We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally not what it used to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Totally not what it used to be”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I am giving a low rating not because I rate this against other spa's but against the backdrop of Mount Grace Spa a year ago, which would have scored 5 stars, We went there for a special occation and how dissappointing. Where there a variety of fruit displayed a year ago, was a bowl of apples. Where a year ago I could choose between variety of water with mint, lemon, stawberries etc, now I had to deal with water, and when you find a waiter, you could ask for a piece of lemon for your water. Then I should have known to leave, as it just got worse; The Reflexology area where it was small pebbles is now mud and pebbles and the mud is rotting - Horrible smell - The Rock-pool's water was dirty, the floatation tank did not have enough salt in, so NO floatation. The steamroom was dirty and there was a bowl with dirty, used cotton wool in the steamroom and you could see that it was there for a long time - This became a joke as the list just carried on and on - No hotwater for the tea, no music in the massage rooms (aparantly lightning struck a week ago, but now this is a week later) - I eventually asked for the manager and she had some poor excuse why things were the way it is - trying to defend most of issues raised - Clearly there is not a Customer focus but rather a internal operational focus - All was blamed on the weather, the lightning, the dragging insurance claim, the fact that salt is only added in the morning and takes time to disolve - Add salt the previous evening, or 5h00 in the morning - Dont make it the customers problem - Make the customers your focus and not your operational problems. This spa was working fantastic a year ago and the only reason I give it a 2 and not a 1 rating is that the manager took the time to come and speak to us and then as a compromise gave a discount on the massages-

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmmmmnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear "Mmmmmnice",

Thank you for the honest feedback!

As discussed already when meeting you in person on site during your recent day visit to our spa, we sincerely regret the fact that your experience was not to your satisfaction and we could not live up to the standard expected.

We have already discussed your detailed feedback with our maintenance team as well as spa management the day after your visit. I can assure you that our approach in dealing with these matters is not to seek for excuses but to address the issues raised. We generally have very positive feedback on our spa product, hence we appreciate your constructive criticism even more.

We do hope you will visit our Spa again in future, and allow us the opportunity to convince you of the service levels and facilities on offer.

Yours sincerely,


Bosele Mogamisi - Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    173
    87
    52
    46
See reviews for
88
378
10
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

my wife and I went to the Mount Grace for a special occasion. We had been wanting to go for several years as we always heard good things and reports. On arrival it seemed very peaceful, calm and beautiful. We went primarily for the Spa however we did make a booking for the Rambling Vine Restaurant later that same day for dinner. We had lunch in the restaurant first of all, the food was no better than average although the setting was beautiful. The experience at the lunch time venue made us cancel our booking at the Rambling Vine later that day. My wife enjoyed her spa treatment, although mine was a bit of a disaster. I was placed under a cold blower and then I was told by my lady that the airconditioning / heater is completely controlled by the rays of the sun and out of her control!!!! she couldn't have made it up any better. I did complain to the manageress, who to her credit did give me a comlimentary massage with her "Top Masseuse' which was excellent. It does go to show that the quality of the treatments are affected by who delivers them, so always ask the experience of your particular assistant. I ceratinly wouldn't rush to go back there. There are far better spa's in Gauteng.

Room Tip: we didnt stay in a room, so I can not comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edvard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear "Edvard F",

You can imagine that we are very disappointed to hear that we have not been able to impress you with the services and facilities offered at our Spa. Our sincere apologies for these services lapses and for not living up to your expectations.

We would very much like to discuss your experiences in more detail, so we can get a better understanding of what went right, but more importantly, what went wrong during your visit to our hotel. Please be so kind to send me some more detail on your experiences via guestrelationsmanager@mountgrace.co.za allowing me to investigate the matter further.

Your cooperation is highly appreciated.

Yours sincerely,

Bosele Mogamisi - Guest Relations Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Simply said, we are fortunate to have been guests at the best five star hotels in Gauteng and this experience far outways any other experience. If you are looking for excellence in every way from how you are treated by the staff to the amasing detail in the room, the great food, this is your choice of destination. It felt as if the scene was especially set for us, a little slice of heaven. Thank you Mount Grace for a most amasing exquisite experience. We unfortunately did not have an opportunity to visit the spa, we did however have a look around and next time it will definitely be a prioirty to visit

Room Tip: Rooms higher up on the mountain provide wonderful views and tranquility
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolande H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind recommendations and for sharing this with the entire TripAdvisor community!

We are truly looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Nelson Rodrigues - General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Where to start. Somewhere in the hotel universe, there is a check list for perfection. You know the stuff; trim the lawn edges, make sure the sand is raked, nespresso machine in the room stocked, etc. Mount Grace has found the list. My wife and I left the kids with the Grandparents and headed out for a long weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Just over an hour out of Jozi, this has to be one of the best hotels in the world. We were surprised with complimentary bottle of champagne and more than that, the hand signed card from every member of staff. The rose petals on the bed, the towels perfectly placed and the signature Vine Restuarant, impeccable with a wine list and food unsurpassed in our numerous global travels. I haven't enough characters on Trip Advisor to sing the praises of the world class Spa facilities loud enough. We can't wait to phone the Grandparents for round number two. Oh, and advice for the Mount Grace, keep your check list secret.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nickkunze01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear "Terrassen",

What magnificent feedback!! We are truly humbled by your kind words and will celebrate your recommendations with everyone at the hotel. Do make sure you pay us another visit soon when celebrating another special occasion.

Warm regards,

Nelson Rodrigues - General manager
Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the Mount Grace Hotel, it was absolutely fabulous that is: if you like to relax in a quiet environment. Not much to do otherwise.
We tried the "fine dining" in the Rambling Vine which was excellent and the buffet where there is a huge selection of starters, mains and desserts. The size of the heated pool is a bit of a disappointment as it is more like an enlarged jacuzzi! so if the hotel is fully booked I can just imagine how crowded this pool will be. Can highly recommend this resort to celebrate a special occasion or just to enjoy a Sunday lunch!!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are looking out over the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelleke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear "Nelleke G",

We are excited to hear you have enjoyed the tranquility and quietness of the Magaliesburg area as well as the facilities and services of the Mount Grace Country House and Spa. I will share your feedback with all team members at the hotel.

With regards to your comments on your pool facilities, besides the 2 pools in our garden area, we do have further pool facilities at our Spa as well as individual plunge pools at some of our rooms & villa's. So, do make sure you come back soon to further explore all our facilities on offer at the hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again when celebrating a special occasion!

Yours sincerely,

Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2013

When looking for a peaceful resort close to Johannesburg to celebrate a special occasion, we thought we had found the ideal place. Although, superbly peaceful, and mostly, excellent service, it ended with a very sour taste. The in-room service lacked care in replacing bathroom towels, etc. The spa, even though, very relaxing and peaceful, during a pedicure treatment, the skin on the heel of my one foot was removed down to the flesh .... very unprofessional. THEN ..... The reservation made was using an internet special, which, when we came to check out, two different staff members argued that there was no such special ...... EXTREMELY EMBARRASING!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank W_S_213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear "W_S_213",

As already mentioned in our direct correspondence to you, we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused upon check out, created by unacceptable confusion around the conditions of an internet spa special.

I can assure you that we will look into the situation to determine the root cause of the issues experienced. We do sincerely hope you will take us up on our offer so we can welcome you back at the Mount Grace allowing us to restore confidence in our hospitality and service.

Warm regards,


Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

the resort is nestled on the foothills of Mogales mountains,really enjoyed the views from the balcony.i booked the superior room which is on the uphill and views were awesome!thr spa facilites and outside jacuzzi a must!i really enjoyed lounging on the pool deck,swimming on the outside hot water pool in Gauteng!awesome experience. dinners are buffet and ala carte options and meals reslly 5***** &reception fab. Becareful that kids are not allowed at resort but once a guest you can understand why!excellent hodpitality an d oved the mountain bikes that are free to guests.rooms are really big and staff tidies room up again in the even whilst you are out for dinner..splendid.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koki80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for the spectacular feedback!! We much appreciate your kind recommendations of our facilities, our services and the beautiful setting of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon upon your next visit to the Magaliesburg area...

Kind regards,

Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
2.1 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.3 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.6 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
19.2 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
7.0 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Property: African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Address: Old Rustenburg Rd | Private bag 5004, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one hour's drive from Johannesburg or Pretoria, the exclusive famed African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa is a timeless gem where luxury and peace are in abundance. Oozing old world charm but boasting modern opulence, Mount Grace Country House & Spa is the perfect retreat for team building, conferences and relaxed weekend getaways away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The picturesque country house started life as a private residence and farmhouse and has hosted a number of dignitaries and A-list visitors over the years. Located on a hillside with unspoilt views of the valley and boasting some ten acres of manicured gardens as well as pristine bushveld, the sprawling property is a balm for the city weary soul. Take a leisurely drive along country roads or land in a helicopter. While at the Mount Grace indulge in good food, fine wines and relaxing spa treatments in the award winning Mount Grace Spa. The African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa TEAM prides itself on creating a home away from home for all our GUESTS, where time stands still, allowing you to enjoy that rare opportunity of complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Grace Country House Hotel Magaliesburg
Mount Grace Country House And Spa
Mount Grace Country Hotel
Mount Grace Country Magaliesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing