We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Breakaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Hoek Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Hoek Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Randfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Real Breakaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Beautiful grounds, house and rooms. You can't ask for a more stunning yet serene atmosphere. Service excellent. I would have liked to get more info on what; where and when, after we've arrived as we did feel a bit lost the first evening. The food was excellent and we loved it, from the 5* dinner to the gourmet picnic hamper . There could have been a greater variety at breakfast as there was salmon on the Friday dinner menu and as the star in 2 breakfast dishes on both mornings. But hats off to their personal touches and special treats like the birthday cake that they presented me with. A lovely gesture. What a wonderful experience and thanks to the staff for this exceptional weekend

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Elzabe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    90
    35
    10
    3
See reviews for
21
265
5
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

During our weekend in Magaliesburg we visited De Hoek Country House. We were greeted with welcome friendliness by a young lady in the Reception area who gave us a guided tour of the hotel. The rooms are tastefully decorated and there is a choice of old world or modern. The grounds and atmosphere are charming. Sadly, due to time restraint we were unable to sample a meal in their highly acclaimed restaurant but I have no doubt we will return to De Hoek Country House. Thank you for your warm welcome.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collette6121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

The biltong was bland...
Books need to be updated in the lounge.. the same as 3 years ago..
TV guidelines on how to use needs to be updated.
Restaurant menu needs to be more extensive.
Beds are old and need to have new mattresses

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Room great, food awesome, service world class, very relaxing atmosphere. Great recommendation for couples looking for a one night stay break away less than an hour from Pretoria and Johannesburg. Enjoy

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We love De Hoek - the atmosphere, the food and the friendly attentive staff - nothing was too much trouble.
Some minor constructive criticism:
Room 8. The bed was not as comfortable as we had hoped.TV - we were not that interested in TV but the available DSTV bouquet on the new system looked a bit limited.Spacious bathroom is great but a common complaint in hotels is please could there be a better light for make -up and shaving. My wife's spa treatments were disappointing - not up to the De Hoek standard.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank HumphL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
255 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful experience to visit such a fabulous venue. The reception was warm and welcoming. We have previously stayed in the "established and romantic" rooms (which were great!) but the new additions were different: stylish and modren! There is a new bistro added to supplement the more formal restaurant which is excellently run by Chef Michael and supported by his wife Michelle. My Veal Escalopes were perfect and the Tarte Tatin was great.
Good service and wonderful surroundings make De Hoek Country House a fabulous week-end get away! The conference facilities has also been extended with the new rooms: a venue well worth investigating.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Johann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanderbijlpark
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We won the weekend as a prize. We stayed in the new rooms, the only problem was to get back to the room in the evening, supply a torch in the room. You will have to get disabled friendly, build ramps, etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Theo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
2.1 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
0.7 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
3.4 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
14.7 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 6 in Muldersdrift
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
7.7 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Hoek Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Hoek Country Hotel

Property: De Hoek Country Hotel
Address: Portion 7 | Zeekoehoek, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De Hoek Country Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well known five star property situated just outside of Magaliesburg, approximately an hour from Johannesburg. This magnificent hotel boasts cuisine extraordinaire, freshly prepared for you by Swiss-trained Master Chef and co-owner, Michael Holenstein. On-site activities include archery, mountain rambles, lawn croquet, boule and swimming. De Hoek is the epitome of what an escape to a country house should be. Great location, excellent food, and serene surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your De Hoek Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Hoek Country House Hotel Magaliesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing