We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magaliesburg visit”
Review of Intaba Thulile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Intaba Thulile
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magaliesburg visit”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Superb location, much wildlife, animals and bird-life. Nice, but challenging hikes.. Very tastefully decorated and very functional acommodation.
Very friendly and knowledgeable host. Lovely venue for a day or 2 getaway from city life.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Peta-ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    38
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
58
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights after busy 3 days in Johannesburg for Joy of Jazz festival. Lovely place to unwind and explore surrounding area. Cottage is well equipped and comfortable, and as others have said, Joanne is an excellent hostess. Only negative was that the lighting at night was not good enough for reading, so the addition of one or two reading lamps would be good. Saw giraffe and buck on our walk about the farm. Unfortunately we did not have time to take the trail to the top of the mountain. A good alternative is the cableway at Hartebeespoort dam (about 30km away), which offers a circular walk at the top of the mountain, with a 360 deg view of the surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SparkyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had a really wonderful weekend away at Intaba Thulile. The cottage was cosy and comfortable and Joanne was a warm and very friendly hostess. There are some lovely walks in the surrounding area and we saw plenty of wildlife. We will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank QuickFox82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

What an excellent holiday, I spent 2 night with my cousin & it was exactly what we needed. Joanne has such a warm heart & so as Luthando who's an employee at the farm. The service is way beyond excellent, I can't wait to go back again in November. And I will be spreading the word about your place Joanne.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thabile2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magaliesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Spent the weekend with the kids, it was very comfortable, white crisp bedding, white fluffy towels and the heaters in all the rooms were wonderfull. We enjoyed the view of the sunrises and sunsets over the mountains from the large stoep. I would recommend Intabathulile to anybody that need a restfull break.

Room Tip: We stayed inthe Sotho cottage that was at the end and in the front row.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Thanks Joanne for sharing the beautiful piece of land with us, I really appreciated the cleanliness of the whole space and the decor is perfect. The views are superb and seeing the animals was a plus. We'll be back that's for sure, I'll be spreading the word about this hidden treasure. LOVED IT.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaytreasures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My weekend in Magaliesberg was my first trip away with my new boyfriend, and I'm so glad we chose Intaba Thulile. We had a lovely hike up and along the mountain in the morning, and finished off the day relaxing by the pool. The rooms and facilities were all in great condition, and the owner, Joanne, was extremely kind, considerate and accommodating. Many other places in our price-range honestly looked a little tired and dated, but the chalets at Intaba Thulile had a fresh look and feel to them (simple décor, but great taste, and useful amenities like a shower with strong pressure - I hate insipid showers). This, combined with the affordable price, beautiful scenery, and Joanne's helpfulness made for an amazing weekend away. I don't often feel compelled to leave reviews (this is my first one on TripAdvisor), but in this case I wanted to make the effort - Joanne was so accommodating with us (very understanding about our very vague arrival time, and organised a bit of a more-private chalet for us, just to name 2 things!). I hope this review will encourage people to choose Intaba Thulile - I would certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamanthaJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magaliesburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
0.0 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thaba Manzi Ranch
Thaba Manzi Ranch
#16 of 26 in Magaliesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olive Tree Farm
Olive Tree Farm
#1 of 10 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Intaba Thulile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intaba Thulile

Property: Intaba Thulile
Address: Marikana Road | Maanhaarand, North West, Magaliesburg, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Magaliesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Intaba Thulile 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Intaba Thulile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing