We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Edgar's @ Stonehill 2”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stone Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stone Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Edgar's @ Stonehill 2”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Hi, This is second toime we have stayed at Stonehill and found it to be a great place to relax and walk our Dog Tulip. The facilities are excellent and the welcome is very friendly. We have found a gem.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Stewart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    37
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
110
83
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Wonderful hospitality. The most comfortable bed I have EVER slept in (and thats after staying in some top 5* hotels around the world). Lovely property, my dogs had a ball. Very accommodating and highly recommended!!! Just so cosy and all that you need for a getaway with your pets away from Joburg

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan & Andre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

A very pleasant stay-clean, well equipped, private and roomy chalets-friendly personal welcome by the owner-and the dogs loved it! Well kitted out for a cold winter weekend. Highly recommended for a quick getaway from Jhb.


  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Our first encounter at Stone Hill yielded two cottages and tons of space and fresh air. We returned a year later to find more cottages but still the serenity and piece as each one is separate and away from the others. You don't even know there is somebody else there. Best of all, it is pet friendly and the cottages are enclosed so you can take your furry babies with. Caroline is the perfect hostess and we are really keen to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nats1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

We have been to Stone Hill a number of times. We enjoy the peace and tranquillity. The dogs love the long walks!!
From the moment you arrive, you are made to feel so welcome and special.
We will be back again and again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Great weekend with my wife and I and our two dogs, everything was just magic, will definitely be back!!! Next time bringing more family members, great walk and just such terrific scenery! Hosts were ultra helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

My family and I recently spent an enchanting weekend at Stone Hill in the Magaliesburg; made even more special by the fact that our two labradors and standard poodle were also made to feel so welcome from the moment we arrived. The comfortable cottage had a fenced off garden and the cottage had been appointed with a great deal of care and passion. There are lovely walks to be enjoyed with your pets and the time spent at the river with our dogs was a complete joy and will remain a very happy memory for the rest of my life. This quiet and relaxing weekend was a very refreshing time-out from all our busy schedules and gave the family time to catch-up with each other and even play board games!

Room Tip: One is able to order-in if you haven't got time to self cater
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magaliesburg hotels
2.3 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.1 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
1.1 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
2.0 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Roan Country Lodge
Blue Roan Country Lodge
#2 of 26 in Magaliesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Hill

Property: Stone Hill
Address: Farm KN 13 | Steenekoppies, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Magaliesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stone Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Stone Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing