We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST SECRET SPOT I EVER HAVE BEEN TO”
Review of Ibis River Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ibis River Retreat
Reviewed April 4, 2011

I have just returned from my second stay at Ibus River Retreat and as much as I would like to keep the venue a secret to others ( as I would like to stay so exclusive!) I must leave a comliment! From the moment you meet Ilse and her staff, to the accomodation where you have complimentary delicious pate and biscuits and champagne waiting in the fridge, plus other essentials like coffee, tea, sugar,milk, to the breathtaking views, african sunsets, jacuzzu's and so much more! All the accomodation is seperate from the rest and you have total privacy...awsomely amazing and we will be back soon!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hendrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2011

Our stay at Ibis river retreat was truly wonderful - it is a bit out of the way and the drive on the sand road is a bit harrowing if you do not have a 4x4 but when you get there it is all worth it.
Our host Ilse was very accommodating and overall we had a lovely romantic week end away. I would recommend to anyone who needs a weekend away from the bustle of everyday life.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katejager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

I rarely leave negative reviews but having stayed in many locations in Africa, Ibis river retreat have left us with the most bitter taste in our mouths. We were treated very badly by the staff and the manager when staying to attend a wedding at a neighbouring estate. When we enquired about a taxi to return from the wedding they even suggested that since there are no checkpoints in that part of the countryside that if we had our own transport, a taxi would not be necessary, even after festivities! We were not impressed!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

Ibis River Retreat consists of five stunning cottages set in the heart of the beautiful Rhenosterspruit Nature Reserve near Magaliesburg. It is only about 40 minutes drive from Johannesburg. We have stayed here four times and cannot resist going back again and again.
Each cottage has a very private feel to it and is beautifully decorated with exquisute attention to detail. These cottages are self-catering and contain every amenity you could think of- from caftiere, to candles and gas-lamps to mosquito repellent to African soaps and hand cream. Cleanliness is superb and the cottages and outside area are thoroughly cleaned daily. The decor in the cottage we stay in is very African- from the pictures to the cotton bed sheets embriodered with African design.
The private outside areas are simply amazing, with views of the river and hills. The gardens are large and mature, with full braai (BBQ) facilities, large outdoor eating areas and your own private jacuzzi. We spent every night braaing under the stars, listening to the sounds of the river and wildlife- birds, frogs and insects all in chorus. We even saw several wildebeest coming to the river to drink on a few occasions.
If you would rather not self-cater, there is the option to request food brought to your cottage from a very good menu- the food is superb. There is also an excellent spa, offreing a wide range of treatments. The river is a few minutes away and has picnic areas on the path, perfect for having a glass of wine while the sun sets- that is, if you can drag yourself away from your own jacuzzi and terrace.
The hosts (Mr and Mrs Klemm) are a lovely couple who have thought of everything to make your stay as relaxing as possible. They are so considerate, friendly and truly concerned to ensure that you are happy and well looked after. Nothing is too much trouble for them, and they have clearly worked hard to set up and maintain this beautiful retreat.
So, if you wish to escape the humdrum of life, chill-out, and refresh you soul by being in the heart of nature and yet with luxury and all that you could wish for in a holiday home- this is it. A truly stunning place to stay that is excellent value for money, we will go back again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doclecocq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magaliesburg hotels
236.6 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
62 reviews
235.0 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
233.7 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
236.3 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
542 reviews
257.6 mi away
Willinga Lodge
Willinga Lodge
#5 of 10 in Magaliesburg
29 reviews
238.5 mi away
Thaba Manzi Ranch
Thaba Manzi Ranch
#16 of 29 in Magaliesburg
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis River Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis River Retreat

Address: 16 Vlakfontein, Magaliesburg, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Magaliesburg
Price Range: $110 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Ibis River Retreat Hotel Magaliesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing