We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mount Grace Hotel & Spa, Magaliesburg” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mount Grace Hotel & Spa, Magaliesburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Excellent weekend stay, the room (treetops) was fabulous, but paying extra for a room with a small private pool was not necessary, the water was cold and the on-site pool facilities made it an unnecessary extra expense. The first night was a sleepless one due to the mozzies, only found mozzie spray and insecticide in one of the drawers the next day - so pls check the drawers ! The hospitality, service and staff were excellent at the hotel, the spa (they really need some large gowns for larger fuller figures, gown supplied was a bit uncomfortable all day) and the twist restaurant was world-class, simply superb. Very attentive staff, spotless rooms, comfortable beds and decent pillows, beautifully maintained grounds. A definite recommendation if u need some pampered, quiet, kiddie-free time away.

Room Tip: Extra cost for a room with private pool was unnecessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Karen,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Your detailed comments on the service received are much appreciated. I will definitely liaise with spa management to ensure we are able to provide you with gowns for fuller figures upon your next visit to the Mount Grace Country House and Spa.

Looking forward welcoming you back in the Magaliesburg area as soon as you are in need of some pampered, quiet, kiddie-free time away!

Yours sincerely,

Ross Owen - Operations Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    167
    83
    48
    46
See reviews for
81
366
9
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

On Monday 16th January 2012 just before 9am we phoned Mount Grace, were transferred to the restaurant booking section, booked lunch for three people and left a contact number. We arrived at their guard house just after 1pm. The guard contacted someone using an earpiece and a microphone attached to his uniform so we only heard one side of the conversation, he said they were full and could not accommodate us. We then told the guard that we had booked, so he proceeded to contact someone on his two way radio so we could clearly hear both sides of the conversation. The guard explained our position to the gentleman on the other end; the response was remarkable. He said that he did not care if we had booked, the restaurant did not open for lunch to non residents and that casual visitors were not welcome to look around the environment for the price of a lunch. If they wanted to see around they must book an overnight stay”
My wife then directly phoned reservations and she said they were full with a conference and whoever took the booking should not have done so and they could not do anything to help. My wife was then eventually transferred to the manager who confirmed that the person who took the booking should not have done so. The manager said that she would see what she could do and would phone us back.
We discussed our alternatives and decided that we would find somewhere else as even if they found a solution as it would not be a pleasant meal. We were contacted some 10 minutes later and they did offer a table in the Spa with a light lunch menu.

We had an overseas visitor whom we wanted to ensure experienced all the great warmth, service, quality and friendliness of our nation.

This was clearly not achieved or the level of customer service that may be expected from a 5 star rated establishment.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Colin,

On behalf of the management of the Mount Grace Country House and Spa, I would like to offer you my sincere apologies for the embarrassing service breakdown you’ve experienced when visiting our hotel.

Would you be so kind to provide us with your contact details so we can directly liaise with you to rectify the situation (as far as possible) and more importantly use your input in order to improve our internal processes?

I have sent you a direct message via TripAdvisor as well in order to get in touch with you.

Your kind response would be hugely appreciated.

Yours sincerely,

Matthijs van Meurs
Director of Quality and Innovation
Extrabold Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannnesburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

I would like to express our absolute disappointment at the disgusting service recently experienced during a stay at your hotel, including our embarrassment at persuading friends to join us from the 29th December to the 3rd January.

Whilst telephonically confirming our reservations early in November we had enquired as to whether the hotel would be arranging a New Year’s Eve function. We were informed that this was an important event on the hotel calendar and although nothing had been finalised, we were assured of an enjoyable a special dinner/dance evening.
My wife called the hotel on numerous occasions during November and December to confirm this event and was continually advised that a special evening was being planned but no details of the dinner dance were yet available.

On arrival at around 13:00 pm on Saturday, we requested a room in close proximity to our friends who had arrived the day before. We were allocated a room number and advised that it would be available later in the day due to room service being done. We found this quite acceptable and left with our friends to take lunch at a local restaurant.
On arriving back at the hotel reception around 14:45 pm, we were informed that there had been problems with certain bookings and that the room number we had been given was no longer available. We were then given room number 143 and were requested to complete and sign a check-in detail form. On closer scrutiny, I discovered that this form was in the name of another guest and brought this to the attention of the desk clerk.
She then mumbled something about the current chaos and said she would have to call a manager who, after sometime appeared from the back office. We were then informed that we would be upgraded to room 172 being a superior room and sent off with one of the porters.
We arrived at room 172 only to embarrassingly find that it was also occupied. We then proceeded back to the reception again and after much confused discussion between the hotel personnel, were give room 171.

New Year’s eve was an absolute disaster. Not a thing had been organised and on questioning the staff, they were oblivious to a special function of any kind. We were advised that champagne would be served at midnight and that one of the waiters might set up some musical entertainment when he came off duty at 23:00 pm. The majority of the guests were sitting around the hotel discussing their disappointment and disgust at what had transpired on New Year’s eve.

The service during the 2 days that followed was outrageous. There was complete chaos in the bar area and trying to arrange beverages was virtually impossible. Waiters were never anywhere to be found and a simple request for tea and scones on Monday required 3 trips into the hotel to try and arrange. This order eventually arrived without butter and ice for the drinks. On questioning the waitress we were informed that there was no ice left and the butter for the scones was never received.

We paid our bills and departed early yesterday morning appalled by the experience vowing never to return to the Mount Dis-Grace Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your honest feedback!

As discussed, it truly saddens me and the team to hear you have not received the quality service you expect and deserve. I can assure you that offering a consistent high quality guest experience is extremely important to us, hence I would like to sincerely apologise for your disappointing experience.

All the issues have been discussed over the phone including your experiences on New Year's eve and have been raised with all senior management.

I do sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, to make sure that you are well taken care off. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance.

Yours sincerely,

Ross Owen - Operations Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eMalahleni, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

We had some problems on arrival as we had reserved a luxury room with a pool but we were instead initially given a garden room. This resulted in us having to return to reception to get the correct room type. The room required was not ready and we had to wait for about 30 mins before the staff upgraded us to a luxury villa as compensation for the inconvenience (the benefits of being a loyalty member perhaps).

Despite the initial problems the staff went out of their way to provide truly excellent service at all times. They were friendly, efficient and courteous.

The villa was really excellent and the plunge pool perfect for a relaxing dip.

The porterage service by golf cart was excellent and well managed.

We tried both the Rambling Vine and Twist restaurants and found both to be excellent. The lamb shank at the Rambling Vine was amazing - compliments to the chef. The buffet selection at the Twist is wide and the food is fresh and tasty. In keeping with the rest of the establishment the service at both is excellent.

The spa was great and the staff were professional and efficient. The treatments were reasonably priced and delivered all that was promised.

The only other negative aspects that we encountered were two rather odorous areas on the property. The boom-gate entrance to the property had a rather strong sewage smell and the water reservoir next to the road leading to the villas had a strong odour that I would normally associate with decaying algae. I should point out that the odour could only be smelt in the immediate area and it did not intrude on our stay other than when briefly walking past.

All-in-all an excellent resort and I will definitely return.

Mike McC

Room Tip: The luxury villa with plunge pool is truly fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikemccrsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Dear Mike,

Thank you for the overall excellent review. Apologies for the inconvenience experienced upon arrival but its great to hear our team members have managed to make your stay special and memorable. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Ross Owen - Operational Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

I went to the Mount Grace with two girlfriends. It was a last minute decision and though we indicated that the treatment needed to happen upon our arrival the resort was happy to accommodate us. The treatment was exceptional, and though at times we were ignored by the spa staff, I had an overall good experience.

- Gugu, Johannesburg

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuguJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Great to hear you enjoyed your spa experience. We sincerely thank you for taking the time to post your positive review on tripadvisor...

At your service,

Ross Owen - Operational Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Our experience didnt start very well for us, as the room we were booked in was not what we had requested. We missed breakfast so we had to order room service, the food was so dry at some point i thought i had cut my lip with the hashbrown. Decided to speak to reception to find out if we can change our room for the rest of our stay.The staff was more than happy to assist and the room we got was very excellent with the perfect views and bathroom. The spa experience was out of this world. the facilities in excellent conditions. our overall experience at Mount Grace was wonderful, relaxing and very rejuvenating.Big thank you to the very friendly hotel staff, you guys are what made the whole experience extra special.

Room Tip: 206 has great views and is very close to the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Our sincere apologies for the "false start" you experienced when visiting our hotel. But we are thrilled to hear we were able to turn around your experience and make it a memorable one...

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours sincerely,

Ross Owen - Operations Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Though i only spent one night, Mount Grace was an excellent breakaway from the hectic and rapid environment of Gauteng. Idyllic surrounding brought immediate rejuvenation! The coffee machine in-room was fantastic, simple-to-use and most refreshing. Though i did not get to use the plunge pool outside my room, it could have been most revitalising. Thank you for taking the effort in ensuring that my HALAAL MEALS were catered for from an outside caterer, the meals were great. Your breakfast selection was fresh and very tasteful. I will definitely be back, with my wife.

Room Tip: The golf carts, though efficient take quite a while to get to the room, so book your pick-up well in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FErnestCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Big thank you for your amazing comments! We are absolutely thrilled to hear that we were able to make your stay memorable by delivering great South African hospitality!! Next time, dont forget to jump into the beautiful plunge pool.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon!

At your service,

Ross Owen - Operations Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
0.0 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.3 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.5 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
7.0 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
19.2 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 6 in Muldersdrift
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Property: African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Address: Old Rustenburg Rd | Private bag 5004, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one hour's drive from Johannesburg or Pretoria, the exclusive famed African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa is a timeless gem where luxury and peace are in abundance. Oozing old world charm but boasting modern opulence, Mount Grace Country House & Spa is the perfect retreat for team building, conferences and relaxed weekend getaways away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The picturesque country house started life as a private residence and farmhouse and has hosted a number of dignitaries and A-list visitors over the years. Located on a hillside with unspoilt views of the valley and boasting some ten acres of manicured gardens as well as pristine bushveld, the sprawling property is a balm for the city weary soul. Take a leisurely drive along country roads or land in a helicopter. While at the Mount Grace indulge in good food, fine wines and relaxing spa treatments in the award winning Mount Grace Spa. The African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa TEAM prides itself on creating a home away from home for all our GUESTS, where time stands still, allowing you to enjoy that rare opportunity of complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Grace Country House Hotel Magaliesburg
Mount Grace Country House And Spa
Mount Grace Country Hotel
Mount Grace Country Magaliesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing