We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Reviewed March 18, 2013

.We stayed over in one of the magnificent Villas on Saturday the 16th March 2013. The Villa offered its own spacious lounge with gas fireplace, an outside deck area and private pool. The Villa is beautifully appointed with all the luxury amenities one would expect. They really have thought of everything. From the time we arrived till the time we left we experienced outstanding service. Lawrence that checked us in was extremely efficient and friendly. William in room service was also very attentive, helpful and friendly. Long lost have I stayed in a property were they phone to make sure your room service order was delivered and if you were happy with the meal. The meals in the hotel are beautifully executed and there is a great variety on all menus.
All other staff had smiles on their faces and greeted you when eye contact was made or walking by.

This is a definite must when you are in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 172,222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear "172222",

We are humbled by your kind words and we truly appreciate your amazing recommendations of our hotel facilities and team members. And thank you for sharing such exciting feedback with your fellow tripadvisor members...

We look forward to creating another memorable stay for you again soon....

Warm regards,

Nelson Rodrigues - General manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 704 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

An incredibly refreshing getaway - luxurious and away from it all. Great food and view and garden and lovely warm floors in the bathrooms! The spa was glorious and the staff efficient and friendly. Great hosts for the foreign guests we had to entertain.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SWelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear "SWelz",

We greatly appreciate the fabulous feedback on your stay with us. We are very excited to hear that we have been able to successfully - and most importantly comfortably - host you and your visitors.

Thank you for "spreading the word" and we look forward welcoming you back again soon!

Yours sincerely,

Bosele Mogamisi - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Also a business (2 day conference)/ pleasure (two more days, with my wife) visit. Two very different vibes. The conference was busy, generating a crowd and noise. The hotel was full, and you felt it. Our room was away from the buzz, though , and one could escape. the food was good under the circumstances, in buffet form. After the crowds left, peace and quiet returned. It was almost too quiet, with only a couple of other guests around. The service was at all times friendly and efficient. the food in the Rambling Vine ( a choice of the fine dining or light meals menus) was excellent- particularly the crab risotto. Good eggs benedict ( topical, given current events in the Vatican) for breakfast. Our room appeared to be one of the newer units, and was comfortable and well equipped. The nespresso machine was appreciated.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the main building. Quieter, and they provide golf cart transfers on requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear"Graham C",

We much appreciation your recommendations, both on your conference as well as leisure experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with your fellow tripadvisor members.

The team at the hotel is looking forward creating many more "relaxing" experiences for you in future!

Warm regards,

Bosele Mogamisi - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I had mixed feelings during my stay. Although it was for business and the staff were very friendly and the venue was ready and spotless and everything organised sort of the way I wanted it, I still felt something lacking. I stayed there about 8 years ago as well - also for business. It was a bit quiet. Not too many other people around. Did not have my nice room up at the top with my own swimming pool. Got stuck here almost next to the restaurant. Did not enjoy sitting there and everybody walking past.
The two days that I stayed longer for a bit of pleasure, but mostly to enjoy the spa turned out not too be such a good idea either. They were not that busy, but somehow not that well organised. It was as if they did not exactly know what to do, where to go, where to start, what to do first ....
The only thing I really, really enjoyed was the very interesting breakfast - lots of fresh fruit combined with salmon and all sorts of cheeses, juice and a whole lot of other things - a real feast! But for dinner - oh well, bet you can't have it all .... well, you are supposed to, not so?
The room was nice and cosy and the under floor heating is just marvellous. Could have otherwise just stayed in bed there the whole two days.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stunningchick69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on ‘tripadvisor’. As you can understand we are most concerned to read about your experience and would like to better understand what you liked and disliked besides not being pleased with the room type and location that was allocated to you during this visit.

Please could you e-mail me on guestrelationsmanager@mountgrace.co.za, so I can get further insight on which elements we need to focus on and were not living up to your expectation? Your additional input would be much appreciated.

Kind regards,

Bosele Mogamisi - Guest Relations Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My thoughts about this hotel are roughly split down the middle. The hotel is in a beautiful location in northern South Africa, and from its perch on the mountain, there are wonderful views of the surrounding countryside. The rooms are nice, and while I could see that my cottage was an older one, with nice touches like French doors that open to a comfortable veranda, it was also showing its age and sorely required some work. The grounds of the hotel are kept perfectly, though it felt like the hotel had expanded too rapidly, and space between the cottages was limited (read: crowded.)

The staff at the hotel, from the managers to the gardeners, was wonderful and really friendly, but service was lacking and the staff requires training, immediately. The food was excellent across both their buffet-style restaurant (and I generally find buffets terrible) to their nicer, fancier restaurant.

However, there were some quirks. First, for all of the four days I was there, the buffet offered an excellent, tasty, made-to-order stir fry, but they served it for lunch and dinner **all four days I was there.** A little variety would have been nice. Second, the staff at the nice (expensive) restaurant completely bungled our order one evening. It was one of the strangest things I've ever seen: in our group of seven, a few people received their main courses before the starters, a few people received their starters and not their mains, and a couple people received both at once. We were left scratching our heads in disbelief.

Finally, the spa is incredible, hands down. The gym area is well-equipped, the massages are perfect, and, in general, the spa might be the single reason to visit Mount Grace.

All in all, this was a nice experience, but I would need to consider a return trip.

Room Tip: Stay in the newer cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mapagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear "mapagr",

Thank you for your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ and for taking the time to do so. Obviously, we are concerned to read about you mixed experiences when staying at our beloved hotel, as this truly does not reflect our high standard of service which we are usually proud to offer.

I will investigate your service experience on of the night's when dining at our a la carte restaurant, as this is clearly not of the standard we strive to provide to all of our guests. Order taking requires to be seamless, orders to be service in correct frequency as well as timeously. My sincere apologies for the disappointing experience.

We appreciate your positive comments on staff service, our beautiful Spa and your experience at our buffet restaurant Twist. I will certainly discuss your suggestions to alternate the ingredients used for our live cooking station to create further variety.

Again, thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Yours sincerely,


Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

You do not expect such comforts and luxury on you doorstep. The room that we booked was well appointed and extremely comfortable. The a la carte restaurant is certainly worth while, consisting of some very different items all of which were delicious. By far the best part of our stay was the spa experience. The location is quite majestic and the variety of treatments was very good. We will certainly do this again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank GysMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear "FergusMcloskey",

Wonderful comments & wonderful recommendations!

Thank you for sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,


Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Idyllic setting for total relaxation close to Johannesburg. Large comfortable room, good food, friendly staff. immaculate gardens. Spent 3 nights midweek. Hotel had very low occupancy - possibly because it was out of high season. Beautiful spa. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank algern0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear "algern0n",

We very much welcome your kind recommendations! We are thrilled to hear we have been able to make your mid week stay a memorable experience.

Do make sure you come back to South Africa and the Mount Grace Country House and Spa soon!

Warm regards,

Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
2.1 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
62 reviews
1.3 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
337 reviews
2 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
292 reviews
7 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
201 reviews
14.4 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Address: Old Rustenburg Road | Private bag 5004, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Price Range: $130 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one hour's drive from Johannesburg or Pretoria, the exclusive famed African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa is a timeless gem where luxury and peace are in abundance. Oozing old world charm but boasting modern opulence, our hotel in Magaliesburg, South Africa is the perfect retreat for team building, conferences and relaxed weekend getaways away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The picturesque country house started life as a private residence and farmhouse and has hosted a number of dignitaries and A-list visitors over the years. Located on a hillside with unspoilt views of the valley and boasting some ten acres of manicured gardens as well as pristine bushveld, the sprawling property is a balm for the city weary soul. Take a leisurely drive along country roads or land in a helicopter. While at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, indulge in good food, fine wines and relaxing spa treatments in the award winning Mount Grace Spa. Our TEAM prides itself on creating a home away from home for all our GUESTS, where time stands still, allowing you to enjoy that rare opportunity of complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Grace Country House Hotel Magaliesburg
Mount Grace Country House And Spa
Mount Grace Country Hotel
Mount Grace Country Magaliesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing