We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Highly recommended.”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Idyllic setting for total relaxation close to Johannesburg. Large comfortable room, good food, friendly staff. immaculate gardens. Spent 3 nights midweek. Hotel had very low occupancy - possibly because it was out of high season. Beautiful spa. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank algern0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear "algern0n",

We very much welcome your kind recommendations! We are thrilled to hear we have been able to make your mid week stay a memorable experience.

Do make sure you come back to South Africa and the Mount Grace Country House and Spa soon!

Warm regards,

Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    174
    89
    52
    48
See reviews for
88
382
11
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We got engaged at the Mount Grace a year ago and returned because the management and staff made our occasion so special. This visit we again really enjoyed the tranquility, gourmet food and fantastic spa experience. What trumps everything though is the friendliness of all the staff ... and the included breakfast is fantastic with a huge variety

Room Tip: If you can spend a bit more, get a room with a private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maeson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear "Maeson M",

Thank you for making the Mount Grace Country House and Spa your venue of choice to celebrate your special occasions. We are very pleased to hear that the team at the hotel has - again - been able to assist in making these occasions extra special and memorable for you and your partner.

Of course, we will share and celebrate your kind words with all of the team members at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I went for our anniversary and were completely blown away with the excellent service and friendly staff. They truly made our stay a time to remember. The spa was great! The food is great and of suburb quality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeraldNormanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear "GeraldNormanC",

We are thrilled to hear we have been able to make your anniversary a truly special occasion. Especially, your comments around the service received by our team members is much appreciated and will be celebrated with them...

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a superior room next to swimming pool. This was our second visit. Stayed in room 142.
The checkin was smooth and friendly. To our disappointment the spa was full for the Saturday and space available was Sunday. Our main objective with our stay was to make use of the spa and eat at the fine dining restaurant the rambling vine. The restaurant was also fully booked which again was disappointing. We instead had the buffet food which was very average but overpriced. There was not a lot of variety to choose from and the atmosphere is somewhat somber. We ate in 20 min.
The room service was also quite disappointing. On arrival we found the minibar empty and called to get it refilled. No one came after two hours to restock it. We decided to take a nab and I out the do not disturb sign on the door. 20 min later room service knock on the door to refill the bar,ignoring the sign..
We ordered lunch which also took too long to arrive. Food was nice though.
Ordered coffee in the morning but by the time we wanted to leave for breakfast the coffee had not arrived. Had to phone and cancel it. They said they would send it the restaurant as they already made it. It never came there either.
The romantic turn down was a joke. 3 chocolates and the bed made.. Didn't even remove the dishes from lunch or replace coffee etc.
The standard of the room was average. The bath had a leak and had to be refilled while in it. Nice tv with satellite channels.
The spa treatments was again amazing and made the 1 day break away all worth it. Would not recommend the hotel if you not in spa treatments.
We would not stay there again due to the inconsistent service. Even check out took long as they forgot to deduct our spa vouchers and charged us incorrectly for lunch.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank AislinnMumu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear "AislinnMuMu",

Thank you for your candid feedback on your stay with us. Of course, we are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our Spa, however, we are also very disappointed to hear that our at the hotel was not able to exceed your expectations from a service point of view. Our sincere apologies for not being able to meet your expectations and for not being able to accommodate you at Rambling Vine Restaurant and our Spa on the desired dates and times.

I can assure you that we take your comments very seriously as it seems you have experienced a number of service lapses when ordering room service, mini bar service and did not have a great experience when visiting Twist, our buffet restaurant. We will discuss this with all departments to identify the root causes of all issues and rectify these with immediate effect.

We look forward to hosting you and your family again soon!

Yours sincerely,

Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very welcoming and friendly staff, very clean and well kept.The staff go an extra mile for you, very efficient.A place of one in a million, quite serene and relaxing.Big up to the dish at the restaurant in the spa called the rambling vine the seafood was the best ever.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohammed Seedat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear "Mohammed Seedat",

Great to hear you enjoyed our beautiful Spa, sumptuous food at Rambling Vine and the service provided by our team at the hotel... Going the extra mile for our guests is our aim, so happy to hear the team has been able to exceed your expectations.

Warm regards and looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Nelson Rodrigues - General manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The rooms are really nice! it is the perfect place to unwind!! spa treatments are really done nicely, however, i did expect the spa rooms to look a little better. However, the meditation garden, steam room, and the flotation pool is really nice. Nonetheless,I would personally say mount grace is not worth the price they charge. Especially, the breakfast was not as good as i expected it. The chef told me that they have an area where they make eggs for vegetarians/ halal, i was rather disappointed when i saw meat there after i had ate my meal.They really disappointed me! However, the staff are really friendly, they try really hard to give you a good time.

Room Tip: The suits are really nice, it has a private plunge pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Samee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear "Samee s",

First of all, thank you for providing us with your honest feedback. Clearly, we are very disappointed to hear that we have not been able to exceed your expectations during your stay with us. We aim to provide that "additional touch" to each and every guest's stay, and create that additional flair to your experience.

Regrettably, your breakfast experience was not up to standard, and not incorporating your specific requirements for Halal / vegetarian. I can assure you that we will address this operational delivery lapse and avoid this from reoccurring in future. Your kind recommendations around the service received from our TEAM will be shared and celebrated accordingly.

Of course, we do hope you will allow us the opportunity to hosting you again soon - aiming to meet and exceed your expectations second time around, without fail.

Yours sincerely,

Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Beautiful surroundings, immaculately kept gardens, excellent swimming pools and heated appropriately, luxury room and overall tranquility and peace - one can really relax and rejuvenate at this hotel. Hotel staff are always smiling, friendly and helpful. Food at both restaurants excellent and the experience great. Chocolate souffle from fine dining restaurant best desert my wife and I have ever had. Overall spa experience not so good, however. Facilities are excellent, but staff at reception and some therapists could be more friendly and polite, and flotation pool underground music not working.

Room Tip: Although expensive, the luxury rooms with loose standing bath and double basins are worth it. Choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Theo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Theo F,

Great to hear you have been able to recharge yourself and that both you and your wife enjoyed the relaxing environment of the Mount Grace Country House and Spa. The beautiful gardens and views from the hills create a perfect setting to "slow down" the hectic day to day pace we all live in.

We much appreciate your constructive criticism on your spa experience and the fact that the underwater music of the floatation pool was not working. I will address this with the TEAM at the Spa and take the necessary corrective actions.

And with regards to your comment on the sumptuous 'Chocolate Souffle', I fully agree that its a dessert to die for...

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours sincerely,


Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
1.3 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
305 reviews
2.1 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
54 reviews
1.6 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
461 reviews
13.8 mi away
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
#7 of 12 in Rustenburg
90 reviews
14.4 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Property: African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Address: Old Rustenburg Road | Private bag 5004, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one hour's drive from Johannesburg or Pretoria, the exclusive famed African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa is a timeless gem where luxury and peace are in abundance. Oozing old world charm but boasting modern opulence, our hotel in Magaliesburg, South Africa is the perfect retreat for team building, conferences and relaxed weekend getaways away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The picturesque country house started life as a private residence and farmhouse and has hosted a number of dignitaries and A-list visitors over the years. Located on a hillside with unspoilt views of the valley and boasting some ten acres of manicured gardens as well as pristine bushveld, the sprawling property is a balm for the city weary soul. Take a leisurely drive along country roads or land in a helicopter. While at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, indulge in good food, fine wines and relaxing spa treatments in the award winning Mount Grace Spa. Our TEAM prides itself on creating a home away from home for all our GUESTS, where time stands still, allowing you to enjoy that rare opportunity of complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Grace Country House Hotel Magaliesburg
Mount Grace Country House And Spa
Mount Grace Country Hotel
Mount Grace Country Magaliesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing