We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penguins everywhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boulders Beach Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Simon's Town
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Penguins everywhere!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

You have to check under your car for penguins! Great location on a gorgeous beach, good breakfast, very nice and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redlefgnid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    76
    39
    27
    14
See reviews for
50
99
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This was a refreshing break from the usual. The lodge is located close to the ocean and the penguins literaly roam around your feet if you get close enough. There are no fences or entry fees or any of this commerial suction to view what nature has to offer. The lodge lends itself to a bohemian atmosphere. I found it rather refreshing to have no aircon buzzing in the room. I applaud them for there drive to be green.

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee-Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Booked to stay 3 nights at boulders beach lodge and wanted to use it as a place to stay while daying day trips into capetown. However, after 1 night in the place, we decided we are unable to stay there for another night

Lodge facilities general: It is located at a place where you have direct access to the penguins. And lots of it! Penguins are all over the hotel and you can even touch them (although not recommended). Food wise, lodge serves decently good food. Limited facilities in the lodge, only one dining room and thats all. WIFI is available at the reception, room wifi is limited due to the distance from the reception

Room Facility: Due to the penguins, the place smells quite badly. Furnitures are pretty worn out in the room, no heater or air condition. Cupboards are without door. A very damp feeling in the air. Toilets need upgrading. No TV in the room. Limited power plugs available.

For the hefty price we paid, it is not worth the money at all. We moved out after 1 night to a service apartment nearer to capetown which is new, modern and much cheaper. Staff are not extremely helpful

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CepheusC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Simon's Town hotels

Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night, the place has a location really close to the penguins but that is where the positive ends.
We were told we had been upgraded to a better room - the room stank of damp and the bath flooded the room every time we used it, right to the door. When I told reception there was no apology, she just said that they always have problems with this and then shouted the help over my head. Do not waste your money staying here, bad staff, awful rooms and far from town. The restaurant closed at 8 and the breakfast charges extra for tea/coffee etc
Don't bother

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lambonana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purley, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We arrived at around 11.30am straight from the airport to a warm welcome at Reception. Our room was ready (Courtyard 11) and we even had a penguin and her two new born chicks nesting right outside our room in our own secluded courtyard. This is a lovely place to stay for a night or two - of course perfect for viewing the penguins and 20 minutes away from Cape Point. The room was good enough with a comfortable bed - tea and coffee facilities with the most delicious homemade shortbread biscuits. The food for dinner and breakfast was wonderful. Very friendly staff and a lovely atmosphere.

Room Tip: Courtyard 11 has a double and single bed - great for parents and single child. Also seemed to be th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppyloyloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights as we travelled around the coast. Welcome and staff were friendly. Bedroom clean and comfortable but we felt the room facilities needed updating - particularly the bathroom which could do with a complete refurbishment. There was also no air con/fan or room safe or fridge. Breakfast was delicious - we shared the eggs benedict and fruit/yoghurt/muesli combo; and the dinner we had there was good with large portions. Good position to see the penguins on the rocks and in the car park; even just outside the room. But be warned - they can start calling to each other (v loudly) at 0530!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 134Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed for a total of 4 nights during 2 stays on a birding tour. Great location both because of the penguins but also the boardwalk along the ocean and the views. The staff is excellent in the hotel and the restaurant. The food was as good as we expected if a little on the expensive side. The kingclip was outstanding.
Our rooms left a lot to be desired. The doors and windows were drafty and rattled. The rooms are very basic and small. The bathroom was out of the 50's. The shower leaked and sprayed water into the room. Had to fix the flusher on the toilet. I expected a lot more for the price. The hotel needs to spend some money on renovations.
The packed breakfasts we had for three days left an awful lot to be desired. Salami and cheese sandwich for breakfast and a can of soda pop?
We would stay there again if it was cheaper or they upgrade the rooms.

Room Tip: Look at the room before you accept one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7continentsTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simon's Town
0.6 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
156 reviews
19.7 mi away
Mojo Hotel
Mojo Hotel
#114 of 203 in Cape Town
236 reviews
1.2 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#1 of 1 in Strand
81 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 29 in Simon's Town
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence William French Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulders Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Beach Lodge

Property: Boulders Beach Lodge
Address: 4 Boulders Place Boulders Beach Simons Town 7975, Simon's Town, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boulders Beach Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Boulders Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulders Beach Hotel Simon`s Town
Boulders Beach Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing