We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless service with many smiles!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Faultless service with many smiles!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A very special, beautiful retreat with service levels that extended beyond our expectations in every way. Food was excellent (especially the breakfast at Twist - enjoyed sushi and best salmon for breakfast!), spa a wonderful relaxing experience, rooms beautifully decorated and very comfortable and spacious, gardens beautifully maintained and bird life was prolific!Highly recommend Mount Grace to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Umngazi,

Thank you for your excellent recommendations!

The TEAM at the Mount Grace is excited to hear they have been able to create a relaxing getaway for you to completely unwind. Your detailed comments on the spa and room facilities, your restaurant experience and more importantly - the genuine service received - are much appreciated and will be celebrated with everyone at the hotel. And I must admit, sushi and smoked salmon for breakfast are also my personal favourites!

Make sure you come and visit us again soon!

Yours sincerely,


Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    173
    87
    52
    46
See reviews for
88
378
10
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Mount Garce is is based on the foot of the Magaliesburg Mountains, the accommodation is excellent and i would rate the facility *****, rooms are huge and the meals are excellent! the spa facilties breathtaking. lots of bird watching and canoing in the river running through the lodge.the location is awesoem whether its spring, summer, autumn or winter. there is such wonderful variety of attrcations, activites such as "Original"Balloon Safaris which are reminiscent of this area, Gliding Clubs, Canopy tours, visit to the local community, the World Heritage Site of Cradle of Huma Kind.the area is only 1.5 hours form the ORT INternational Airport (Johannesburg) and Pretoria! you can also spend a day visiting the attractions in Johannesburg and SOWETO Museums.
the lion and Rhino nature reserve is also a few kilometers away, you are well caterd for when visiting the Magalieburg area and enoy the splendour of Magalies Meander. awesome fresh food at the lodge and breathtaking views whilst relaxing at the pool side or just take sunset "walks". affordable luxury!

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koki80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Koki80,

We are extremely pleased to hear how much you've enjoyed your stay with us. Your great recommendations are much appreciated and will be shared with the entire TEAM at the Mount Grace.

Glad to know we have been able to assist in creating long lasting memories.. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel is conveniently situated close to Johannesburg (less than two hours' drive) and the grounds are lush, beautifully maintained and extensive. Electric carts transport guests between their rooms and the public areas.

Accommodation is varied with 20 Standard Rooms, 32 Superior Rooms, 43 Luxury Rooms, 14 Luxury Rooms with plunge pool and 12 Luxury Villas.

The staff was efficient and friendly and service excellent.

The Rambling Vine Restaurant is significantly smaller and more intimate than the Twist Restaurant and the food was good but, in my opinion, not outstanding. The pasta was delicious but quail a little on the dry side.

The buffet breakfast is extensive.

In my personal opinion, this is an ideal venue for Conferences but the individual guest could feel overwhelmed should a large group arrive during the period of your stay.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms are worth the difference in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouristGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear TouristGuide,

On behalf of the entire TEAM at the Mount Grace Country House and Spa, we would like to thank you for your constructive and detailed feedback. I am sure that your fellow TripAdvisor members appreciate your informative feedback on your stay with us.

Receiving feedback from our guests is crucial for us to further improve our service and product delivery, hence much appreciated. And I can assure you that we will be using your input during our departmental team discussions.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed the beautiful sights and sounds of the surrounding Magaliesburg area and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,


Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Lazing around by the pool and garden as a day visitor, my gf loved it. Warm welcome, good food and aweslme admosphere. Going to try the spa in my next visit

Tooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooaaaaaammmmmmaaaaazzzziiiinnnngg

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kgare84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Kgare84,

Thank you for sharing your excitement about the Mount Grace with your fellow TripAdvisor users. Glad to hear we have been able to make your visit a memorable one.

Please do pay us a visit again soon and as mentioned by your kindself - try out our beautiful spa on top of the estate, I can highly recommend it.

Warm regards,


Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichtenburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a much needed breakaway weekend at Mount Grace in the Magaliesberg. The ambience of the resort lends itself to instant distraction from everyday life and forces one to clutch out and rest in pristine indigenous surrounds of leafy green bush alive with the sounds of birds. The friendly personnel are always willing to go the extra mile to be helpful and attend to individual needs. (We had a blow out on the way there and the staff sorted everything out for us while we had spa treatments!) The restaurants cater for all tastes and our room was beautifully appointed. The excellent Spa facilities and treatments were simply sublime.The whole experience was wonderful and our weekend break felt like a whole week away! I can highly recommend this establishment for a romantic occasion or a personal pamper never mind the accessibility to world heritage sites virtually around the corner!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer-Sannieshof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Jennifer-Sannieshof,

What a tremendous review and so beautifully written. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with your fellow Tripadvisor users. Your kind feedback on your stay with us will be shared and celebrated with the entire TEAM at the hotel!

We are looking forward to hosting you again soon!

Warm regards,

Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our stay at Mount Grace was nothing short of excellent! The staff was forever smiling, exceptionally helpful and no request was impossible. The rooms are well thought out and very comfortable. The spa was quite a treat and so was the heated pool. The cocktails were also fabulous! I would gladly go back there again and again.

Room Tip: If possible, stick to deluxe rooms and above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Shazz R,

Amazing feedback from a much appreciated guest! Your positive comments on the service experience and responsiveness of our TEAM members are treasured as this sits at the core of our service excellence culture at the hotel. Glad to hear every single team member has gone the extra mile to make your stay a memorable one.

Make sure you come and visit us again soon, so you can enjoy our beautiful spa facilities once more and simply unwind while sipping on a cocktail. That's what I call the 'Mount Grace way'...

Warm regards,


Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
565 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 902 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Mount Grace 4 times during the past eight years. Each visit was truly romantic, tranquil and relaxing. We stayed in the luxury rooms with private pools on our first 3 visits situated lower in the gardens which was magnificent, but during our last stay we had a luxury room with private pool close to the Spa wich was very convienient since the Spa treatments is a heavenly delight. Healthy refreshments is also served at the Spa.

With our last visit 2 years ago we were amazed by the refurbishments, which added a fresh twist to the elegance of Mount Grace.

The buffet breakfast is a feast with everything freshly prepared and a huge selection to suit all tastes.
Dinner at either the a la Carte Rambling Vine or Twist Restaurants is a true cullinary feast.

The rooms look exactly like the pictures on the website - spacious, luxurious and very neat.

On each visit we received excellent service and great effort was made by the staff when we celebrated our Anniversary in September 2010 to lay our table outside with candlelight for a intimate, romantic dinner.

We can't wait for our next visit!

Room Tip: The luxury rooms close to the Spa is convenient and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zerwickrenatevictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear zerwickrenatevictor,

We are delighted to receive your kind recommendations, especially coming from one of our loyal guests throughout the years. The TEAM and I are very excited to hear we have been able to offer you a relaxing experience once again while enjoying some culinary delights at our Twist and Rambling vine restaurant.

Please make sure you pay us another visit again soon!

Kind regards,

Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
2.1 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.3 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.6 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
19.2 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
7.0 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Property: African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Address: Old Rustenburg Rd | Private bag 5004, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one hour's drive from Johannesburg or Pretoria, the exclusive famed African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa is a timeless gem where luxury and peace are in abundance. Oozing old world charm but boasting modern opulence, Mount Grace Country House & Spa is the perfect retreat for team building, conferences and relaxed weekend getaways away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The picturesque country house started life as a private residence and farmhouse and has hosted a number of dignitaries and A-list visitors over the years. Located on a hillside with unspoilt views of the valley and boasting some ten acres of manicured gardens as well as pristine bushveld, the sprawling property is a balm for the city weary soul. Take a leisurely drive along country roads or land in a helicopter. While at the Mount Grace indulge in good food, fine wines and relaxing spa treatments in the award winning Mount Grace Spa. The African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa TEAM prides itself on creating a home away from home for all our GUESTS, where time stands still, allowing you to enjoy that rare opportunity of complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Grace Country House Hotel Magaliesburg
Mount Grace Country House And Spa
Mount Grace Country Hotel
Mount Grace Country Magaliesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing