We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous getaway at Stone-Hill”
Review of Stone Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stone Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a wonderful time away especially because our dogs were with us and not only were the facilities well equipped for us, but most importantly for our dogs. The owners provide a personal touch to your visit and were friendly and accommodating which left a great lasting impression. We would definitely go back and recommend Stone-Hill.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank DarrynLeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 248 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hosts, Caroline and Mark, were extremely friendly and made us feel really special. The accommodation was of a high standard, very clean and well-kept. So surprised to find that literally everything was in the unit (including paper towels, scissors, braai tongs and a "poop-scoop"). Definitely one of the best places I have visited. The best part for me was that our dogs could join us. They thoroughly enjoyed the daily walks. We were all so sad to leave, but we will be back as soon and as often as we can :-)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Crystal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

As always, we had a fantastic time! Our home away from home and the best part, with our dogs! Tinka & Benny loved the walks and even had a swim in the river! Will definately be back! Perfect getaway in an awesome setting with lovely hosts! John, Natasha, Tinka & Benny Morris



  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank John & Natasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

A great place to relax and unwind with an added bonus of being close to either Pretoria or Johannesburg. For pet owners at definite must to try out. Our time was spent walking with the dogs, lazing round the log cabin and enjoying a braai and taking in the spectacular views. A really enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Reinier & Elsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We alway have a lovely visit at Stone Hill. The staff is always freindly and helpful. The ownes Caroline and Mark are like family to us. We have visited Stone Hill five time already and are going back again in July 2014 and Dec 2014. Thanks Caroline, Mark and staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Suzette & Hans D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had our annual holiday (including the two Yorkies and have stopped counting how many times we have done this) once again at Stone Hill. This is the only facility that I know of that actually caters for Pets, and not just tolerate them.

The accommodation is extremely comfortable, private and clean. Everything you need is there. The cottages are 30+ meters apart and this is on a "farm", just the place to come and relax. The individual "garden" is perfect for the dogs to enjoy and play in.

The pool area has a stunning view and is perfect for a sun downer. We also enjoy the very well kept walking routes, the 2.5km for the dogs and the 5km when we want some exercise.

We feel extremely safe there and have never had any security issues in all the years we have been staying there.

Caroline and Mark are the perfect hosts and have become like family to us. They are also very familiar with the area and have some good advice regarding places to go to or avoid in the areas.

Every time we go there, we find something different, something new, something improved and are not surprised that Stone Hill has been upgraded to 4 Star statuses.

If you are looking for a relaxing, comfortable homely kind of breakaway, this is the place to go. It is only an hour’s drive from Pretoria East, almost close enough to pop home if you forget something.

Some years we go 3 times a year, the perfect getaway, even without dogs.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had a truly relaxing break on our second visit to Stone Hill. They provide attentive service, while respecting visitors privacy. Friendly & efficient cleaning staff. Lovely walks. Well appointed chalets. A wonderful pet-friendly getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magaliesburg hotels
2.3 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
62 reviews
1.1 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
1.1 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Woodland Gardens
Woodland Gardens
#4 of 10 in Magaliesburg
5 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rose Well Country House and Spa
Rose Well Country House and Spa
#9 of 10 in Magaliesburg
11 reviews
4.3 mi away
Blue Roan Country Lodge
Blue Roan Country Lodge
#1 of 31 in Magaliesburg
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Hill

Address: Farm KN 13 | Steenekoppies, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Magaliesburg
Price Range: $94 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stone Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Stone Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing