We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”
Review of Whale View Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whale View Manor
Ranked #12 of 32 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My hubby and I spent the night at Whale View Manor, and it did us so much good! Very quiet and peaceful, without beautiful views surrounding us. I loved their library. Started reading a book and purchased it when I left the B&B!The breakfast was fabulous and the staff were great!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmenSue_Lopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 164 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I spent a night at Whaleview Manor and absolutely loved the tranquil setting. We went for spa treatment and were treated like royalty. The facilities are great, and the breakfast was amazing. I would highly recommend this guesthouse to anybody who is looking for a clean and well priced night away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I travel the world over! I am privileged to meet in and stay at some of the best hotels in the world because my job requires me to do so - I invite clients and potential clients to meet with me at my hotel... I was a little nervous arranging a meeting at a boutique hotel, but Whale View Manor exceeded my expectations... not only is the location and view phenomenal, the personal service, the divine food, the peace and quiet, the spa and the beautifully appointed rooms made my time there unforgettable. I cannot wait to go back - this time to stay and on vacation! Thank you to all at Whale View - Tina Thomson

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Manager at Whale View Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

We so greatly appreciate you taking the time to post your review, and delighted that you enjoyed you time with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon, and perhaps spend more time relaxing instead of working.
best wishes from Sunny Simonstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Location (The view, The cove), architecture, decor - It is all just sooo pretty!

Management, staff, service - They are all sooo helpful enthusiastic!

Cuisine - Seriously scrumptious.

Overall - Exceptional!

Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Manager at Whale View Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, which is greatly appreciated.
It was our pleasure having you stay with us, and we do look forward to welcoming you back same time next year.
With our thanks and best wishes from all at Whale View Manor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Besides requiring the skills of a contortionist to use the shower and the basin, I think that Whale View Manor has all the ingredients of a superb beach guest house. The location is perfect and the room comfort levels are really good. The only thing that I have noticed is missing is a flannel and tissues in the bathroom.
I would like to think that I would come back here but I know that I won't. They charge for wifi. If a guest house does that, they are missing an essential understanding of hospitality. It's a big fail from me.
This is no reflection on the staff on duty who, so far, have proved to be attentive and pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank takemywordCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Manager at Whale View Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We strive to make every stay at Whale View Manor, a memorable one, and always appreciate feedback. We do charge a small fee for internet access, this is because bandwidth in our area is considerably slower than elsewhere and thus we buy greater bandwidth at high cost to ensure that our guests do not become frustrated while working.
I do trust we will welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Thank you dear Dominique, and all at beautiful Whale View Manor, for taking SUCH good care of my In Laws on their visit. My Mother in Law says it's the best birthday she has ever had! Thank you for making it so so special. We look forward to seeing you soon again. Warmest regards, Shan & Marius Olivier

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Manager at Whale View Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It was our pleasure to spoil them, and they were an absolute delight. We look forward to seeing you all soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I were long overdue a night away from the kids after a long hard year and a half of family trauma. A friend recommended Whale View manor to us and being in Noordhoek ourselves Simons Town is only a short 20 min drive away. You may think you need to go further to feel like you're getting away from it, but after our experience we know it's not the case.

The location in Simon's Town is perfect to get the feel of being on holiday without a long trek. We ate out at a restaurant on the harbour, strolled around the charming shops and then pampered ourselves to a couples facial in the spa at the Whale View manor. My husband has never had a facial before and I wasn't sure of his reaction. After an hour of chilled music and gentle treatment we both looked and felt about 10 years younger. We couldn't have asked for more.

I must say that the night away felt more like a long weekend and we will definitely go back when we need to recharge our batteries again. The service was excellent, discreet and warm. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and ample. And the views of the sea gave a holiday feel to the whole visit.

Thank you!

Room Tip: Room with a view of the sea! North facing. Even though there is a road outside the hotel we did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Manager at Whale View Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Your review is most appreciated. Thank you ladies for your continued support, and look forward to welcoming you all back again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simon's Town
1.7 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
4.8 mi away
Calders Hotel & Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
Watercolours House
Watercolours House
#5 of 32 in Simon's Town
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 32 in Simon's Town
284 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#3 of 32 in Simon's Town
370 reviews
3.5 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#4 of 32 in Simon's Town
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale View Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale View Manor

Address: 402 Main Road | Murdoch Valley, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range: $138 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whale View Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whale View Manor… distinctive and sumptuous…. a jewel of a guest house located in historic Simon’s Town and close to Boulders Beach that is world famous for the African Penguins. Whale View Manor is situated directly opposite a picturesque and secluded beach. The uninterrupted, breath-taking views, at the southern-most tip of Africa enhance the unique experience of this accommodation. This gem also has a backdrop of majestic mountain vistas. As you step into the eclectic reception area, you are treated to an extravaganza of the senses. Extraordinary artifacts and collectibles greet and welcome you. Susan Smyth, the owner, travels extensively and her keen eye selects remarkable objet d'art that she lovingly brings home to Whale View Manor. Visual delights are further accentuated by subtle fragrances wafting through the reception, by bougainvillea petals floating inside from the charming courtyard and by the gleaming smiles of the dedicated staff. Exemplary service defines Whale View Manor. The team will go to any lengths to create a memorable, magical experience for their valued guests – from set ting up a breakfast table on the beach to arranging a tantalizing high-tea in the garden. Flexibility and creativity allow for the team to cater to your dreams. Accommodation:Six of the rooms have spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, while four have beautiful garden and mountain views. All the rooms have newly appointed en suite bathrooms and satellite television. Breakfast & Dining: Breakfast is served in the restaurant overlooking the ocean. Scrumptious freshly prepared meals are served with the aroma of freshly ground coffee filling the air. Our restaurant is open for lunch and dinner - booking essential. The meals are quite delectable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Whale View Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whale View Manor Simons Town
Whale View Manor Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing