We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They forgot our booking and payment!”
Review of Whale View Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whale View Manor
Ranked #12 of 32 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We had our honeymoon in South Africa. When we arrived in the evening at the Whale View Manor the house staff did not know we were coming. They stated that the venue was fully booked and we were not known to them despite the guesthouse charged the full (quite high) amount in advance. When we exhibited the voucher, they disapeared with it in the office and made us wait for 25 Minutes on our suitcases not offering us even a seat telling us they had to check it with the manager. Finally they came, no apology whatsoever, and declared that we were able to stay (how kind!). The manager showed up only the mornig we left. The only words we heared of her were "good morning", nothing else. The house and the rooms are nicely decorated and the breakfast was fine. The smell of urine in the toilet was unpleasant. In the two evenings we stayed there we wanted to ask for some information like dining and sight-seeing but we could not find any one in the house to ask. This was by far the worst stay I ever had in South Africa out of much more than one hundred. I certainly would not write this when it was not true. I cant believe all the other reviews are so good, may be the owner changed in the meantime.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andromeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Owner at Whale View Manor, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

We regret that these guests were treated in this manner and thus offer them a free night on their next visit. Our new management is in place and will ensure a better experience next time round. We value the feed and back and strive for service excellence - no excuse!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 164 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2010

Near Simon's town with great view, and excellent breakfast. Very nice and firendly owners. Enjoyed our stay very much. Very close to penguens and you will even have chance to see them on the road. So sorry that we missed the whale season.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elma971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Big house set just back (and up) from the main road, with great views over False Bay from the front bedrooms. Close to Boulders Beach and the Cape Point Nat Park. Strong African theme to the decor in the public rooms and bedrooms, with an amazing collection of masks, etc, in the lounge. Very comfortable bed!

Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, even coming in to make a very early breakfast for us when we were heading off one morning.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomSaintsRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

This was the 2nd stop to our SA vacation after spending 4 nights in Cape Town. We wanted to spend a few days on the Cape Peninsula so we could avoid the buses and tour groups and we were so glad we picked the Whale View Manor!
This is a beautiful, well run guesthouse. It overlooks a small cove perfect for an afternoon swim or just some relaxing time by the ocean. The rooms are all decorated in different themes and ours was very clean and comfortable with a wonderful view of the ocean from the many windows and balcony. The yummy breakfasts are served in a large room that opens out to sea views by the friendly staff of Jimmy, Joe and Jackson.
This place was exactly what we hoped for and more. We were able to go to Boulders Beach to see the penguins ( 5 min away) in the morning and enjoy the time spent there alone. We also toured the Cape of Good Hope before all the tour buses arrived which was great. There are lots of good restaurants nearby as well
I consider the Whale View Manor to be our hidden gem of this trip. Thank you Lauren for running such a great place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2009

I can't say enough about Whale View, its location, its rooms and its staff. We stayed here for two nights after four nights in Cape Town and I only wish we had an extra night or two more. We were greeted by the friendly staff and taken into the beautiful lounge and sitting room area where the details of the decor and the seating and the views make it difficult to decide whether you want to hang out there or up in the equally as wonderful rooms. It feels like your own home. Our room was spotless, the bed was incredibly comfortable and the views are superb, as is falling asleep and waking up to the sound of the ocean.

The service is also wonderful - the staff (Jimmy and Joe and the owner) are always smiling, always friendly. The breakfasts were perfect - fresh juice, fruit and eggs made to order with an espresso machine available all day and an honestly bar .I had mentioned in my booking email that we wanted to rent bikes in Simons Town and when we arrived the bikes were already out for us. I would highly recommend renting bikes and riding into town or in the other direction toward Cape Point. It's gorgeous and WVM is in a perfect location to get up early and get to Cape Point before the crowds (we were the first and only people there for almost 2 hours - amazing). We swam both days off the beach across the street as well as biked, surfed, walked - a perfect trip. We will definitely go back.

If I were going to pick it apart the only thing I would mention is that there are lattices separating the balconies off of each ocean-facing room and it would be nice if there were vines or other shrubbery there for a little more privacy.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msnkigali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

this guest house has an incredible view of False Bay. the breakfast is huge. the rooms were very comfortable. my only caution is that you need a car to get there from town since it's south of Simon's Town (a 30 min walk at a fast pace).

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harbrsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

The location, the majestic house and the genuine warmth of our hosts greeting was just the start of our 16 night superb stay at Whale View Manor. This guesthouse is stylishly furnished without any pretentiousness and is exceptionally comfortable throughout. The lounge, dinning areas and so forth downstairs are open and bright and the bedrooms are delightful and of a good size. Our room and in particular our bed was very cosy so couple this atmosphere with the level of serenity afforded to us by either hearing the waves, or better still watching the sea a stones throw away from the balcony to give a real sense of the magical stay we experienced.
Not just the ambience of the house itself made our wedding anniversary stay so special but the superb staff, delicious food and the relaxed atmosphere just completed this taste of paradise. Lauren, Joe, Jimmy, Jackson and Stanley are 5 of the most professional and gorgeous people you could ever wish to meet and their attention to detail was superb, a smile never left any of their faces and nothing was too much trouble. We were treated like royalty and certainly left a few pounds heavier!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Millytain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simon's Town
1.7 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
4.8 mi away
Calders Hotel & Conference Centre
1.8 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 32 in Simon's Town
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#3 of 32 in Simon's Town
370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watercolours House
Watercolours House
#5 of 32 in Simon's Town
120 reviews
3.5 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#4 of 32 in Simon's Town
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale View Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale View Manor

Address: 402 Main Road | Murdoch Valley, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range: $135 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whale View Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whale View Manor… distinctive and sumptuous…. a jewel of a guest house located in historic Simon’s Town and close to Boulders Beach that is world famous for the African Penguins. Whale View Manor is situated directly opposite a picturesque and secluded beach. The uninterrupted, breath-taking views, at the southern-most tip of Africa enhance the unique experience of this accommodation. This gem also has a backdrop of majestic mountain vistas. As you step into the eclectic reception area, you are treated to an extravaganza of the senses. Extraordinary artifacts and collectibles greet and welcome you. Susan Smyth, the owner, travels extensively and her keen eye selects remarkable objet d'art that she lovingly brings home to Whale View Manor. Visual delights are further accentuated by subtle fragrances wafting through the reception, by bougainvillea petals floating inside from the charming courtyard and by the gleaming smiles of the dedicated staff. Exemplary service defines Whale View Manor. The team will go to any lengths to create a memorable, magical experience for their valued guests – from set ting up a breakfast table on the beach to arranging a tantalizing high-tea in the garden. Flexibility and creativity allow for the team to cater to your dreams. Accommodation:Six of the rooms have spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, while four have beautiful garden and mountain views. All the rooms have newly appointed en suite bathrooms and satellite television. Breakfast & Dining: Breakfast is served in the restaurant overlooking the ocean. Scrumptious freshly prepared meals are served with the aroma of freshly ground coffee filling the air. Our restaurant is open for lunch and dinner - booking essential. The meals are quite delectable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Whale View Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whale View Manor Simons Town
Whale View Manor Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing