We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fanatstic Country Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
De Hoek Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg , South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fanatstic Country Stay”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We celebrated our anniversary at De Hoek recently. It is a very we'll run country house with excellent staff and a wonderful ambiance. The rooms were beautifully furnished , bathroom was spacious and the views from the room were great. The restaurant like always did not disappoint. The food was well prepared and served beautifully. The new rooms and conference centre look fantastic and I am sure it will only add the the wonderful experience at De Hoek.

Room Tip: All the rooms deliver the same quality views and accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bathawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    93
    36
    11
    3
See reviews for
23
279
5
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Over the years we always go back to De Hoek. It is still one of our favourite destinations. We stayed in the newly build wing - penthouse suite. Classic, luxurious, modern lots of space. As always all the staff looks after every need, extra coffee, fresh milk, a special starter arranged for us by Henry. I can go on and on. We will always go back to De Hoek!! It is a short trip optimising our relaxing in pure luxury. Michael and Team - you have perfected the recipe. See you soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I've been visiting De Hoek for many, many years, and I am pleased to report that, by and large, it has kept up its high standards of service. Located in the beautiful Magaliesburg hills 90 minutes outside of Johannesburg, it is a deluxe rural hotel, a secluded sanctuary with extremely friendly and forthcoming staff, very comfortable rooms, and a very good restaurant with excellent food. The grounds are immaculate and serene. Yes, perhaps the restaurant service could be a bit more attentive at times, but the staff is very accommodating and helpful--they genuinely appear happy to make you comfortable. There are various activities they can arrange for you, but the real joy of De Hoek is sitting on your balcony and reveling in the silence. For first-time visitors to Africa, it is also an ideal place to relax from jet lag before starting your trip to see wild animals. I can hardly wait to return to its peacefulness.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuckernyc2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

out in the country side, De Hoek is an elegant retreat from city bustle. The ambiance is extremely tranquil as one is surrounded by classic style and antique pieces. We ate at the relatively new Bistro which boasts sweeping vistas of the estate; one is almost compelled to want to try a spot of croquet on the lawns it were on offer.

The food is delicious with each plate carefully prepared. Each dish is a combination of rich flavours that have my mouth watering as I type this. The service is of a high standard and the staff go out of their way to ensure you are comfortable and satisfied. I Highly recommend De Hoek for a romantic meal or simply to catch up with friends for a Sunday lunch. It may be far, but is worth the drive, as the scenery is beautiful. Make sure you know exactly how to get there as you may be easily lost.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johberg_Diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Beautiful setting and comfortable stay. We have stayed here a number of times, mostly because of the excellent food - it was as delicious as always! We were booked into the new wing - very modern and stylish and a wonderful sense of space. But we did miss the comfort and cosiness of the older more established rooms. Staying at De Hoek is always a special time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DLS_Shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Beautiful, peaceful location. Ideal for a weekend away from stressful city life. About 1 hour from Gauteng. Lovely gardens and views. Spacious, clean and comfortable rooms. Supper - starters good, mains mediocre (yes, afraid so), deserts good. Dining staff well trained, polite and efficient - a rare find indeed. We were surprised and disappointed that the breakfast menu did not include an English brekky. First time we have encountered such a dilemma from Perth to Padstow! Come on guys, just keep that one packet of bacon defrosted for the old-fashioned traditionalists (we would mention that the offer was made to defrost bacon for us, really?) non non monsieur. Would I stay there again, yes perhaps, but a liiiiitle bit pricey if one considers that you haven't quite checked all my 5-star boxes.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

An unforgetable 50th wedding anniversary! Staff friendly, knowledgeable, tidy and most helpfull. Food excellent. Room was neat and tidy. Service on all levels above par. What more can we say? A suggestion - what about some handles in the bathroom to assist us getting out of the full-size bath?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roelf Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
2.0 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
0.6 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
3.1 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
15.8 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
7.8 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Hoek Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Hoek Country Hotel

Property: De Hoek Country Hotel
Address: Portion 7 | Zeekoehoek, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De Hoek Country Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a crook of the Magalies River in the lush and fertile valley of the Magaliesburg Mountains and only an hour and fifteen minutes away from Johannesburg and Pretoria, De Hoek Country Hotel is the ideal place to celebrate life. Whether you come to stay for a romantic getaway, an executive conference, a bespoke wedding or just to unwind in a tranquil setting; you’re bound to enjoy our warm hospitality. Coupled with excellent 5 star service and superb cuisine, De Hoek proudly continues to satisfy a wide clientele from all over the world. The successful team, with the continued loyalty and commitment of the De Hoek staff, continue to uphold the values that make the award winning hotel, a prized gem in a highly competitive hospitality industry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your De Hoek Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Hoek Country House Hotel Magaliesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing