We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Married @ Mount Grace"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We eloped and were married at Mount Grace...our Marriage Officer met us in our room and did the nuptials with 2 hotel staff as witnesses...it was so clean cut and stress free...after the service we booked ourselves into The Spa for a couples treatment...The Hotel met all ours needs with super friendly efficiency and The Spa was an absolute treat...The restaurant was fine dining at its finest... For us everything was just perfect and want to go back soon for an extended period.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be secluded and private...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McGuigan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear McGuigan61

Awesome to hear that we met all your needs and made your wedding day a memorable one.I have shared your wonderful comments with the TEAM and we certainly cannot wait to have you back on an extended stay.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi
GUEST Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
There are newer reviews for African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 682 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

Lovely place away from the hustle and bustle of JHB city life. Easy drive for a weekend away. Food and service are good. If you go - don't miss out on a treatment at the spa and the heated floating chamber is a must!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear Sandra H

Thank you for your review.

We cannot wait to have you back for another chilled stay.

Yours In Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi
GUEST Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We spent a 3 night weekend with our children which I am glad are now accommodated at Mt. Grace. My sole aim was to relax, which I was able to do. My husband had a conference on the Saturday which he said was good. The new rooms are lovely. However, we weren't awaken to birds chirping but rather cleaning staff shouting between units. The older rooms are in need of new windows and doors that allow light in. Protea Hotels just took over in December so there are a few things that need to be addressed such as the seating in the dining room and service. The buffet needs a few extras such as melba toast for the pates, desserts that are not all some form of cake, and healthy plain foods for the children. Exciting to know Steffano, the chef who was at Mt. Grace 20 years ago is back. The spa is in the most beautiful setting and spending time in the flotation pool or by the stream is great to unwind. My pedicure and reflexology were good but the facial was nothing special. My husband had to wait 45 minutes for his massage with no compensation. With strong hands on management & leadership, Mt. Grace could be a place we would return to often. Please also look at more children's entertainment during half term, long weekends and school holidays.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InspiredParenting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear InspiredParenting

Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to provide us with your detailed feedback.

Having recently joined Protea hotels, we are excited about the new and improved changes, staff development & training as well as the implementation of our entertaining children's programme.

We trust that you will enjoy experiencing these new enhancements upon your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi
GUEST Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is a lovely retreat. Country feel is very nice. We did go a few years back but now it has
Been uplifted to a better standard. Now the Marriott group have taken over Protea and the standards are going up even more. We had a lovely stay. Rooms have improved a lot. Service good and staff very friendly. Very quite and relaxing. Food was also very good. Breakfast waffles
Must be the best I have had since a child. Thick and light but also crunchy. I would go back again.

Room Tip: We had a luxury room. U could also take a villa with a private pool. Otherwise very good. Each roo...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 789Bronwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear 789Bronwyn

It is lovely to read about the experience you had with us on your return stay.

We thrive on delivering excellent service to our GUESTS and I am glad to hear that our TEAM were friendly and that service was good.

Indeed the waffles are one of our many favourite offers at our breakfast buffet so do make sure that you return for another lovely retreat and of course one of those thick, light and crunchy waffles!

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi

GUEST Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at Mount Grace this weekend for our anniversary. We had the most amazing weekend. The staff were all very helpful, the service was great. We ordered room service twice and the food came fast and was very good. The Hotel was peaceful and well managed. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear CarolynP

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review. Your kind words are much appreciated and have been shared with the TEAM.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi

GUEST Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We were at this hotel for a business conference. This hotel does well with conferences. The venue was nice and big with all the mod cons of a good conference facility and the food was good. We were given quite a braai by the hotel on the first night and the food was very very good indeed. However the rooms in my view did not live up to the five star standard, at least not the room I was in. My room was right in front of the restaurant, and from a convenience perspective, this is good, as I learned that other rooms were quite a good walk from the main section of the hotel. Some were so far away in fact that one needed a golf cart to pick you up. So from a convenience point of view I was grateful. However my room was small, and had outdated furniture in it. The bathroom needed upgrading although neat and clean. But if you are not part of a conference group, do not get the room close to the restaurant, as it's noisy from the conference people having their after dinner drinks and socializing. And if the conference organizes entertainment( as ours did the first night), you will get little sleep. So get the rooms far away of you learn that the hotel is don't a large conference. I must add that this hotel does a lot of conferences, so find out if conferences are happening and chose rooms accordingly. On the plus side there us a magnificent spa, do yes it. The staff are very knowledgable and friendly

Room Tip: If you are not part of a conference group, ask the hotel if there are any conferences going on at th...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quartershark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear QuaterShark

Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay with us.

I am glad to hear that you had a great conference and enjoyed the good food that we serve at our establishment.

We take into consideration the events that are taking place at the hotel and also advise our leisure GUESTS prior to arrival. We also strive to accommodate our leisure GUESTS with rooms allocated furthest from any conference activities.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi

GUEST Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Mount Grace is a definite contender in the world class category - Hospitality at its best!!

From check-in until departure we experienced unbelievable friendliness and service....nothing was too much effort for the staff. Every staff member we encountered had a beaming smile and a warm greeting.

Our room was beyond expectation and scores 10/10. Thank you to the staff who so graciously arranged a change in accommodation.......it was unexpected and valued.

Twist restaurant is superb - accolades to the chefs. The daily variety of buffet, choice and freshness of food is challenging for those watching their weight.

A special thank-you to Pam.

Mount Grace is the ideal get-away for fine food, beautiful surroundings and renewing the soul.

We will DEFINITELY be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collette6121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Collette6121

It is truly humbling to read such great feedback and certainly encouraging to know that you have experienced the world class service that we pride ourselves in offering to our GUESTS.

I have shared your wonderful comments with the rest of the TEAM and we all cannot wait to renew your soul once more.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
1.3 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
317 reviews
2.1 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
60 reviews
2.0 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
274 reviews
7.0 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
194 reviews
14.4 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Address: Old Rustenburg Road | Private bag 5004, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Price Range: $126 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one hour's drive from Johannesburg or Pretoria, the exclusive famed African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa is a timeless gem where luxury and peace are in abundance. Oozing old world charm but boasting modern opulence, our hotel in Magaliesburg, South Africa is the perfect retreat for team building, conferences and relaxed weekend getaways away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The picturesque country house started life as a private residence and farmhouse and has hosted a number of dignitaries and A-list visitors over the years. Located on a hillside with unspoilt views of the valley and boasting some ten acres of manicured gardens as well as pristine bushveld, the sprawling property is a balm for the city weary soul. Take a leisurely drive along country roads or land in a helicopter. While at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, indulge in good food, fine wines and relaxing spa treatments in the award winning Mount Grace Spa. Our TEAM prides itself on creating a home away from home for all our GUESTS, where time stands still, allowing you to enjoy that rare opportunity of complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Grace Country House Hotel Magaliesburg
Mount Grace Country House And Spa
Mount Grace Country Hotel
Mount Grace Country Magaliesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing