We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will definitely return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
De Hoek Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“will definitely return”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

The attention to detail was fantastic, lovely venue, food was fantastic (consistently) and they know about great service and how to treat their guests and make them feel special. Spa treatments were incredible. I was very sick with the flu and was most impressed with the staff sending me a pot of ginger and honey tea to my room, the personal touch was great. We stayed in the older wing and would like to return and stay in the newer more modern rooms. Lovely weekend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tamsynite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    96
    37
    11
    3
See reviews for
24
285
5
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

For an expensive weekend at a five star hotel, I would have at least expected a greeting at the reception, a welcome drink and a brief overview of what went on at the hotel during the day, where to find the dining room, lounge etc. however this was not the case. Our bath towels had holes in them, the bath mat was tatty, and we were told we couldn't order cake or something to eat with our tea. The setting of the hotel is lovely, the dining staff were excellent and the meals were outstanding but a very expensive weekend for what you actually get. Although the weekend was pleasant overall, value for money we would not return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Robhan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

A charming setting and a nice look from the bridge over the river. The check in was swift and we settled in to the North Quarter room. The toy on the bed was a nice touch. However the room is quite basic and the porter did not show us how the various controls worked especially for the underfloor heating ! We later found out it was on max as was the oil heater in the room. Dinner was superb but the service was not great. Having mentioned it was my Birthday on booking as well as to the evening staff there was no extra touch until sharing a breakfast table with other guests got some attention and a small rich chocolate cake arrived with two candles.
Outside our room was a bright light and the blinds have no way to shut out the all night glow - I have to sleep in total darkness so had a very restless night. Also I expect at least 3 pillows per person in a luxury establishment and only two are provided, one of which was a Feather Down type pillow to which I am allergic.
The bathroom is well appointed with a large bath and good fittings yet the shower head only reached my nose! A nice rain head which I could not use unless kneeling in the shower!
While the food was very well presented yet I had to ask staff to check with the kitchen for allergens not stated on the menu or by the staff when serving various items. This calibre of Hotel needs to be mindful of guest requirements and legislation obligations.
The Main House is a key attraction as there is not much to do at De Hoek except eat and sleep and maybe read in the two lounges or drink at the bar. This is for a winter experience so no pool use and there were no indoor facilities such as a jacuzzi or spa. Travelling massages can be booked but this should be done in advance of arrival [ if you knew you needed to].
While the Main House is quaint it is not accessible by those in a wheelchair nor are any of the New Quarter rooms. Everywhere has steps and even inside the Main House the ground floor has varying floor levels with unmarked tripping hazards [ I am a Safety and Health Auditor so I can't help notice such things]. The staff did say the new conference venue has disabled access provided to it's facilities.
Breakfast guests were pondering what to do for the day so maybe archery , a walk in the grounds and getting into a book or board game by the fire are the main things out of your room to keep you occupied.
De Hoek has a lot of potential but needs to live up to the 5 Star grading when some 3 Star hotels we have stayed in surpass them in many areas. It just needs a little more than what it is offering right now and it will be truly a Country Gem.

Room Tip: North Quarter rooms are quiet, but bring your own pillow. Nice view across a meadow but keep the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaintBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We went to this hotel to celebrate my husband's birthday. As everyone else on this page agrees - the setting is tranquil and idyllic, but not 5 star.

Being there at the end of winter, finding they had underfloor heating (even in the bathroom) was a bonus, but we weren't shown where or how to adjust it - and when we did find it (the next morning), the settings have white writing on a white background. The temperature had been set at 30 degrees, and we had been unable to sleep, despite throwing the duvet off. The aircon appeared to not be working.

2 thin pillows were provided per person - 1 foam and 1 feather. I was eventually able to mold the feather one to get some support, but my neck is still sore. We weren't told about the pillows, and my husband is allergic to feather duvets and pillows.

We were in North Quarter 1 - and while the room had blackout curtains and roman blinds, with the outside light (for the stairs) being directly outside the window, light still streamed in from the sides of the blinds, as well as the window above the door, which had no covering whatsoever.

Agreed that the main thing to do there is eat... prepare to spend 2 hours for dinner. We ordered our entire meal (including dessert) up front, but when it was time for dessert... no less than 5 waiters came to ask for our order - it was only the last one who admitted that they had no record of our original order given around an hour previously (and we repeated this order 5 times before it arrived).

The hairdryer only worked on the 2nd setting, not the first.

The only reason we might consider returning is if/when hot air ballooning is offered there again, and for a 4am lift-off, being close makes sense, but we'll bring our own pillows.

Room Tip: Bring Extra pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mills9434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

From the moment you arrive, you appreciate that all the awards on display are there by right. Our greeting on arrival was warm and welcoming, the check-in was fast and efficient and the room awaiting us in the New Quarter was magnificent. In particular, small homely touches like the cuddly lion on the bed and the cheerful duck on the edge of the floating bath in an otherwise super modern bathroom made one feel instantly at home. Delicate porcelain cups may be filled from the Nespresso machine, providing a good cup of coffee to be enjoyed along with a selection of cookies, outside on the sunny patio. The "manor house" is magnificent! Beautiful crystal bowls filled with sweet-scented roses and lilies, silverware collections and couches that invite an afternoon snooze. The place gleams from top to bottom - old waxed floors, sparkling chandeliers and brass fixtures glowing in the soft candlelight at dinnertime. The food is a feast, not only for the body but also for the spirit. Tiny sprigs of hand-tied garnish adorn the plates, providing a meal that not only feeds the stomach, but also the eyes. A great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of real life.

Room Tip: While the New Quarter rooms are beautifully furnished and offer all the top-of-the range fixtures, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Was an absolutely wonderful weekend. From the moment we arrived to when we left everything was perfect. The staff are friendly, helpful and always smiling. The food was delicious - the butternut risotto that I had on the one evening was out of this world. The rooms are stylish and cosy!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NatashaLuyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

What a beautiful location to spend a few days! The rooms were brand new (in the New Quarter where we stayed) with super attention to detail - including a heater put on in the bedroom one evening when it was especially chilly.

The backdrop of the Magaliesburg is spectacular and you really feel at peace.

The service experience was spot on - as I said, the attention to detail was what really made the experience special. The food was perfect in terms of menu and preparation, too.

I loved it, and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoziMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
2.0 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
0.6 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
259 reviews
3.1 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
54 reviews
15.8 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
326 reviews
7.8 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Hoek Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Hoek Country Hotel

Property: De Hoek Country Hotel
Address: Portion 7 | Zeekoehoek, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De Hoek Country Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a crook of the Magalies River in the lush and fertile valley of the Magaliesburg Mountains and only an hour and fifteen minutes away from Johannesburg and Pretoria, De Hoek Country Hotel is the ideal place to celebrate life. Whether you come to stay for a romantic getaway, an executive conference, a bespoke wedding or just to unwind in a tranquil setting; you’re bound to enjoy our warm hospitality. Coupled with excellent 5 star service and superb cuisine, De Hoek proudly continues to satisfy a wide clientele from all over the world. The successful team, with the continued loyalty and commitment of the De Hoek staff, continue to uphold the values that make the award winning hotel, a prized gem in a highly competitive hospitality industry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your De Hoek Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Hoek Country House Hotel Magaliesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing