We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopover to Visit the Naval Museum”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Simon's Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lord Nelson Inn
Ranked #15 of 29 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Forest Row, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stopover to Visit the Naval Museum”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

A nice pleasant stay with friendly staff. Very close to the Naval Museum which was very handy as time was short the next day. The Hotel was close to the restuarant in the town whichwas handy as we were tired having only just arrived that morning from the UK. Pamela & Ralph.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muizenberg, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We are regulars here and what a nice place.Everyone is so friendly and accommodating.The ginger cat adds to the relaxed atmosphere..he is always up for a cuddle.Best sunday lunch and nice shooter specials for R5!

Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Simon's Town RSA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Hotel/pub with ordinary standard. Located adjacent to main road. Close to restaurants at shore. Approximately 20 km to Calk Bay with nice restaurant Harbour Hose. 40 km to Cape Good Hope. Hopefully the owners will change the dirty carpet in the room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2012

the hotel was a ghostly experince we heard a women screaming and getting dragged in the bar area there was no one on duty we were the only people in the hotel that night. We were so scared because this continued for a while we sat on the staircase listening to this tipe of timeloop reapiting itself over and over again we sat there til sunrise to scared to move... We left the following day but wish to return one day to investigate, ive been intrested ever since that time

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iman-13, Manager at The Lord Nelson Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Like most historical buildings in the area, for those that have ears to hear, there is sometimes things that go "bump" in the night. The Lord Nelson Inn has had its fair share of nightly visitations from the other side and decided to call in the "ghost busters".
The hotel has now been quiet and tranquil for many months, but if a adrenalin kick is needed the most haunted building in the area is apparently the museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
1.9 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 29 in Simon's Town
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Residence William French Guest House
0.7 mi away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#3 of 29 in Simon's Town
325 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Cheriton Guest House B&B
#2 of 29 in Simon's Town
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Nelson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Inn

Property: The Lord Nelson Inn
Address: 58 St Georges Street, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lord Nelson Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the home of the Lord Nelson Inn in Simonstown.You are cordially invited to take a step back into time and stay in the beautiful seaside village of Simonstown, south of Cape Town, South Africa. We have cozy accommodation suited for all kinds of travellers, with one objective - to make you comfortable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lord Nelson Inn Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing