We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Grand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Upon arrival we were welcomed by the front office staff like family arriving for a weekend stay. They were friendly, professional and most accommodating. Little buggies drive you around the estate and deliver you to your front door. The rooms are beautiful, large, well designed and the bathroom of world class standards. Lots of comforts like under floor heating, huge fluffy gowns and slippers and aaaaaaaaaah ... A Nespresso machine. We made use of the spa and what bliss it was. On arrival you help yourself to beverages and fruit and then the ladies pamper you into a comatic state. The food in the restaurants was superb. The fine dining was great but somewhat over priced. The gardens are incredible and you can peacefully meander through them. The newly refurbished rooms are definitely top standard. I will go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Check that the jacuzzi in your appointed room is working before accepting the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear "Debbie W",

Allround "beautiful and grand" feedback on your stay with us. We are thrilled to hear we have been able to impress you with the hospitality on offer at the Mount Grace Country House and Spa.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 697 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

Upon check-in we were greeted by the HR manager who welcomed us and also wished me a happy birthday – all the staff knew it was my birthday, which made it extra special.

We were taken to our Luxury Villa (a new unit), with the fireplace already warming up the three roomed space.

The Villa consists of a lounge area, bedroom and bathroom. Flat screen televisions are fitted to both the lounge and bedroom respectively. Out on the deck is a heated pool and sun loungers to soak up the winter sun, being mid-winter in June.

The bathroom floor is heated - another bonus for cold South African winters - and is outfitted with a generous eggshell bath. The shower has two doors that opens up onto a private garden, but this we will only try in summer.

But the absolute highlight of our stay was dinner at The Rambling Vine restaurant! Our private table was set up in the wine cellar and then we were treated to gastronomic cuisine from the hands of Vasti (the head chef). I can recommend the Springbok Loin as a main and the absolutely out-of-this world Cardamom dessert. Palate cleansers are served between courses.

It was also great to meet Vasti after dinner and then I was also surprised with a decadent cupcake for my birthday.

We will certainly be back (in the Villas) in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a Luxury Villa and particularly unit number 217 or 219.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueSkySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear "BlueSkySA",

Thank you for the great recommendations! Once again, happy birthday from all of us at the Mount Grace Country House and Spa. Do make sure you visit us again to celebrate many more birthdays with us in future!

Warm regards from the entire team!

Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights as a Christmas treat from our daughter at the end of December before flying back to England. We had a large room in wooded surroundings and while initially we thought it was a bit dark we soon appreciated the tranquillity of being in the middle of the woods.

The food was good with plenty of variety although in one or two instances the waiter service was rather slow. This was explained to us as a staff shortage due to some members celebrating too well over Christmas!! We did not mind too much as we were there to relax. The location was beautiful with extensive paths - if you felt a bit tired there was always a buggy service to take you to your door.

All in all it made a very nice end to our stay in South Africa.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ge0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear "Ge0N",

Just a short note to thank you for your kind recommendations of our beautiful country house. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the surroundings and the tranquility. Do make sure you come back to South Africa soon and unwind for a few more days at the Mount Grace Country House and Spa.

Our apologies for the occasional delay in service from our waitering team. In recent months further skills and service programs have been rolled out in order to further fine tune our guest experience. And I can assure you that we will continue to focus on this type of team development on an ongoing basis.

Warm regards,


Bosele Mogamisi - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Sent parents for the night as a gift. This is the feedback I got. " Really enjoyed the food and service yet found the hotel and premises very dated". Was told that it needs a total refurbishment. I asked if they would return and the answer was No.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear 'Daren P",

Thank you for taking the time to share your parents experience of their stay with us on TripAdvisor.

Although we are very happy to hear that they have enjoyed the service received by our dedicated team as well as the sumptuous food offering at our Country House, we are somewhat surprised to hear that they perceived our hotel as "dated". The hotel has been extensively refurbished some years ago and we do not often receive feedback from our guests on this specific topic.

We would love to get a bit more insight into their perception of our property design, so please be so kind to ask them to send us some more comments on our facilities via feedback@mountgrace.co.za. We would very much appreciate their input.

Yours sincerely,


Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

MG is a great getaway for a complete Spa experience. More my wife's thing but I could get use to this! Location is good, Staff is highly attentive, spa is worth the investment and the food did not disappoint. If your a local, this is a must for a weekend away sans kids. Enjoy! And thanks to everyone at MG!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear 'aarongot',

Thank you for the brilliant comments on your recent stay with us and for recommending us to the TripAdvisor community. We are very happy to hear that we have been able to convince both you and your wife of the genuine hospitality on offer at the Mount Grace Country House and Spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for a weekend of pampering and relaxation.

Yours sincerely,

Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Having given birth to twin boys exactly three months ago Mohamed and I both decided it was time for a deserved break away. Mount Grace (offering a strict ‘kids over 12 allowed’ policy) was our establishment of choice, given it’s natural location and Spa facilities available on-site. The reservation process was fairly simple, and we received an on-line 12.5% discount as we opted for the ’30-day advanced purchase’ option when booking.

Booking for a weekend away can be fairly simple, but be sure to add the following items in, for a comfortable stay:
a. A tracksuit, perfect for when you need to get to and from the spa or to relax on the loungers during the day. You’re away at a spa retreat, so comfort is key.
b. Snacks, including a light meal if you’re Halaal-catering. There isn’t a kiosk on the premises, so you will need to bring along your own snacks if you eat often. Halaal meals may be arranged if 48 hours notice has been given to the hotel staff so they may order it from an independent supplier off-site.
c. You own hairdryer, there is one available in the room, but it’s not very powerful. Alternatively, feel free to use the one in the Spa.
d. A warm set of pajamas’s, as the rooms tend to get quite cold in Winter.
e. Your own toiletries, I found that the Shower gel could have been of a better quality given the grading of the establishment.
f. Pack a semi-formal outfit for dinner, as most guests tend to dress up.

Mount Grace is a 45 minute drive from Johannesburg. The road leading up to Mount Grace is well maintained, so no need to worry about potholes along the way. The construction around the Clearwater vicinity might set you back 10-15 minutes, so factor in this time before departing. Upon arrival, guests are welcomed with a glass of grape juice or water whilst you’re being checked-in. The interior is chic and expensive. Softly glowing feature chandeliers warm a palette of black, white, lime green and aubergine while plush drapes and gilt mirrors adornt he walls. We were so impressed at the level of service already, and Phineas who was at reception explained the Hotel facilities to us before a porter took us to our room. The carts are available throughout the day and night with a maximum waiting time of 3-5 minutes.

We opted for the Luxury Room with private Pool (as per their website) which include breakfast in their rate.
The spacious rooms open onto private verandahs with spectacular views of the surrounding countryside and feature a heated plunge pool tucked away in the surrounding garden. The temperature of the pool may be adjusted on the box outside. Take a towel with so you don’t need to run back into your room to get one.

Elegantly designed, the beautiful interiors evoke a sophisticated sense of style with a small lounge and king-sized bed swathed in luxurious linens adorned with splashes of vibrant colour. The lounge area is large, and a complimentary magazine can be found on the coffee table. There is a large TV with basic channels for viewing. There is no DVD player provided.

Large luxurious bathrooms complement the room featuring a standalone bath and walk-in showers. The bathroom floor is heated, you can switch on the heating by turning the knob which is on the wall outside of the bathroom door. There are selected toiletries provided, and be sure to pack the shower cap into your spa bag so you don’t mess your hair up when sitting in the steam room.

There is a Nespresso machine (entry-level) in each room. Along with this you can expect to find 6 pods, sachets of Nescafe coffee and Five Roses teabags. Pack a small carton of milk as the mini ones that are provided in the room aren’t sufficient for a good cup of tea or coffee. There is a concealed fridge in the cupboard to store drinks. There is no need to take plug-adaptors to charge your cell phone or camera, as these are provided for.

Spend time outside attempting to process the views (a dip in the outdoor plunge pool helps), or slink indoors for an afternoon in the spa. Be certain to book your spa treatments in advance though. We booked ours for 1900pm, so we could have dinner at 2030pm. We opted to use the complimentary spa facilities before our treatments, and arrived at the spa at 1730pm. The entrance foyer has a cabinet of Africology, Babor and Essie products along with details of the facilities provided. The Hydrotherapy Journey is meant to stimulate blood circulation, awaken the senses, and ultimately leave you with a renewed sense of well being. You begin the journey with a 6-10 minute session in the steam room, followed by a cold shower (skip for me!). The next stage involves a 30 minute relation in the Flotation pool. After having experienced the Flotation Pool at the Saxon Hotel and Spa, I was disappointed that we did not in fact ‘float’ as we were meant to. I think that there wasn’t a sufficient amount of salt in the pool. Following this, guests are requested to sit in the warm jetted jacuzzi and to end the journey with a walk on the natural stone, making up the Reflexology pathway.

The flotation pool looks amazing at night. Be sure to wander off here in the evening and experience the reflection of the water on the board above.

I managed to get a photo of the steam room before all the steam! As a courteous gesture, always use a towel to sit on when visiting a steam room. Water is available to drink on the table outside.

The Spa bathrooms are large, with plenty of locker space. The toiletries provided are minimal, so take your own along if you intend on showering there before or after a treatment, or after using the Hydrotherapy facilities. There are slippers and a gown provided.

I particularly like the communal areas at the Spa. Tea, coffee and cake (yes, cake!) is provided complimentary to all Spa guests. There are magazines on the tables, which one can take out onto the grounds or loungers if they wish to. Mohamed found the selection of coffee table books interesting, they cater for a wide range of clientele.

The treatment rooms are located on the upper level of the Spa, and guests can request a dual-room if going with a partner. The rooms are tastefully decorated, and have shower and jacuzzi facilities if those are included in your selected treatment.

There is also an outdoor Spa facility, which wasn’t being utilised during our stay. These may be found outside of the Spa building. I’m assuming these are used when larger groups have booked, or when conferences are running.

The Spa is undoubtedly the main feature of this establishment. Here’s how I suggest you make optimum use of what’s provided:

Use the complimentary Hydrotherapy journey before your selected treatment to experience the Flotation pool and steam room. Upon check-out the next morning, you’re welcome to use it again. Enjoy a slice of cake, or muffin with tea or coffee on the loungers or in the communal areas.

The outdoor spaces all have one central theme – flowing water. Each space has an interesting water feature of some sort, which adds to the calming ambiance of the establishment and the beautifully maintained gardens. The loungers are well appointed and towels are provided for use during your time there. Picnics may be arranged upon request, but note, this facility is not halaal-suitable. I’m sure you could be able to bring along your own basket if permission has been granted beforehand. Please check with reservations when booking.

There are plenty of interesting spaces dotted around the Hotel. The rooms are exquisite, with deeply comfortable areas to have a breakfast coffee and rusk over reading a newspaper, afternoon tea or a coffee before dinner.

This formal space situated next to the main restaurant has a fire place which is lit up at night. One could easily get lost over hours of conversation here, or over a game of Scrabble.

The outdoor spaces are great to enjoy a cup of tea and a bowl of their famous Malva Pudding topped with rich toffee sauce, which made its appearance over lunch and dinner during our stay there.

We opted to dine at the Twist restaurant for dinner. the name aptly chosen as you will see in the interesting chandelier pictured below (with a ‘twist’). We had Sushi, which I would have preferred if the restaurant had a Sushi chef if they are intending on serving Sushi as it was a bit dry from being left out. There is also a huge selection of salads and fruit to compliment your meal.

I particularly enjoyed breakfast as the ‘Waffle-chef’ Ashik prepared a hot waffle with our selection of toppings at our request.

There is a small shop on-site which stocks a range of Aromatherapy products and confectionery items. I was particularly interested in this slabs of Artisan chocolate! I love the use of the call-box turned display cabinet.

Upon check-out (a comfortable 11am) guests are welcome to take a bottle of water before departing.

Mount Grace ticks all the boxes for a serene escape. Everything has been done to maintain the style and character of a country house. Service is personal, and the staff all go out of their way to make your stay pleasant.

To contact them, visit their website http://mountgrace.co.za/index.php

HOTEL Reservations:

Tel: +27 (0)14 577 5600 Email Address: reservations@mountgrace.co.za

SPA Reservations:

Tel: +27 (0)14 577 5600 Email Address: spa@mountgrace.co.za

I suggest putting in their GPS Coordinates, else you’ll never find the place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mohamed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear "NaQiyah M",

The Mount Grace team and I would like to express our sincere gratitude for the extensive review of your stay with us. The enormous amount of pictures and detailed comments provided including accommodation and spa tips for fellow TripAdvisor users, is truly valued. And once again, congratulations with the birth of your beautiful twins.

We are very excited to hear we have been able to assist in creating a relaxing and memorable get away for you and your husband. Do make sure you come back to the Mount Grace Country House and Spa soon for another well deserved break.

Warm regards,


Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

From the moment we stepped out of our car on arrival to our departure, the level of service was amazing. Such genuine friendliness and warmth as only Africa provides! The room was spotless and comfortable. The heated bathroom floor was divine and kept the entire room warm. The grounds are beautifully kept and we were lucky enough to experience a picnic by the waterfall in the spa gardens. An experience never to be forgotten. Thank you Mount Grace for an unforgettable 35th anniversary weekend!

Room Tip: Upstairs Luxury rooms are spacious and high up enough for a view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear "MarieJohannesburg",

We are thrilled to hear we have been able create a memorable 35th anniversary. Thank you for the kind recommendations of our beloved country house and the service received by our team members.

Do make sure you pay us another visit soon.

Warm regards,

Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
2.1 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
62 reviews
1.3 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
331 reviews
2.0 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
286 reviews
7.0 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
200 reviews
14.4 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Address: Old Rustenburg Road | Private bag 5004, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Price Range: $133 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one hour's drive from Johannesburg or Pretoria, the exclusive famed African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa is a timeless gem where luxury and peace are in abundance. Oozing old world charm but boasting modern opulence, our hotel in Magaliesburg, South Africa is the perfect retreat for team building, conferences and relaxed weekend getaways away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The picturesque country house started life as a private residence and farmhouse and has hosted a number of dignitaries and A-list visitors over the years. Located on a hillside with unspoilt views of the valley and boasting some ten acres of manicured gardens as well as pristine bushveld, the sprawling property is a balm for the city weary soul. Take a leisurely drive along country roads or land in a helicopter. While at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, indulge in good food, fine wines and relaxing spa treatments in the award winning Mount Grace Spa. Our TEAM prides itself on creating a home away from home for all our GUESTS, where time stands still, allowing you to enjoy that rare opportunity of complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Grace Country House Hotel Magaliesburg
Mount Grace Country House And Spa
Mount Grace Country Hotel
Mount Grace Country Magaliesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing