of the Prokard (loyalty programme) benefits.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are older and a bit cramped (shower only, no bath), so try and get an upgrade if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasLev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    168
    85
    50
    46
See reviews for
84
371
9
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I checked in on the 27th April for what I thought was a bday surprise stay. The staff, beautiful facilities,service and lovely cuisine made the stay truly worthy of the wonderful reputation the establishment has. Little did I know that the amazing team were scheming with my fiancé to ensure every detail of our engagement was handled properly and secretly :) the team also gave me a birthday card signed by each one which I thought was a lovely gesture with a personal touch, together with a complimentary bottle of wine. Overall our engagement was utterly memorable and I recommend Mount Grace to anyone who wants a touch of luxury, beauty and wonderful service in a getaway. Thank you again to the team, we will certainly see you again as you were a part of an extremely special milestone :) much love - Donna and Tumi

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Donna J

The TEAM were so excited to be a part of the big surprise. We are also thrilled to hear that it turned out to be perfect and that we are part of an extremely special milestone.

A big congratulations from all of us and we hope to welcome you for your honeymoon and many anniversaries to come.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

My partner and I have visited Mount Grace on numerous occasions now and we've loved every time. We find it very romantic and spent one of our anniversary's there as well as this past valentines day. The hotel added so many extras which made our stay even more memorable. The spa is stunning and the restaurant serves the most wonderful food.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms. The rooms on the far side of the swimming pool by the main entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannalieJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear HannalieJacobs

It is so exciting to read such wonderful comments from one of our regular GUESTS.

I am glad that we were able to once again make your romantic getaway a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another experience with wonderful food and a relaxing time at our stunning spa.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

I have just spent a weekend of perfect relaxation at the Mount Grace. Besides the quality of the environment, I think the high service ethic of the staff makes this hotel one to visit again. Simply outstanding service. Only are of improvement is to ensure consistency at peak times (lunch) in the restaurant and pool areas. I just found the staff battled with increased numbers especially with visitors for Sunday lunch. As they say, no one is perfect but the staff here were as near to perfection as one would wish for.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Khwezi1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Khwezi 1306

What a great review!

I am delighted to hear that it was a weekend of perfect relaxation at our fine establishment. We pride ourselves with delivering excellent and outstanding service and I am pleased to hear that our TEAM offered you just that.

I have addressed your comment regarding consistent service during peak lunch hours with our Food and Beverage Manager and he has put measures into place to ensure that our GUESTS are not inconvenienced in any way during busy periods.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I booked a night at the Mount Grace for my husband and myself so that he could wake up somewhere special on the morning of his birthday. We were so unbelievably spoiled, from a birthday card and a bottle of wine in the room after we checked in to returning to the room after dinner to find that our room had been made up with rose petals, fresh towels folded into swans and chocolates on our pillows - what a treat!
We had dinner at the Rambling Vine restaurant which was SUPERB. The food is exquisitely presented and the portions are perfect - you are able to enjoy a starter, main course and a dessert (IF you go on an empty stomach!). The food has been prepared with perfectly complimentary flavours and the only "complaint" I have is that it is so hard to choose :) I could have tried EVERYTHING.
Thanks for one of the best overnight stays we have had - we definitely want to come back for a longer stay!

Room Tip: The luxury suite is AWESOME. Facing the beautiful mountains with a view of perfect African bushveld...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Angela B

Thank you for the special review.

This means so much to us as we constantly strive to exceed our GUESTS expectations. I have shared your comments with the TEAM and we all look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi

GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

I am deeply disappointed with this establishment. I was staying over this past weekend (11 to 13 April) and I forgot my watch and ring in the room. After following up several times with the hotel staff, I just got a call to tell me that they can't find my items. I guess the 5 star rates don't buy honesty.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kabelom135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear KabeloM 135


Thank you for your review.

Please can you kindly contact me on the details that I have sent through to discuss this further as I have been unable to reach you.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

The service is very good, warm welcome by employees full of smiles. They even remembered to put a birthday card in the bedroom, thank you team you have made my day. We will definitely come back for more

Room Tip: Superior is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Pinkie S

I am so glad that our TEAM made your birthday a special and memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back for more.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi

GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
2.1 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.3 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.6 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
19.2 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
7.0 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Property: African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Address: Old Rustenburg Rd | Private bag 5004, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one hour's drive from Johannesburg or Pretoria, the exclusive famed African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa is a timeless gem where luxury and peace are in abundance. Oozing old world charm but boasting modern opulence, Mount Grace Country House & Spa is the perfect retreat for team building, conferences and relaxed weekend getaways away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The picturesque country house started life as a private residence and farmhouse and has hosted a number of dignitaries and A-list visitors over the years. Located on a hillside with unspoilt views of the valley and boasting some ten acres of manicured gardens as well as pristine bushveld, the sprawling property is a balm for the city weary soul. Take a leisurely drive along country roads or land in a helicopter. While at the Mount Grace indulge in good food, fine wines and relaxing spa treatments in the award winning Mount Grace Spa. The African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa TEAM prides itself on creating a home away from home for all our GUESTS, where time stands still, allowing you to enjoy that rare opportunity of complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Grace Country House Hotel Magaliesburg
Mount Grace Country House And Spa
Mount Grace Country Hotel
Mount Grace Country Magaliesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing