We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience”

Bill Harrop's Original Balloon Safaris
Book In Advance
More Info
$197.98*
and up
Magaliesburg Balloon Safari from Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bill Harrop's "Original" Balloon Safaris. If you're going to do it, do it in unassailable style. It's sunrise. The silence is only punctuated by the occasional blast of the powerful burners and the faint call of a bird or animal far beneath. The thrill is indescribable. Picture yourselves sipping champagne as you hover gently above the tree tops, or soar high above the mountain peaks. After landing, savour a delectable champagne breakfast at our well established, traditionally exquisite and beautifully appointed Clubhouse Pavilion and Restaurant where you will be filled with the warmest of memories.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This was a valentines day gift by wife which was definitely worth all the money. The organisers and pilots were fantastic. The whole experience from the "checking in"; the flight; the landing drinks and the breakfast were top notch!

The views from up there were beyond beautiful, even got to see Jozi's skyline peek above the cloud in the distance! Definitely recommend this to anyone!

Thank tonyrfsa09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillJohannesburg, Owner at Bill Harrop's Original Balloon Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Tony,
Thank you so much for your kind comments.
It is so gratifying to see that all the hard work behind the scenes comes to such rewarding fruition for both for you, our guests, and our staff.
(Your review will be placed in their emails this morning and get everyone off to a great start)
I hope that we will be able to entertain you, your wife, and maybe some of your friends, again in the future.
Don’t hesitate to call.
Buoyant regards,
Bill Harrop
CEO, Bill Harrop’s “Original” Balloon Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for Bill Harrop's Original Balloon Safaris
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 337 of 376 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

You have not flown unless you gone in a hot air balloon. WOW what an amazing experience. Very early start over the Magaliesberg but worth every minute. Gentle breeze, floating above all the cares in the world, viewing wonderful scenery watching the sunrise and landing to a glass of champagne. You have to put this on your bucket list and you have to make sure you tick it off as well, and I would like to recommend Bill Harrop's to do it.

Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillJohannesburg, Owner at Bill Harrop's Original Balloon Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Kevin,

Thank you for your kind comments.

I am so pleased that you have “ticked it off your bucket list” as the sooner you do great things, the longer you have to remember them. . . . . and perhaps decide to come back for a top-up?

May I compliment you on your super turn of phrase . . . “floating above all the cares in the world”?
In fact, with your permission, I would like to use this in some of our publicity copy?

Meanwhile, keep working on your bucket list and build some great memories.
Maybe we will see you again?

Buoyant regards,
Bill Harrop,
CEO, Bill Harrop’s “Original” Balloon Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We absolutely loved our experience with Bill Harrop’s Balloon! They were some of the friendliest people we met on our trip to South Africa. We booked it for one day, but as that day approached, we were concerned about the weather, and the staff at the office were kind and accommodating about changing it to another day. They arranged a pickup for us at our hotel in Johannesburg at 4am, and we arrived at 5am to the balloon site. We had a cup of tea and some muffins while they set up the balloons, and then we were off! The flight itself was just incredible, overlooking the river valley as the sun rose. It was so peaceful and smooth, and we were in the air about an hour before the morning got breezy and then we set down. Breakfast on the porch was also amazing, a huge variety of food and drinks. The pilots sat down with us too, and we enjoyed chatting with them over breakfast.

Thank megaroniandcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillJohannesburg, Owner at Bill Harrop's Original Balloon Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your impressions of Bill Harrop’s ‘Original” Balloon Safaris with the Trip Advisor community. I shall also share them with our staff later today

Special days for special people deserve the best attention we can give. In fact one of our company sayings is that “we treat people how we would like to be treated, not as we might expect to be treated”, so I am so glad that your expectations were exceeded.

Do look us up next time you are in South Africa.

Buoyant regards,
Bill Harrop,
CEO, Bill Harrop’s “Original” Balloon Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Last year we decided to do something different for our Christmas function and came up with a hot air balloon ride. We closed the office and off we went on our adventure. We stayed over at Amazingwe the night before. What a lovely place. Pity it was only for a night as we could have stayed longer. We arranged to meet at 4.30am the following morning to be at the air strip for 5am. This was no hardship as we were going to have such an experience. We arrived at the airstrip bright and early. Butterflies in the tummy was par for the course as this was something new for the majority of us. The weather was a bit overcast but Manny, our pilot, decided it would be ok. After getting in the basket (which was a sight to behold as we are all shapes, sizes and ages between 30 - 70) our adventure began. I can honestly say I felt like what I imagine an angel would, sailing up and down above the ground. It was so calm and peaceful. People in the surrounding area waved as we passed by. Manny kept us informed of all the sights as we passed them and no question was ignored. He was very knowledgeable about the area in which we were being transported through. Touch down came all too soon even though almost an hour had passed. We were transported back to the clubhouse to enjoy a lovely warm breakfast. We were truly honoured to have experienced such a trip. Thank you to all at Bill Harrop Balloon Safari's who contributed to our experience (including those behind the scenes). One day we will be back with other family members and friends. Definitely recommend this adventure to anyone and everyone.

Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillJohannesburg, Owner at Bill Harrop's Original Balloon Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Lorraine,

Thank you for spending your time to share your views about your experience with Bill Harrop’s “Original” Balloon Safaris.

I shall also pass on your comments to our staff who are always thrilled to receive such accolades.

We are certainly looking forward to entertaining your other family members and friends; and, when you book, don’t forget to ask for your “frequent flyer” discount. It’s just one of the little ways we like to show our appreciation to our returning guests.

Buoyant regards,
Bill Harrop,
CEO, Bill Harrop’s “Original” Balloon Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was one of the coolest things I’ve ever done! The ride was safe and so fun, the location prime, and the service top-notch. The staff was so kind, friendly, knowledgeable, and experienced. Breakfast was also fantastic! I would gladly recommend this company to anyone who wants to go hot air ballooning!

Thank hwbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillJohannesburg, Owner at Bill Harrop's Original Balloon Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you so much for spending the time to share your views about your experience with us.
I shall pass your kind comments on to all our staff as this certainly supports the view that although one’s property can be fantastic, it only works if one employs folk who exude the right attitude to customer service.
We all look forward to entertaining you again when you come back to our beautiful country, and of course your friends who may precede you.

Buoyant regards,
Bill Harrop,
CEO, Bill Harrop’s “Original” Balloon Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bill Harrop's Original Balloon Safaris also viewed

Muldersdrift, Greater Johannesburg
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Bill Harrop's Original Balloon Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing