We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic secluded get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Phefumula

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magaliesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phefumula
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Romantic secluded get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

If you;re looking to get away and have absolute privacy in a very romantic setting, Phefumula is for you! A private jacuzzi and log fire kept us warm and scenic walking trails kept us busy. The cottages have all you need and if you do the self catering option be sure to take all the food you'll need as shops are quite far away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bronseaborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
25
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great luxury cottage close to Jhb, Jennifer and Dave could not do enough for us. Great food, location and beautiful scenery! Scenic horse trails catering for those who have never ridden before to experienced drovers.

And if you get a thirst up there are two breweries close by....

Room Tip: No fitness centre or pool but rooms have jacuzzi. Can't erase stars once put in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hokoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magaliesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful weekend. This was what we needed and more than what we expected. The chalet was beautiful and warm during the cold winter nights with the fireplace. The bathroom was very well appointed and big, unfortunetely we did not make use of the outside shower... will have to come back in the summer. We did however make use of the outside jacuzzi. The meals were wonderfull and tasty and the service was brilliant, not intrusive. Will be back! Please note the dirt road is not for your luxury sedans.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

What an absolutely amazing place for a romantic getaway. Jacuzzi warm and ready to her into on arrival.
- perfect for a time out from Jozi. Service and place is unbelievable. Horse riding was just the cherry on top!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

Very nice place for trekking, Horse Riding or for a romantic week end
One hour from joburg

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAMJBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magaliesburg hotels
1.2 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
3.1 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
2.9 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Roan Country Lodge
Blue Roan Country Lodge
#2 of 26 in Magaliesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phefumula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phefumula

Property: Phefumula
Address: R24 X Vlaksfontein rd, Magaliesburg 1739, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Magaliesburg
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing