We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Veal & Parmiginao Risotto was simply sublime!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Hoek Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Hoek Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Lanseria, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Veal & Parmiginao Risotto was simply sublime!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

My wife spoiled me for fathers day and took me out for lunch to De Hoek Country House situated at the foothills of the Magaliesburg Mountains. This is a side of the Magliesburg I had never visited and I must say I will return and definitely consider De Hoek as a place to stay. The winding roads leading to De Hoek are very picturesque and one gets the feeling that you are truly in the mountains without the overplayed touristy vibe. The restaurant is superb with huge wooden gables and has a distinctly Swiss charisma with heavy wooden furniture and luxury finishes all round. My only criticism is that the giant fireplace didn't have a crackling log fire as the day was particularly chilly which meant we had to dine with our jackets on.

The table d'hote menu allowed one a sumptuous choice of cold appetisers, soup or warm hors d'ouevres, followed by a lemon sorbet, a choice of entrees including fillet, roast pork belly an line fish which is rounded off by a choice of desert trios. The wines on offer are extensive and some of South Africa's rare award winners can be found there, albeit at a bit of a premium.

On arrival we were offered a welcome drink and both opted for Glühwein which was prepared perfectly and warmed us up nicely - not to mention adding to the Swiss Ski Lodge atmosphere. Both my wife and I had the veal parmigiano risotto as an hors d' oevre and it was simply sublime! After our lemon sorbet had cleared the palate we both chose the herb encrusted fillét with mash and rattartoulie which was cooked to perfection. For desert, my wife chose the trio of creme brûlées of which she only enjoyed the classic vanilla & caramel, but then again she is not a desert person, I can attest the other two, coffee and passion fruit, were just as delicious. I selected the trio of baked puddings which consisted of bread and butter pudding, Malva pudding and a chocolate brownie with ice cream, all of which were fantastic and sweetly rounded off this gourmet meal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Swissfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    90
    35
    10
    3
See reviews for
21
264
5
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

My team and I spent 2 days and 1 night at De Hoek last week. It's a great place for a small conference. I believe that there are around 20 rooms, so unless you are sharing with your colleagues, 20 would be the max for an overnight conference.

The conference room was nice and big, and in a beautiful setting. The tea and coffee / waters / snacks etc provided were all of a good standard, and the staff were very helpful and dedicated in making our stay as perfect as possible.

We had a great set menu for dinner, which was beautifully cooked. I really enjoyed the cheese souffle especially!

The rooms are all very nicely decorated, in a classic, homely style. They are spacious, and have comfortable beds. I would have liked to spend more time relaxing in the room!

Check the directions before driving to de Hoek - i relied on my GPS which took me on a rather roundabout way. The directions provided by De Hoek are much better!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SH27380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

My husband and I enjoy the odd escape to the countryside combined with a touch of luxury! This place does it all for us, from the peaceful babble of the river, the wind in the abundant tall trees, interesting menu, great wines & comfortable suites. The staff are friendly and service is excellent. Book a picnic down by the river if you arrive at lunch time, take running shoes and run around the area or simply a good book to read while lying by the pool. We listened to a series of talks on the iPad and found this setting to be ideal for discussion & affirmation, so enjoyable! We'll definitely be back for our 5th visit soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tryscorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

It is sad, in this day and age when everyone is battling to make ends meet to have this kind of Country Lodge knocked because there wasn't enough toilet paper! How much do you need at one time? If you can't afford the wine don't drink it, life is about choices. I didn't think it was that bad.

We have just had the most glorious summer break at this gem. Thank you to all the staff for the most wonderful service. The food is some of the best you will get anywhere. Rejoice in what we have in this country acknowledge the good.

Room Tip: Stay in the North Quarter, we did and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
183 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

We went there for a function and stayed over. The welcome was up to standard with welcome drinks and all. The room was spacious but had no Air conditioner, the bathroom was small with no shower , but more worrying was that they only had half a toilet roll in the bathroom and we had to go to the hotel guest bathroom to get more .The wine prices were bordering on embezzlement some wine were 600% more than bottle store prices, One can understand that profit must be made , but so much.
nothing can be taken away from the setting , its is beautiful birds tweeting and clean air ,

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pietuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

For many years, both while I lived in Botswana and when I would return to visit friends there, I have spent many lovely times at De Hoek. The high level of service has been maintained for many years, with comfortable accommodations, superb dining, and informal elegance. This is not a place for people who feel they must be connnected to the world 24/7: there is no internet service, and cell phone coverage can be spotty (the rooms do have TV). But for a welcoming, relaxing time away from the ugliness of the world, there are few places of comparable serenity, comfort, and privacy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuckernyc2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

Thank you to the whole team at De Hoek, what a magical weekend away to celebrate our 15 year anniversary and also the upcoming birth of our daughter!

Special mention needs to go to every staff member, from the lady who cleaned our room and brought extra biscuits “for the baby”, to the man in the bar who just magically appeared every time we walked in, to the waiting team who professionally served us too many meals and bought me decaf coffee every morning, and finally to the chef and kitchen for making such wonderfully delicious meals from sun up to sun down.

De Hoek deserve every award you have, and more!

You are a credit to the hospitality industry and many others could learn lessons from your professional and friendly service.

Keep it up and I look forward to returning one day soon on a weekend away without child!

Tina Craig

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
2.1 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
0.7 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
3.4 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
14.7 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 6 in Muldersdrift
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
20.4 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 6 in Muldersdrift
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Hoek Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Hoek Country Hotel

Property: De Hoek Country Hotel
Address: Portion 7 | Zeekoehoek, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — De Hoek Country Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well known five star property situated just outside of Magaliesburg, approximately an hour from Johannesburg. This magnificent hotel boasts cuisine extraordinaire, freshly prepared for you by Swiss-trained Master Chef and co-owner, Michael Holenstein. On-site activities include archery, mountain rambles, lawn croquet, boule and swimming. De Hoek is the epitome of what an escape to a country house should be. Great location, excellent food, and serene surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your De Hoek Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Hoek Country House Hotel Magaliesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing