We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it use to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went to mount grace over the weekend for one night for a romantic getaway, when we arrived our room wasn't ready we had to wait about a hour, which wasn't a prob while wanting to order drinks there was only one waiter on duty so we waited about 30 min for a drinks order.we then decided to move our dinner from the ale carte restaurant to the twister restaurant which is buffet I am not a fan of buffet in general but in the past it was great so lets try it. There were no hot starters 5 mains and the desserts tasted like it was old. Not good value for money at all and a very disappointing as they call themself a upmarket establishment will not go there again as if the pricing was cheaper I would expect less but for the price there are better options

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reywoeke4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear "Reywoeke4u",

Thank you for your honest feedback on your stay at the Mount Grace Country House and Spa. You can imagine we are very disappointed to hear that we have been unable to meet your expectations, especially considering the fact you have visited us in the past. Creating pleasant and memorable get aways for all of our guests is our main aim, and clearly your experience was not of the standard you expected.

Our apologies for not being able to accommodate you upon arrival and for the slow waiter service experienced while waiting for your room to be prepared. Unacceptable and we will most definitely look into this, as the first impression is lasting...

Together with our kitchen team, we will look into the issues raised around the Twist restaurant buffet offering as you indicate not to be happy with the variety of food items on offer. Its possible that on the night of your visit - besides a hot soup offering - no other hot starters items were available. I will take this up with our executive chef and discuss alternative menu scheme suggestions. We value your feedback on this matter and will incorporate this in our departmental meeting.

if you would have more detailed comments on how we could have been able to meet - and exceed your expectation, please be so kind to email us directly on feedback@mountgrace.co.za, so we can deal with the matters directly and restore your confidence in our hospitality on offer.


Yours sincerely,

Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 727 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband took the opportunity to celebrate our wedding anniversary at Mount Grace this past weekend and our overall experience was very good. I cannot remember when last I have come accross a staff compliment at a hotel where each and every staff member, from the gardener right through to the GM, are so friendly, helpful and go the extra mile for their guests. It was more than apparent to me that the owners and/or management of this establishment, invest in training and in their staff, and the guests are clearly benefitting from this investment. Well done to the staff and management of the MG Hotel & Spa for achieving service par exellance! Our Spa experience was delightful and it was apparent that the Spa only employs well trained and experienced therapists. I loved the hydrotheraphy treatments and we will definately come back to the Spa and the Hotel on a more regular basis. We stayed in a Villa and although very spacious, the furniture and general maintenance needs to be spruced up a bit, especially if one has regard to the rate charged per room per night. Next time I will rather book a luxury room or superior room as I believe it to be better value for money. The breakfast buffet was amazing and I loved the eggs benedict and the variety of fresh and beautifully prepared food. A wonderful relaxing retreat and a true gem just a stone's throw away from the hustle and bustle of Jozi!! We will definately be back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liesl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear "Liesl B",

Outstanding feedback!! On behalf of the entire team at the Mount Grace, we would like to thank you for your kind recommendations and we can't wait to host you and your husband again soon.

We are very pleased to hear that we have been able to make your anniversary into memorable day / stay!

Warm regards,

Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We took Mount Grace offer of a night away with complimentary picnic and breakfast in a garden room. It overtook our expectations and we came away feeling very content and relaxed.
Picnic was more than we could manage. Breakfast was delicious and we sat outside enjoyed the views.
So thank-you!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear "Roweenie",

We are thrilled to hear that we have been able to exceed your expectations and create a comfortable and relaxing "get away" from the huzzle and buzzle from Johannesburg. Thank you for your recommendations on our breakfast offering and picnic service. I will share your feedback with the team members at the hotel!

Do make sure you pay us another visit soon!

Warm regards,

Nelson Rodrigues - General manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I am giving a low rating not because I rate this against other spa's but against the backdrop of Mount Grace Spa a year ago, which would have scored 5 stars, We went there for a special occation and how dissappointing. Where there a variety of fruit displayed a year ago, was a bowl of apples. Where a year ago I could choose between variety of water with mint, lemon, stawberries etc, now I had to deal with water, and when you find a waiter, you could ask for a piece of lemon for your water. Then I should have known to leave, as it just got worse; The Reflexology area where it was small pebbles is now mud and pebbles and the mud is rotting - Horrible smell - The Rock-pool's water was dirty, the floatation tank did not have enough salt in, so NO floatation. The steamroom was dirty and there was a bowl with dirty, used cotton wool in the steamroom and you could see that it was there for a long time - This became a joke as the list just carried on and on - No hotwater for the tea, no music in the massage rooms (aparantly lightning struck a week ago, but now this is a week later) - I eventually asked for the manager and she had some poor excuse why things were the way it is - trying to defend most of issues raised - Clearly there is not a Customer focus but rather a internal operational focus - All was blamed on the weather, the lightning, the dragging insurance claim, the fact that salt is only added in the morning and takes time to disolve - Add salt the previous evening, or 5h00 in the morning - Dont make it the customers problem - Make the customers your focus and not your operational problems. This spa was working fantastic a year ago and the only reason I give it a 2 and not a 1 rating is that the manager took the time to come and speak to us and then as a compromise gave a discount on the massages-

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mmmmmnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear "Mmmmmnice",

Thank you for the honest feedback!

As discussed already when meeting you in person on site during your recent day visit to our spa, we sincerely regret the fact that your experience was not to your satisfaction and we could not live up to the standard expected.

We have already discussed your detailed feedback with our maintenance team as well as spa management the day after your visit. I can assure you that our approach in dealing with these matters is not to seek for excuses but to address the issues raised. We generally have very positive feedback on our spa product, hence we appreciate your constructive criticism even more.

We do hope you will visit our Spa again in future, and allow us the opportunity to convince you of the service levels and facilities on offer.

Yours sincerely,


Bosele Mogamisi - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

my wife and I went to the Mount Grace for a special occasion. We had been wanting to go for several years as we always heard good things and reports. On arrival it seemed very peaceful, calm and beautiful. We went primarily for the Spa however we did make a booking for the Rambling Vine Restaurant later that same day for dinner. We had lunch in the restaurant first of all, the food was no better than average although the setting was beautiful. The experience at the lunch time venue made us cancel our booking at the Rambling Vine later that day. My wife enjoyed her spa treatment, although mine was a bit of a disaster. I was placed under a cold blower and then I was told by my lady that the airconditioning / heater is completely controlled by the rays of the sun and out of her control!!!! she couldn't have made it up any better. I did complain to the manageress, who to her credit did give me a comlimentary massage with her "Top Masseuse' which was excellent. It does go to show that the quality of the treatments are affected by who delivers them, so always ask the experience of your particular assistant. I ceratinly wouldn't rush to go back there. There are far better spa's in Gauteng.

Room Tip: we didnt stay in a room, so I can not comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edvard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear "Edvard F",

You can imagine that we are very disappointed to hear that we have not been able to impress you with the services and facilities offered at our Spa. Our sincere apologies for these services lapses and for not living up to your expectations.

We would very much like to discuss your experiences in more detail, so we can get a better understanding of what went right, but more importantly, what went wrong during your visit to our hotel. Please be so kind to send me some more detail on your experiences via guestrelationsmanager@mountgrace.co.za allowing me to investigate the matter further.

Your cooperation is highly appreciated.

Yours sincerely,

Bosele Mogamisi - Guest Relations Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Simply said, we are fortunate to have been guests at the best five star hotels in Gauteng and this experience far outways any other experience. If you are looking for excellence in every way from how you are treated by the staff to the amasing detail in the room, the great food, this is your choice of destination. It felt as if the scene was especially set for us, a little slice of heaven. Thank you Mount Grace for a most amasing exquisite experience. We unfortunately did not have an opportunity to visit the spa, we did however have a look around and next time it will definitely be a prioirty to visit

Room Tip: Rooms higher up on the mountain provide wonderful views and tranquility
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolande H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your kind recommendations and for sharing this with the entire TripAdvisor community!

We are truly looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Nelson Rodrigues - General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Where to start. Somewhere in the hotel universe, there is a check list for perfection. You know the stuff; trim the lawn edges, make sure the sand is raked, nespresso machine in the room stocked, etc. Mount Grace has found the list. My wife and I left the kids with the Grandparents and headed out for a long weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Just over an hour out of Jozi, this has to be one of the best hotels in the world. We were surprised with complimentary bottle of champagne and more than that, the hand signed card from every member of staff. The rose petals on the bed, the towels perfectly placed and the signature Vine Restuarant, impeccable with a wine list and food unsurpassed in our numerous global travels. I haven't enough characters on Trip Advisor to sing the praises of the world class Spa facilities loud enough. We can't wait to phone the Grandparents for round number two. Oh, and advice for the Mount Grace, keep your check list secret.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank nickkunze01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear "Terrassen",

What magnificent feedback!! We are truly humbled by your kind words and will celebrate your recommendations with everyone at the hotel. Do make sure you pay us another visit soon when celebrating another special occasion.

Warm regards,

Nelson Rodrigues - General manager
Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
1.3 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#3 of 7 in Magaliesburg
344 reviews
2.1 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
65 reviews
2 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
304 reviews
7 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
209 reviews
14.4 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Address: Old Rustenburg Road | Private bag 5004, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Price Range: $150 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one hour's drive from Johannesburg or Pretoria, the exclusive famed African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa is a timeless gem where luxury and peace are in abundance. Oozing old world charm but boasting modern opulence, our hotel in Magaliesburg, South Africa is the perfect retreat for team building, conferences and relaxed weekend getaways away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The picturesque country house started life as a private residence and farmhouse and has hosted a number of dignitaries and A-list visitors over the years. Located on a hillside with unspoilt views of the valley and boasting some ten acres of manicured gardens as well as pristine bushveld, the sprawling property is a balm for the city weary soul. Take a leisurely drive along country roads or land in a helicopter. While at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, indulge in good food, fine wines and relaxing spa treatments in the award winning Mount Grace Spa. Our TEAM prides itself on creating a home away from home for all our GUESTS, where time stands still, allowing you to enjoy that rare opportunity of complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Grace Country House And Spa
Mount Grace Country House Hotel Magaliesburg
Mount Grace Country Hotel
Mount Grace Country Magaliesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing